We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Serviceable and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

When we arrived at Paradise Beach Resort, we were a little taken back by how dated it was. The rooms were quite old, the bathroom was small and the furniture definitely old, the safe had a key which is inconvenient (we had to hide it in the room for fear of losing it if we took it with us) and the bed was super hard (which we also found out was common amongst the rest of the resorts in the area from friends that were travelling too). We had a garden room on the lower level.
The beach is hardly there, especially during high tide but we heard the area has been having uncharacteristically high tides lately (our friends were getting married on the beach a few resorts up so we had to keep an eye on it)! We found photos from a while back and there certainly should be one during low tide. My partner swam but I didn't, it was clean though and did look inviting.
A special mention to the breakfast staff - they were always willing to help us and were really quite kind. My partner had a masage at the spa and I had a mani & pedi - again, staff were lovely there too. There is a courtesy bus that takes you directly to Chaweng (check with staff for times), we found this service prompt and very useful - getting taxis in the area proved to be difficult as they often ripped you off (no meter - had to negotiate fare and then the driver changed the fare when you arrive at your destination) so yes, I recommend the bus. Even the resort staff tell you to be wary of the taxis.
The resort is a fair way off the main street, perhaps a 10 minute walk and there isn't much in the way of shopping. If you want shopping, you may need to head to the Fishermans Village markets.
The fitness area is just that, an area with a rusted bike, treadmill and a bench from memory. As per Thai custom, you are required to take off your shoes in there which I thought would be quite hard when exercising. A swim would probably be the best form of exercise here or walk everywhere like we did.
We didn't use the pools either (we went to our friends villa most of the time) but they looked rather clean. Plenty of sunbeds (also quite old) and room to move.
There is also a pond near the tailor, and in the pond is a gorgeous pet turtle. As soon as you walk over, he/she spots you and swims over straight away! Possibly a highlight of our stay here and we always went out of the resort that way to say hi!
If you are looking for a clean, safe place to stay, this is it. It's not fancy but it's nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Kat H

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you mention the good as well as the things you did not like in a very fair way. Greatly apprichiated!

Management is aware about these points you mention and we are going to make some changes soon.

The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    211
    45
    23
    11
See reviews for
171
323
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 8 nights over the Christmas period. We were greeted very warmly and were given an overview of the hotel before being shown to our room. First impressions of the hotel did not meet what I had expected and wasn't bowled over by the room. As said previously, the furniture is dated and the bathroom (no bath - just a shower) could have done with some renovation (the tiles had been painted over which was peeling in places) but it had been presented with some care and attention with pretty orchids placed around. I especially liked the complimentary in-room safe as it needed both a key as well as your code and it felt very secure. The buildings are only on 2 levels and our room was on the upper level so we had a nice balcony and outlook over the beautiful tropical gardens. The rooms on the ground floor looked as though they could be very dark due to the bushes and trees so I would recommend you ask for one on the upper level if you can manage the steps. The room we had was a good size and had a double and a queen size bed but did not feel cramped. I would have liked to have had more storage space for clothes as I always seem to take so much on holiday. The hotel provided 2 complimentary bottles of water each day in your room but there was more in the mini bar should you wish to pay for it.
The hotel grounds are very much like a tropical forest with lots of insects and wildlife. All through the grounds we saw lots of birds, butterflies, frogs, giant centipedes etc. In fact you had to be careful where you stepped on the paths at night due to the giant centipedes.
As said in previous reviews, the beach was a disappointment but wasn't sure if this was because there always seemed to be a high tide. We didn't actually venture into the sea which is unusual for us - it did look clean though. There are a few sunbeds that overlook the beach/sea and are nicely placed to also take advantage of the pool/beach bar and restaurant.
We had paid for all inclusive and I think that it was probably a good move as a few people we spoke to said it was quite expensive. The all inclusive did have a good choice of drinks and cocktails at the bar and were always served very quickly. Lunch was the best meal as you were allowed to order from an extensive menu and it was cooked fresh to order. The evening meal on all inclusive only allowed us to eat from the buffet which was varied each evening and some meals were better than others. I would have liked to have been able to order from the menu at the evening meal rather than at lunch. I must comment that the chef and kitchen staff did a brilliant job and we had some very tasty and enjoyable meals.
Now onto the staff - the hotel have the best staff I have encountered. They made you feel so welcome and could not do enough for you. This includes the staff throughout the hotel and especially the restaurant staff. Some of the staff spoke better English than others but we were always able to make ourselves understoood. We were even approached by the restaurant manager who asked us for feedback and whether they could make any improvements. They are so eager to please and it made for a great holiday experience. We were also approached many times by the management who asked if everything was okay as well as stopping just to chat. Full marks!
I also needed to attend the local hospital due to an infected mosquito bite. I had to attend the hospital on a total of 4 mornings and the hotel provided the transport free of charge on each occasion (where else would you find this type of service?).
We did have some problems with no hot water in our room and at first thought that it was a case that it had run out. Maintenance was sent to sort it out when we reported it and ended up with no water at all!!! This was quickly sorted out once we made the receptionist aware.
We used the hotel tour desk who arranged for a private car and driver for 4 1/2 hours to show us around the island. It cost around the equivalent of £40.00 which was excellent value and we had a really good time. The driver spoke excellent English and took us to all the usual places of interest.
One must do whilst there is to visit Fisherman's Village on their market night (I think this was Fridays). The hotel provide free transport which is bookable in advance.
This hotel was not what we are normally used to (we normally go to larger hotels with choices of restaurants, bars etc) but it really was a lovely hotel that was made even better by all the friendly staff. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamNHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HENRYWIDLER, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear JamNHoney

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays at Paradise Beach Resort in Koh Samui. Thank you very much for you comment regarding our staff. We will pass this on...

Unfortunately, the beach is a little smaller at this time of year, due to the monsoon season (October –December).
We are aware of the problem regading the bathrooms in our upper floor rooms and consider a renovation of all rooms in our main buildings at this time.

Thank you for choosing the Paradise Beach Resort for your holidays and welcome you any time again on our Resort.


The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We returned to Paradise Beach Resort for the umpteenth time this Christmas and find it as welcoming as ever. The staff are ever-attentive, the rooms are clean, the food is great, the pools are womderful, the beach is, literally, yards away from the property . . . I can't recommend it enough, for family, or, like us, groups of friends. It's quietly located on the beach away from the Chaweng busy-ness but a free shuttle bus gets you to the noise within 15 minutes if you so desire.
The staff and management are always ready to go the extra mile to make sure you get where you need to go, ever-ready to help with phone calls, reservations, or even lay on a car for you. I had to go to a hospital at one point and a personal driver was assigned to ge me there and back.I heard also, that other guests had a serious accident on a boat trip and there were daily trips to the hospital throughout their stay - all courtesy of the hotel.... again, I can't emphasise how good the service is!
Do not hesitate to choose Paradise Beach Resort as your destination!

Room Tip: We always go for a room near the pool but there are plenty of different choices and prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kobesamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HENRYWIDLER, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Kobesamurai

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and we are happy, to have the pleasure to welcome you regularly at Paradise Beach Resort.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again


The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed for 9 nights (2 adults/2 children) in December and loved it.
Staff : absoloutley brilliant. The Thai staff didn't speak english very well, but we got by and they were most helpful and friendly.
Beach: not much of a beach, when the tide was in you access the sea by steps. But the water was shallow enough to walk in. When the tide went out, it was a narrow stretch of sand 1-2 meters wide perhaps but it was lovely to walk along. There is also a coral reef not far off but it's marked by bouys so you can avoid it. The sea was like bath water!! Lovely and warm
Room: Very dated bathrooms and could do with a refurb, and the shower had low water pressure which was a shame and wouldn't stay hooked up so you had to hold the shower head. We're pretty laid back so didn't bother us.But the rooms over all are lovely and the beds very comfortable. Had a tv but hardly needed it as we were outside all day.
Bar: situated at the beach and one of the pools. Excellent 'light' menu for lunch and prompt service. Prices are reasonable. A 'mini pizza' which isn't that 'mini' really cost about 80BHT - about $2.85 at today's rate. Small (but adequate) bowl of chips about the same.
Pools: 2 pools and very clean and nice. The one by reception was warmer. The other is refreshing which was great.
Location: beach front. Free shuttles take you in to and back from Chaweng. Took about 20 minutes by bus. Prompt service. Being low season we didn't have any problems with booking seats but in busier times, book it early.
Recommendations - pop into Chaweng about 4pm, walk along the beach, have dinner, shop a little then head back.
Over all : Lovely property, very well kept, clean and beautiful. Staff - both the Thais and Europeans - are soooo lovely. Very popular with Germans, Swiss and other Europeans. Lovely people, so friendly.
Will definatley go back. We can't wait!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRParadise, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear Claire P

Thank you very much for your personal positive comment about your experiance with us on TripAdvisort.

We are glad to see, that you had lovely holidays and thanks as well for the positive comments regarding our staff and priecing of dishes at our restaurant. Quite often we get the comment that we are rather expenisve as 10% Service and 7% Tax are included in allour prices on the menus.
Leaving the resorts and having dinner along the street or other restaurants guests are not charged this extra what gives the feeling that hotels in general are overpriceing their dishes. The extras are for our staff and part of the law of Thailand. We prefere to show the exact amount our guests will have to pay and not let anyone having a bad experiance when being presented the final bill much higher as previously calculated. We belife that this would cause more confusion and disapointment and therefore take the risk to follow the official rules by Thai-Law

Unfortunately, during this season we have a rather reduced beach due to Monsoon season. Futhermore stong winds have been pushign more sea water into the golf of Thailand and high tide has been at its maximum during day time. As you comment sometimes it is possible to walk along the beach...even during Monsoon
We are aware about the points you mention regarding the room...

Thank you for choosing the Paradise Beach Resort as your Holiday destination and we are looking forward to welcome you again!


The Paradise Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We took 2 suits and paid about 500 USD per room per night. We were with friends, 2 families and just came from Cambodia where we spent some time travelling. I booked this hotel in order to have some quality time and enjoy holidays on the beach. But...
1) rooms are clean but old, furniture looks well used, you have moskitoes and lizzards sharing room with you;
2) there is no beach to talk about. None. Where from they took the name for this hotel it is a mystery...
3) environment is not well looked after, lots of dry leaves, plants need trimming,
4) reception upon arrival... ok we had some wai and lemonade, and soon after we were presented by set of rules, what to do and what not...
5) location... it is far from any place in order to go to dine or buy fruits.
6) food is average, 24/7 hours food market at Sukhumvit, Bangkok is much better not mentioning the prices (you also donate 20 baht from any dish you order from menu to some local school..or something like that)
7) photos placed on internet about this hotel are misleading, do not trust it.
They say owner is from Switzerland but if it is so, I must say, that he doesn't really care about this hotel. It is just a cash cow and no investment is done in order to improve anything.
I would suggest to avoid this hotel at any cost if you are looking for good, interesting, relaxing quality vacation. Also, I would suggest to study well the map and other reviews before booking if you do not trust this my review. 3 star hotel in Siem Reap in Cambodia was a paradise if to compare with this "paradise"... and for the fraction of price as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRParadise, General Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear Darius L

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

The room you booked for 10 days over Christmas and New Year (Peak Season) and occupied just during the first afternoon after you have arrived at Paradise is in good condition. I have checked it myself again and it is the same as pictured on our website. Sorry to see that we did not meet you ecpectations.
Personal comment: If you are looking for a room, which is absolutly free of mosquitos and geckos (you call them lizards), a Thai Beach Resort will always be the wrong holiday destination...

Unfortunately, you have visited us during monsoon season when we are facing the highest sea level of the year , in addition to high tide and aproching full moon.
During this season, all beaches around Samui can be very narrow . Travel agents and guide books do inform about the monsoon season in this part of Thailand.

We regret that you did not like our tropical garden, which is liked by all our guests and is very often positively commented.
We also regret that you did not mention the cold towel, the mosquito spray and the introduction about the hotels facilities, Maenam and Samui which you got upon arrival from our lovely front office staff. We do not believe that you were briefed regarding behaviour rules upon arrival , but we do inform our guests (on the back of our welcome-letters ) about the most common cultural shocks they may face during their holidays in Thailand.
Guess you have missed the information about our free shuttle to Fisherman’s Village and Chaweng 10 times a day, where fruits can be purchased...There is as well a small fruit shop 450 meters away from the hotel and several restaurants within walking distance. Staying with us for a couple of days would have given you the opportunity to discover the surroundings.
The commented school fee of 20 Baht for some dishes on the menu is part of a local project to support the community in tourist destinations. This is becoming quite popular in hotels all over the world (some hotels are hiding this extra charge by not informing the customers) . Guests who do not wish to contribute this 20 Baht are of course decline to pay.

In general I am surprised about most of your comments on TripAdvisor especially since none of the mentioned points have been adressed to my Assistant Manager whom you have met several times during your short visit to Paradise Beach Resort.

It just seems to me, that you have selected the wrong hotel / location for your
Samui visit. You will have to admit that we were helpful and understanding regarding
your situation.


We hope you did enjoy your holidays elsewhere in beautiful Thailand and wish you a Happy New Year
We are trying our best to keep our place peaceful and relaxing.

Kind regards,

Daniel Ruprecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

I just returned from 7 days at this resort. I had a very relaxing time there. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I went for massages almost everyday and the staff in the spa center were so nice and friendly. The hot stone massage is a "must try". All in all I was made to feel completely welcome.
There was a in house tour booking center and the staff there were very knowledgeable and helpful.
The hotel shuttle to and from Chaweng and other areas was a handy service.
I would stay at this resort again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spagyhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Absolutely disgraceful place and I genuinely could not wait to leave. While on the shuttle bus this evening the driver started to speed then seconds later there was the most horrible sound I have ever heard and one I'm sure will never leave me, he had hit a dog. Shortly after, when we arrived back at the hotel and was confronted about the incident he smiled, a sickening smile that sent a shiver down my spine. This isn't the only incident of animal cruelty witnessed with staff and animals around the complex. I one word disgraceful.

The rooms were very average and nothing to write home about. The air con doesn't go below 23degrees so the nights were unbearable, when asked we were simply told that this was how it worked.

The service borders on pestering, breakfast I had at least 2-3 waitresses offer to carry my toast the 10foot between the toaster and the table everyday even though I politely declined every morning.

This hotel is probably fine if your all inclusive but if not the location is terrible. It's located down a long dark road and even when you reach the main road there is a grand total of one restaurant which serves nice enough food but not to eat every night and cabs are not wonderfully cheap like in Bangkok.

Overall I would definitely avoid this hotel for many reasons

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mini-MissTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
10.2 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
4.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
3.1 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
4.9 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Beach Resort
Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing