We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent 5 nights here with my girlfriend(I wish we could have stay longer).
The room had enough space and it was clean but to be fair some extra storage would be appreciated by some people.
Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was simple but very, very nice. My favorite was the crispy bacon.
We had full ocean view from our room and we just loved it. The place is very peaceful and quiet and this is what we were hoping for.
Motorbike rent was easy also from the reception and we had a great time discovering the island. A part of it anyway.
The staff was very helpful and very friendly. I would and I will recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    105
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
14
133
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My boyfriend and I picked The Hammock because it was one of the more reasonably priced places in ko Samui and was on the beach that we were told was the best. The rooms are fine, a little run down overall but has everything you need and are clean. The breakfast is good especially with being set right on the beach the view us awesome and not like any other on the island with ko phangan being opposite you. Is a bit of a longish walk from the road and the area is very quite but that was fine for us as we were looking for a relaxed sort of place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Paid $35 per room in Dec 2013 through agoda. We really liked the rooms. Nicely build, small but clean and cozy with character. There is a tiny pool. Breakfast that came with the room was really great. Biggest problem with this location is that there is a drainage with dirty water of Maenam flowing into Ocean right in front of the hotel. So for us going into water was out of question. Otherwise, we enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charaveti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thehammock, Manager at The Hammock Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at The Hammock Samui Beach Resort!

We really appreciate your good comments about our resort and our customer service. About the beach, we apologize that on the time you stayed here, the sea was a bit dirty because of the river beside the resort, but it is not the whole year. I would suggest you try to visit us again some other season to see and experience the beauty of Meanam Beach.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here at The Hammock Samui Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We originally booked this hotel for one night but we loved it so much, we decided to change our flight to Phuket and stay 2 extra nights!
Our biggest concern was the beach since we heard the best beaches were Chaweng and Lamai but it turn out to be gorgeous!
We rented a scooter down the street for 180bahts and went around the island but beware, on Thursdays there's a market on the street (very fun to walk around) so no vehicles/motorcycles.
Another thing we loved was the complementary breakfast buffet, I was surprise at how good it was! Wifi signal was always very strong and fast. The room and the hotel are so cute. I will definitely go back anytime!
(A special hello to the gorgeous black dog who's always at the hotel, cutest and nicest dog ever! To the staff: please take good care of him❤️)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesenia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hammock is one of the nicest and cutest places we've ever stayed. Its a lovely intimate resort with an almost Mediterranean feel to it. Its also located on the best beach in Samui; Maenam. In all honesty we found all the other beaches to be dirty, overcrowded and not suitable for swimming. Maenam is your best bet if you're looking for some peace & quietness. Although the rooms are relatively small we loved staying here. The use of smooth concrete gives a cool & refreshing feel. The beds are very, very comfortable and the rain shower is fantastic. Everything you need from a little fridge to cable flat screen TV with a DVD player. Yes, the rooms are small but trust me; good things come in small packages. There is a lovely deck terrace and a little pool overlooking the sea.We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the whole place. We loved it so much we came running back after one night (we were booked into Secret Garden near Big Buddha beach which was horrible!) A lot of attention has been payed to small details such as a lovely beach bag with beach towels in your room. Big thank you to the lovely Len Clemente, Ghandy and the rest of the team who made us feel so welcome. They truly understand the hospitality business and are genuine great people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thehammock, Manager at The Hammock Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello Ms. Gina!

Thank you for the positive review of our Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff members always try their best to provide a great service for all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here at The Hammock Samui Beach Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a small resort, occupying a sliver of beach front property in Maenam. We stayed during peak season, and whereas the beaches in chaweng and Bo Phut are packed, this part of Maenam beach was relatively quiet. The price was good, the staff was fantastic, and the general ambiance of the hotel was just right. Even the crowd this place draws seemed to be more friendly, mellow and relaxed than many other spots.

The resort is accessed off the main Maenam Soi, so there are restaurants, shops, and a 7-11 within walking distance. We strolled our daughter around in the evenings, and it was nice not to have to negotiate the main ring road.

The resort is tightly packed in, but the designers did a good job with what they had. Most units are free-standing bungalows close to the beach (we did not have a beach front unit, but nevertheless had a nice sea view!). The design feels Mediterranean, white-washed concrete and stone construction, and nicely organized gardens. The reception/restaurant is breezy and right next to the beach.

The free breakfast was better than what we expected. Parking is available but limited if you have a car. If you're coming on your own, the resort location is currently marked incorrectly on Google maps and on the hotel's website. Take the Soi at the Maenam traffic light, turn right before the sala at the end, bear slight left at the Chinese temple and go straight. The hotel has a small driveway on your left across from Hutcha resort.

Room Tip: Request a bungalow at the far (river) end for more light, privacy and a sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltese F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hammock is nice small resort on quiet area of Koh Samui. We stayed on a beachfront bungalow and it was really nice. It had a nice own terrace in front of it. The room is completely white colored. There were some ants and one gekko. It was quiet and nice and the bed was good to sleep. The beach is quite average for Thailand standard. But the beach was clean. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Staff is really nice. Could stay here again.
We made a notice that the other bungalows had only very small terrace in front of them and then you have already the next building there to stare. I would not stay any other than beachfront bungalow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.2 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
691 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#46 of 187 in Bophut
1,519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Beach Resort
Hacienda Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Florist Resort
Florist Resort
#19 of 30 in Mae Nam
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hammock Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammock Samui Beach Resort

Property: The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
Address: 82/13 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hammock Samui Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our type of accommodation are Standard Room. Superior Bungalow, Deluxe Bungalow and Beachfront Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hammock Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing