We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay and some wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay and some wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Having spent months looking forward to our week here we were not disappointed!

Just about everything said in other reviews we agree with.

We booked a beach front bungalow and although quite pricey for this place it was in our opinion money well spent as the views to wake up to of the beach, sea and koh pan ngan were amazing.

Some people have commented on the rooms not being huge- what do they need??? We had a kingsize bed, closet, drawers, fridge, tv and dvd player and a very spacious bathroom.

The restaurant is lovely for breakfast and lunch but, as others have commented, a 5 minute walk finds a handful of equally good food options at around half the price.

The staff work so hard to keep the beach, grounds and rooms looking great and Amandine and her restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful.

That just leaves David! We had read many reviews about his attitude, especially if you are not French but hey ho, you dont go on holiday to make best friends with your hotelier! However as the week went on we did start to notice.

This was after a very blunt introduction when we arrived.

One day we were having lunch and he made a point of stopping at every table of french people to chat but completely ignored us.

Not really a bother to us but as we left today and paid our 16,000 baht bill he could not even say thank you or ask if we had enjoyed our stay.

having read many of David's responses on here we are sure he will explain that none of this is his fault but some hospitality skills are needed if you are going to run a hotel

In summary we would gladly stay here agsin and recomend it. Just try to deal with Amandine as much as you can!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 275AndyBradley275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID F, General Manager at Hacienda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for this nice review, we hope you will come back soon.
Concerning the price of the restaurant, yes they are a little bit more than others in the village, but you eat with the beautiful view on the sea, not the view on the road like the ones around in the village, you eat in nice plates and nice cutlery too, not in plastic plates like in Thai restaurants around. But our prices are reasonable comparing to chaweng or fisherman village for example.
About Myself, yes I'm sometimes more friendly with some french customers because lot of friends, or french residents in Samui come to have lunch here and I know them good, I cannot be more friendly with customers who maybe won't appreciate it and want to keep distance, it is hard to judge if people will like it or not, I don't want to bother them. Hope you understand.
I just try to stay polite and not be rude with the customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    115
    36
    14
    3
See reviews for
82
251
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary AB Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked Hacienda Beach based on reviews here and our overall experience at Hacienda Beach was very good but not giving 4-5 stars because of ant problem and not so much of an ant problem as one of the managers did not believe us . We had a very nice private deck and we could see the ocean. Garden pathway to ocean was beautiful and very well maintained. When we were there - there were blossoms on almost all the trees -so beautiful. The room was very small but still very nice. Very nice body wash provided in the shower. Nice loungers and umbrellas on the beach- beach was nice and water was fairly clear. We ate at the restaurant at the Hacienda a few times - very good food but we did find it more expensive than most others.

We had ants on bottom of our closet and along wall out side closet which we noticed the second day and told Amadine who quickly came and saw the problem and then had one of their staff come and spray and we never saw them there again but we did have them in the bathroom.

On another day there was a cluster in the middle of the bathroom floor and my hubby went and asked for the spray - David the other manager was not happy - said it was because people had food in the rooms. My husband tried to explain they were not in the room where the bed and fridge was - the ants were only in the bathroom. David continued to talk about food in the rooms - my husband then had to tell him again we did not have any food in the bathroom. He did not come to see where the ants were but did give my husband the spray and after that we only saw one or two which is OK as that is to be expected in the tropics. The fact that he would not come and see where the ants were and continued to indicate the problem was food, is why we can't give a better rating. Had he handled the situation the same way Amadine had, it would have been much more professional and would have indicated that he cared that his guests were bothered by the ants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID F, General Manager at Hacienda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for take your time to write a review.
I noted that you said that everything was perfect except one ant problem, I'm sad to see the rating because just of this problem. We are in a tropical country and there are so much insects everywhere, I make all the hotel spray by a pest control company 2 times per month in order to limit these insects, as we know we cannot kill them all...
I'm sorry for not taking care of this case but I have so much things to manage to make this hotel running good, that's why I hire a manager, to take care of the customers and problems like this one, and apparently she did it good one time, not the second time.
Yes I told you this because each time customers complain about ant, it is because they bring some food in the room, and not only food, even some lotions or creams in the bathroom can make them come... I gave you a anti insect spray so you can spray them when you see, we cannot stay all the day in your bathroom waiting for ant come back to spray them.
As you said everything was perfect, except this little problem but for me it not justify this rating, as we work hard every day to have very good reviews and excellent reviews and to avoid the effects of this one we will need 10 excellent reviews...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for five nights while visiting the island of Koh Samui. The hotel has a wonderful location on a quiet stretch of beach with a fantastic view of the ocean. The rooms are clean and comfortable-all you need for a beach vacation :) The service is friendly and helpful, especially Amandine, the lovely French woman who works so hard to make sure her guests are comfortable and happy. Thank you for helping make our time in Koh Samui so memorable!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID F, General Manager at Hacienda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review, it makes us more motivated to take care of our future customers.
Amandine say thenk you too, we hope to see you here next time you will come back on the island !
Just think about booking long time before as we have a lot of inquiries and bookings, it's better book directly with us by sending us email than book online so we can give discount !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed ay Hacienda for 2 1/2 weeks and it was most definately the best part of my 7 month holiday! All the staff are friendly, it's in the perfect location and the facilites are great. Must give a shoutout to the manager who was helpful in everyway and sorted out anything and everything we needed. A1 Thanks for a great time Hacienda.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torps90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID F, General Manager at Hacienda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your nice review, we hope you will come back as soon as possible it was also a pleasure to have you here with us !
see you next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were two yong couples and we stayd here for two weeks.
The hotel is in perfectlocation and has excellent beach. The stuff was wery friendly and helpful. I will give a BIG THANK YOU to the french woman on the hotel that helped us a lot with trips and information about Koh Samui!!!
The rooms were nice and clean, very good value for money!
I have nothing to complain about this excellent hotel!
There are also two very good restaurants near the hotel: Barracuda and Roma restaurant that I can recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PricS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID F, General Manager at Hacienda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your nice review, it is always nice to read them and it will help people to book with us for sure !
It was a pleasure to have you here and we wish to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed st Hacienda for 4 nights esrlier this month. The reviews looked great but really the place is pretty basic. Nothing was wrong with the place, but for the price you pay, you expect a bit more. It is clean and basic. The manager was surly, and unhelpful. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in - it was rock hard! And the pillows were flat and uncomfortable. The hotel is right on the beach and you can order cocktails to the beach which is nice, though prices at the restaurant are way overpriced compared to the restaurants around there. We never ate there once since it was just overpriced. The restaurant is only open in the morning and afternoon, whilst the bar is only open until 8 -so no late drinks there. The location is very close to the thursday street market which is fun, and many restaurants. I think the hotel is fine, just really not worth the price we paid. Also there is no swimming pool which isnt great when you want to have a non-salty swim. I wouldnt go back to reccommend this place, its just nothing special, better options close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID F, General Manager at Hacienda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Claire,
I'm sad to read this comment as all the others are very nice and grateful...
I would like to answer you about what you said about me and the hotel as you are the only one saying this, people can see all the other reviews and compare... we all know that there will always be some never unsatisfied people.
Me and my team, try to be always nice and listen to customers so it makes me sad when I see that you wrote that I'm surly and unhelpful, what a surprise !
Concerning the prices, maybe you should try some other hotels and restaurants on the island !
If our prices were so much expensive, we would not be always fully booked, and customers would not book for the next year when they check out... The restaurant is not cheap like some others you can find in the village, but in the village you don't have the view on the sea, but on the street with the cars and the noise of the road, but it is not so expensive for the quality and the service we have, you should go to see the prices of restaurant in fisherman's village or Chaweng...
Concerning the beds, the one in your room, we changed them 5 month before and they are guaranteed 10 years, everybody told us that they are very comfortable, and the pillows, I changed them last month and bought the most expensive one in duck feathers, the same quality you can find in 5 stars hotels !
Concerning the swimming pool, yes we don't have it but it is written everywhere on internet that we don't have it, so why you booked here if you want one???
You booked the cheapest room we have in the hotel, the garden view bungalow which you paid 2000 baht per night (about 60USD) in peak season !!!! but you want the standards of 4 or 5 stars hotel for this price, and even in the maenam bay it will be hard to find some hotels on the beach with such a price...
maybe you mistake when you booked here...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed 4 nights at Hacienda beach and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Maenam is a much quieter and reasonably priced part of koh samui than the more crowded west side. Hacienda beach is a well maintained set of bungalows of various sizes right on the beach. The grounds are kept very neat and the section of beach is cleaned every morning. At night it was a little noisy sometimes with adjacent, more lively, accommodation being so close, but ear plugs sorted that out on the couple of occasions. The bungalow we had was very clean, had satellite TV, and WiFi was always freely available. All in all we enjoyed our few days here.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tomk98_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID F, General Manager at Hacienda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for this nice review, we hope to see you again next time you come in Samui !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.5 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.2 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Beach Resort

Property: Hacienda Beach Resort
Address: 82/2 Moo 1, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Maenamburi Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mae Nam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Maenam, village in the north of Koh Samui island known for its tranquility and its beach ranked in the top 10 most beautiful beaches in Asia, you will discover the HACIENDA BEACH, an hotel designed for your comfort, relaxation and your peace.Its beautiful beach and views of Koh Phangan island will seduce you.The HACIENDA BEACH have 13 comfortable bungalows with private terraces and a private villa with 2 bedrooms and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenamburi Hotel Koh Samui
Maenamburi Resort Koh Samui
Hacienda Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing