We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 11 nights - very cheap package deal to stay with included buffet breakfast daily. As it was our honeymoon we were upgraded when we arrived to a Maenum suite which was luxury! separate lounge, bathroom, big bedroom, hallway, balcony with outdoor furniture etc....two tvs with dvd players - nice decor :) We were brought fresh fruit platters everyday too.
Beautiful grounds with tropical gardens, two good sized pools (fresh water), nice restaurants and very friendly staff. The beach infront of the resort is not the best (not like Chaweng), but if you turn left and walk for about 10 mins the sand and water gets a bit nicer.
The resort also provides a free shuttle to and from Chaweng and Fishermans village (and I think a couple of other places that I cant remember)....awesome!!
The main downfall is that there isnt much in way of shops and entertainment near the resort - although there is a good little dairy/shop across the road from the resort that we visited every day for cold drinks, but this wasnt too much of a big deal because of the free resort shuttle :)
Would definately return again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AskMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    211
    45
    23
    11
See reviews for
171
323
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Maybe we(family with 2 Kids 11/14) had the worst 2 room that I ever seen, or we keep hitting on the wrong Rating in TripAdvispor, but what we had there have nothing to do with the good rating (or a hotel).
We arrived and after check in, they walked us to the room or Bungalow. As we came nearer and nearer from the beach I thought “great, right at the front” then we arrived to a big green net protecting a building site of the hotel, on the beach front…and our room/Bungalow with see view  was 1 Meter behind this net …so net view..very nice especially that they didn’t think it would be appropriate to inform us before (ok, it seem that the wall just went down and they had to redo it).
The Room: it was a, at most, 1-2 Star room. Very old furniture which looked like it staid under water for a while and fall apart, Rusty bed lamps, we couldn’t see (the net  ) through the window because they was disgusting. The bathroom had paint on the floor that peeled of the wall (but still laid on the floor), door dirty, shower dirty, and shower holder…it was so dirty that you couldn’t see the chrome anymore.
The beach: What Beach?? 1 Meter wide?? So no beach but a wall (or a green net again). Umbrellas which are destroyed.
After that we decided to book somewhere else (we booked for 10 days).
OK, the diner at the restaurant was ok but that’s it.
We had a horrible night on very bad beds and pillows.
The breakfast: Broken equipments every ware, we couldn’t open 1 of the warm holder because it was to rusty and dirty, by some of the Glass vitrine where they kept the pancakes warm, the Glass was broken all over.
They emptied the plates with all the rests in a bin just in the eating area...thanks for the flies
I mean WTF!!! a 4 stars, with such good ratings!!? As I said, we don’t understand what happened there. Are these ratings for real?? I use to laugh about the bad rating when more than 80% of the people were happy and thought that some people are not to be pleased but this time I wished I had took them seriously and look the Photos before.
To be fair, I must say that we could change hotel and the paradise made us only pay the one night we staid (thanks to Ramon from Tourasia)
But as we tried to explain to the owner, we had a lot of excuses like “the beach got washed out last year (what about new Photos?), we couldn’t make renovation because we was booked (what about not book so much to make renovation?) “and we know the eating area needs renovation” (what about the critics which had nothing to do with renovation but common respect for the guests?)
I go in a lot of hotels (for business as well) and can’t always choose good hotels, but that, I never seen. A hotel with swiss management, I felt ashamed to be swiss!!
Out of this night, thank you Thailand, wonderful holidays 

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kiedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Arrived after a long but excellent flights with Thai Airways no issues with luggage and the airport in Koh Samui is just so pretty. Hotel was clean and the pools were lovely if you like a quiet pool sit at the one near reception. Food was always excellent and the evening entertainment was nice. The hotel evening buffet was expensive take a few steps down the beach to the right and try Jins Restaurant fab price and fresh tasty food cooked by her in the kitchen where you can watch her cook. Alternatively book the shuttle bus and go to Chaweng loads of cheap meals a must is the Ark Bar on the beach excellent food and the experience is great my kids loved it.
If you have a room near the reception poor you as we had to move rooms due to the noise from the frogs and insects! When I asked reception to move us they refused saying the hotel was full so having not slept for four nights we decided enough was enough and asked our rep to move us in to another hotel. Our rep went straight to the management and we were moved that morning to a bungalow right next to the beach only one of two with a sea view. It pays to complain if you are not happy.
All the waiters were lovely and they were great with the kids special mention to Tik who always served us with a smile.
Activities - there is not much to do on the island once you have done the day trip that's it speed boat trip to the national park was awesome a must do. Market in Boput on a Friday night is great as they close the roads so very safe for the kids again a must do.
All in all a great holiday - hotel was more like a two star - no need to take clothes to dress for dinner as nobody does!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank welshtiger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dübendorf, Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

It is a very well organised hotel with friendly personals, looking for the satisfaction of the quests. The hotel is quiet, and of qood quality. We can recommend this hotel for everybody, who do not want to stay in the busy region of Samui.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

A quite nice little hotel in mid range, with good facilities, staff, excellent gardens etc. Has been maintained and updated in places ( ie new bathrooms), good pools. The 'beach' however was non existent (November) its just a sea wall facing often dirty water.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Dropped in here too and found a lush Thai paradise with plenty of palm trees and grass but like W Resort nearby, away from everything else.
Beach here is OK but pool very nice and seems to be a family resort.
Good value for meny and a good get away from it all holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortisei, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I really LOVED this resort. Its a charming place where the rooms/bungalows are evenly spread among tropical flora and small paths lead through jungle-like spots. The two pools are surrounded by tropical plants and their temperature is always comfortable (nearly bathtub-like), just like the ocean. The building is really nice and the rooms are lovely and spacious. The only shortcoming is a rather big area in the ocean (direclty in front of the resort's beach) where algae grow so you cannot swim there.
I recommend this resort to anyone who's looking for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. However it is not really suitable for people who want to party a lot or expect loads of action, because the nearest "party beach" (Chaweng Beach) is 10-20 min drive away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmoroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
10.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
4.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
3.1 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
4.9 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Beach Resort
Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing