We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zenzibar great”

ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 97 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small restaurant lay in the middle of the clean and uncrowded of Maenam beach, close to the sea and you can feel the sand on your feet.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Zenzibar great”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Superb meal tonight, they made a real effort, picked us up from our hotel(code) and brought us back again, nothing was too much trouble, food was super, fresh, authentic and cooked with passion. Great prices as well. Will return and recommend to anyone! Sat on beach and they set up a special table as we booked in advance

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    111
    31
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fanatstic !!!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Fantastic but hard to find . The made the experience even better for us.
Best meal we had in Maenam . We had white snapper deep fried and squid starter - great spices ..Go there for dinner ! Also they the staff are very friendly. The owner of the restaurant even drove us back to our resort !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peeweeferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A journey to Amazing”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

On our foodie style honeymoon from Miami Florida to Thailand (a gluten free adventure at that) we ate our way around the country for almost 3 weeks :-D
Bangkok, Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Phuket, and for the finale.... Ko Samui. Eating, resting, touring, and eating some more. By far and away our best dining experience in country was at Zenzibar. The owner Yuth was a top notch host and the food outstanding not to mention super affordable compared. 5 star food at a unpretentious beach front, I mean literally your table is two feet from the water and waves, an unbelievable setting. If you find yourself in Samui do not miss this unique dining experience.
However...it might be REALLY hard to find, it is worth the adventure!!!
After the bridge, before the police station, make a right by a sign that says "cheer Resteraunt" down a dark, dirt road to the beach. Don't be scared (like I was) because it seems like the wrong way but it's not!
Turn left on the beach and it's a few yards away!!!!!
The crab with yellow curry is my fav. My husband loved the deep fried red snapper with garlic and pepper.
The food is made with love, they welcome you with open arms, the owner speaks English, the setting alone is worth the hour it took to find. The food makes it a priceless journey .
Btw- if u get lost, call! The owner will actually pick u up!

Helpful?
Thank KFurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of best Thai meals we've had in Thailand”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spotted this place on Trip Advisor today and decided to eat dinner for our last night. We called and Yuht even offered to pick us up if we needed transport to the restaurant. We had a car and it was tricky to find (we had to navigate our way through very dark back roads to the beach) but once we got there, it was great. Good location right on the beach. We had a beautiful table in the sand and Yuht was a perfect host. He helped us navigate the menu, told us about how everything was fresh and we had the crab in curry powder, snapper in chilli and prawn spring rolls. It was all amazing. Home cooked, fresh, delicious. You really felt like part of the family. Yuht then say with us as we finished our drinks and dessert and chatted with us about Thailand. It was incredibly educational! We loved it. It was like having dinner with a Thai family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland Warsaw
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great place to take your meals. Perfect Thai food, including curry and shrimp soup in a nice environment. We stumbled upon this place by chance and we said that we should give it a try. Totally worth it. The staff is friendly and receptive, serving is fast and the atmosphere is pleasant. We returned as well the very next day to have another round. Try it for sure without any hesitation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing