We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, on the beach, great food! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My mom, boyfriend and I stayed at The Hammock. We were welcomed in a friendly manner by Gandhi and were shown to a clean and well designed room. The inclusive Western style breakfast was great. There was a great range of Thai and Western food options. There is a friendly young waiter who served us with a smile each time.

There are lounger chairs on the beach set aside for Hammock customers. There are red bean bags around the small pool, which is cooler than the sea of you need to chill out.

We will definately stay here again if we go back to Koh Samui.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Candice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We, my wife, 21 month old son and I, had the pleasure of staying at The Hammock for 6 nights. We had a great time, from the welcome to the goodbye. When you awake there is a great breakfast waiting for you. With eggs, bacon, fruit, drip coffee (a rarity in Thailand), croissants and more. The best we had during our holiday. After breakfast you can jump in the small but refreshing pool or have a swim in the sea, which is just 10 steps away from the restaurant. With staff nearby to serve you drinks or a bite to eat on the beach, while sunbathing and relaxing. In the evening the restaurant serves a wide variety of Thai an European foods. Always with a smile an great taste!! The rooms are modern white with some design elements, a very friendly look.

If you arrive with little kids, like we did, you are welcomed with an even greater smile and over more than 5 nanny's on standby ;-), they really love kids. Our son liked all the extra attention and we liked the extra eyes to keep him save.

The Hammock is a perfect place to enjoy Ko Samui, great breach, great food, friendly and helpful staff and everything within walking distance (ATM, 7eleven etc.)

We would easily stay there the second time.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank NielHeesakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in a garden room, room number G02 which was 30 secs from the beach and no noise from the pool or restaurant. Room was clean, bed comfortable, beach bag with two beach towels provided, and two large umbrellas in case you have a rainy day, both were a nice touch. Two small bottles of water provided each day. The bathroom was adequate although did smell from the drains, think this is normal and we covered them over which helped. Breakfast was fab, we are vegan and other than buying our own coconut milk from the nearby shops were able to eat to our fill! Fresh fruit, oats, breads, as well as 4 hot dishes and eggs by order if wanted. In the evening the restaurant does not serve vegetarian food but there are other restaurants within a 10 min walk, we didn't eat evening meals there so can't comment. Lots of sun beds and umbrellas, beach cleaned every morning, fresh water shower. Water was family friendly and shallow for a very long way out and all sand.

Room Tip: All rooms are within 30 seconds of the beach so personally I wouldn't pay the extra for the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherren_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Never stay here!:(
Swimming pool is really small, reception isn't friendly. There are a lot of ants in the bed and mosquitos at the room - you can't sleep! At the last day they say that we used minibar and must pay, but we didn't.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igor10987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our first impression was that hotel was a bit small. But just after a few hours we just loved it. The small and personal hotel was perfect for us after a busy period of work. The relaxed atmosphere at the hotel was brilliant and you felt to be at home pretty soon. We stayed in a pool deluxe room and had the pool (small one) just outside our doorstep. The room is a bit small when you arrived with two large suitcases. But we managed to rearranged it. When it rained it was a smell in the room but housekeeping did everything to keep this away. I strongly believe its not the hotel that can be blamed due to Koh Samui plumbing situation when heavy rainfalls can come quickly. This was not an issue for us anyway. Small gardens with large hammocks (swings) if you want to enjoy this. Sunbeds for guests both on beach and infront of their Beachfront bungalows. After nearly 15 times on Samui this became a favorite of all the hotels we stayed at.

Let me just explain a bit of Mae Nam beach and small village. If you looking for bars, discos, clubs and heavy nightlife. Do not go here. This is not the place for you. If you want peace and slow relaxing envoirment this might be the place for you. Small and cheap restaurant, many owned by families and we had excellent food just outside hotel. Every Thursday its a nightmarket just 50 m from hotel where you can buy a lot of different things, have a drink listen to local thai bands and singers. Very good market but not as big as the ones on other places but a good local one.

Beach of Mae nam is also good. The tide dont effect the situation that much and just outside Hammock its really good. A few rocks on the sandy bottom but in the crystal clear water you will see them.

Finally back to the hotel. The restaurant is really good and what I believe reasonable prices and a big selection of food, drinks, local excellent thai beers and wine. Breakfast is absolutly one of the best. Crispy bacon, eggs of your choice and different kinds of bread and also croissants. 3-4 different kinds of fresh juices, good coffee.

What I like mostly is the staff. Excellent from housekeeping, gardeners, kitchenstaff, all serving people in the restaurant and bar. Excellent service in the reception at check in, questions along the way. All these parameters above made this to a memorable stay for us.

Also if you want to visit Koh Samui and Koh Phangan you have a small service with boat only 50-100 m walking from The Hammock and Lomphraya catamaran service a bit further away. So you can easily combine two great islands.

thanks to all personal at The Hammock from room P01 (20june-16july 2014)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fredde_gbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a week with my girlfriend as part of our island hopping tour of Thailand. It's a great place.

Rooms are small, but comfortable and cosy. Checked in around 7 pm after a nightmare 6hr delayed boat from the mainland, were greeted well and promptly shown to the room. It was icy cold, which was a nice touch.

I'll be honest and say it's nothing exceptional, but it was clean, tidy, fairly modern and an awesome place to stay, the location right on the beach instantly puts you in chill out mode everyday!

Was very difficult to find. My advice here is get a taxi to the Hutcha resort. It is right beside the hammock, you have to go down a couple of roads from the Main Street and even then you don't see it until you're basically at the entrance.

The only cons were that the hot water was practically non existent after 10.30am. This was fine coming off the hot beach as a cold shower was actually welcome, but after an evening of food, drink and sweating, it was not great coming back to a cold shower. Not freezing, but cool.

The pool was a big reason in us booking this place, and sadly I never used it once as it never really looked clean. Always has stuff floating in it and sometimes the bottom of it was dirty and the water cloudy, but thankfully the beach was perfect.

Finally the breakfast was really good, a decent selection and fresh for a buffet. My advice however would be to go for breakfast before 9am as the restaurant is very small, and with most people leaving it to within the last 60 mins to eat, it could become a bit of a free for all. For some reason people see a buffet and all manners seem to disappear, then suddenly it's arms coming over your shoulder and past your head. It was actually uncomfortable to eat during the peak of breakfast. However getting up earlier meant about 2 other couples there and you could take your time and actually enjoy breakfast.

Final tip, a matter of metres separate each row of bungalows from the next (3 rows in total) just book the cheapest room and walk the extra 6 seconds to the beach, no point in spending hundreds of dollars extra when all the rooms are the same.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Padwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good address in Maenam, to me the best beach in Samui
The rooms are a bit small but very well done, good restaurant with sea view, staff very welcoming
sun-beds and a nice shower after the sea bath
Not easy to find

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsurfer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#43 of 185 in Bophut
1,639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Beach Resort
Hacienda Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hammock Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammock Samui Beach Resort

Address: 82/13 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £26 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hammock Samui Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our type of accommodation are Standard Room. Superior Bungalow, Deluxe Bungalow and Beachfront Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hammock Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing