We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but not all good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

we stayed at the Paradise Beach for 5 nights, the staff were all lovely no complaints there,
breakfast was good,
great looking across the sea having breakfast, the rooms were OK
The bed hard as a ironing board even with the extra mattress, to soften things,
the safe was older style with a key, to lock, what does one do with the key while sleeping?
Nice and peaceful though great food nearby.

Not sure if I would return

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dramas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Before choosing this hotel we, as always, looked at the other reviews and therefore were led to believe that this was an awesome hotel.
The initial reception was very nice with friendly staff and a welcome cocktail for all of us. After that we went to the rooms (two deluxe rooms) to find them in average conditions. Average in the sense that they felt very old and hadn't been renewed in a long time. The shower for instance had very little water coming out and the temperature was very difficult to adjust. The hose broke on the second day and the A/C was working on one day and not on the next. The service staff was very friendly and would repair it right away but than it would break again the next day.
The furniture were very old and the pillows way too hard. The cleaning staff would change the big beach towels every day but not the small towels.
There are two swimming pools and one (near the reception) is newer than the other one (near the beach). The beach is small and the water is never clear and the bottom is muddy. This, of course, is not the hotel's fault but its just a clinical description of the overall environment.
The breakfast buffet is varied but you can tell that the equipment they use has seen better days. During the 6 nights that we stayed the breakfast buffet was always the same.
The a-la-carte menu was quite pricey and the portions were a bit small. Being in Thailand you expect the local food to have a nice taste but I have to say that we have better thai food in Hong Kong (were we live).
The wi-fi is free but only for one phone/tablet/pc per room so if you are a couple and each has its own tablet you have to purchase an additional unlimited account from the front desk.

Overall I am sorry to say that the price does not match the value of the place. It could be a real paradise if it was better kept and if they were not trying so hard to make a profit out of everything.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room and it was average. The bungalows near the beach looked in better conditions.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidowb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd time in Samui. First time we stayed at The Renaissance at Lamai which is a 5 star experience. That was perfect.
This time .. Since we were taking our kids with us.. (Ages 6 & 9) we didn't want to break the budget... So we chose a 4 star place & chose Paradise at Maenam. I had mixed emotions first .. Having read mixed reviews about this place.. But came here with an open mind :)
With 8 nights here (this being our 7th day) .. This is our experience that I'd share with you ..
Hotel staff are very hospitable , lovely & helpful. Rooms are adequate but don't spend much time there as there are so many things to do.. Like swim in the 2 beautiful pools, or at the quiet & peaceful beach or catch the hotel shuttle bus to nearby Bophut or chewang ..
The overall experience has been lovely. We will come back again next year :)
A pleasant experience overall :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parismikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Having never been to Thailand before it was quite nerve racking trying to pick a hotel and location to stay at.
The Paradise Beach Resort seemed to tick many boxes for what I was looking for plus there was the bonus of stay for "x" nights and pay for "y". So I locked it in!!
When you get to the resort you are met by very polite and friendly staff, who serve you with a welcome fruit punch drink whilst you check in. Your bags are taken care of by their porter and you are now in the care of the resort staff.
The Deluxe room we had was very comfortable with its own balcony. All mod cons were there, on suite bathroom, fully stocked bar fridge, a safe for your valuables and air conditioning too!!!
Now, to be honest, the rooms are a bit tired but we just felt it added a homely warmth instead of clinical hospital whiteness which would have ruined the ambience of the place. My only gripe would be that the shower had a tendency to fluctuate between hot and cold but with patience you can find that happy medium!!
The housekeeping team do a fantastic job in keeping the rooms clean and tidy with fresh linen and towels, as well as keeping the consumable items stocked.
The bar and restaurant staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. Breakfast is a buffet style western catering affair but does offer a few Thai dishes for those who wish to partake! The head waiter runs around like a headless chicken trying to ensure everyone is happy and your every culinary need is catered for.
The menu caters for both Thai and Western tastes and the food quality is outstanding!
The resort also offers an in house cooking class which goes for an hour. This is a fantastic and fun activity to do and it doesn't matter if you have never cooked this style before as everything you need is there for you as well as assistance from Chef!!!
Now, I have previously read another review from a rather disgruntled guest, whose negative views I found quite inappropriate and incorrect, stated that the staffs ability to speak English was terrible. My comment to that is: Well what do you expect, you're in Thailand after all, not London!!!
Yes, some staff struggle a bit with their English, but do a fantastic job in trying! It's also a great idea to have a go at trying to learn and speak some Thai too. A little effort goes a long way people, just have a go!!
There is much to do locally and in the surrounding areas. The resort provides a mini bus to those wishing to go to Bi Phut or Chewang and you get picked up too!!! I call that great service!!
To the General Manger of the resort, Daniel, I say thank you to you and your staff for making my first ever trip to Thailand one of the most positive and memorable experiences I have had. It is testament to this resort when you meet other guests who are here again for the fifth, sixth, tenth or for even one couple, their fifteenth year coming here!
I for one feel I have found a new home and can't wait to be back again for another adventure!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

just returned from an 8night stayin this lovely resort.What a great time we had .The welcome from the start is is the beast&attention to our every need met with a smile nothing is to much touble.We wish to thank Daniel&his superb staff for making our holiday truly a great one to remember for along time.Many thanks to the resort attention to us.

Room Tip: we had 717
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brimble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This resort has been managed by Swiss professionals for years which guarantees efficiency, cleanliness, friendliness and good food. I have never been disappointed and the fact that a large portion of the patrons are coming back again and again speaks for itself. Its location direct on the fine sandy beach and nestled in a beautiful garden with two swimming pools is truly romantic.Whereas the Italian restaurant "Roma" has been closed some time ago, the other restaurant offers a vast variety of Thai and Western dishes. Every night there is a special theme with different menus and some show/music. The hotel offers free WiFi in all areas as well as a free shuttle bus for its guests to nearby Bophut and Chaweng Beaches from afternoon to late night. Unfortunately most of the rooms have seen better days and badly need a facelift.

Room Tip: The recently renovated Maenam Suites near the pool are the best within the Resort.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marc_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear marc_martin

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays at the Paradise Beach Resort.

We thank you for all your great compliments and looking forward to welcome you again at our resort.


The Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have just returned from Thailand , having had the best holiday we have ever experienced. Having done the tour of Thailand, which was truly amazing , we had taken the extension to stay on for extra week at the Paradise Beach Resort, koh samui , in was fabulous, the food was superb, service was excellent, entertainment most evenings, and if you like cooking, I can highly recommend doing their cookery Thai class, it was great, thank you paradise.
It is set in a quite location, but the surroundings are beautifull. Their is a shuttle bus that takes into a nearby town , which is great to visit. Wonderful h

Room Tip: Our room was number 602, it was lovely , cleaned every day, tea coffee, fresh beach towels put in ev...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 154,187,048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRParadise M, Manager at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear 154187048

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your vacation in Thailand at Paradise Beach Resort.

We thank you for all the compliments you have for us and hope, that you will manage to cook Thai food back home.

We hope you visit us again on Koh Samui.

The Paradise Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
5.1 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
448 reviews
7.7 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
407 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 184 in Bophut
990 reviews
4.9 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Address: 18/8 | Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £47 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low rise, Thai style, landscaped garden, unspoiled beach, warm clear waters of the South China Sea; 12 km from Phangah Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Paradise Beach Koh Samui
Paradise Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing