We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel BUT beware of any "upgrade" offer to a pool villa!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fair House Villas & Spa
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel BUT beware of any "upgrade" offer to a pool villa!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My partner and I had spent some time reviewing hotels in Ko Samui so we were wary when booking our SUNSET SUITE at this hotel. Other tripadvisor contributors had warned that should you/we be offered an "upgrade" to a supposedly more expensive pool villa that the pool villa was no where near as good as the sunset suite. They were right... and this is exactly what happened to us!! Worse still when we rejected their "upgrade" offer we were told the hotel was fully booked. We were given no choice but to stay in the pool villa the first two nights of our five night stay. The pool villa was tiny, with no view at all and the pool itself was freezing and also very small (more like a jacuzzi). This "upgrade" offer is a complete a scam! We were provided with some compensation but it put a nasty taste in our mouths for the rest of our stay. On day three we finally moved to the sunset suite we had originally booked and payed for (months prior). It was twice the size, offering stunning views over Mae Nam beach, with a large outdoor terrace complete with a heated spa. No comparison!!! So fellow travellers be warned! The staff will argue with you until they are black and blue in the face that the pool villa is an "upgrade" but it is not. Don't cave in and stand your ground.
Otherwise, this hotel is situated in a quiet location and although not five star, it has a traditional Thai charm about it.

Room Tip: Only book a sunset suite. Do not fall for the offer of a pool villa "upgrade."
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairHouseVillas, Manager at Fair House Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Michael K,

Many thanks for your review. I am happy you enjoyed the charm and location of our hotel, although it is a great shame that the experience was compromised by the upgrade offer.

First of all I want to point out that this is not a standard procedure we have to offer this (or any) upgrade by default. In this case the front office team had a problem allocating all the bookings of the room category you selected, as one room went out of order. In order to overcome this, the team offered you a complimentary upgrade to the higher category which is the Pool Villa in this case. In this sense, the team acted correctly, however it is a clear breach of our standards for the team to "argue" or act pushy with such an upgrade, and for this I sincerely apologize and I have already held briefings with the team to clarify this point.

It is of course entirely up to the guest to evaluate and decide what room category suits their needs and gives them the best value. Technically, the Pool Villa is an upgrade from the Sunset Suite, although it is a rather small difference in price between the two. The Sunset Suite offers, as you mention, fantastic views, a spacious living room and a private Jacuzzi on the terrace. The main attraction of the Pool Villa is the private garden area and the private pool, so the total space is quite a bit larger and gives and increased feeling of privacy. In addition, the large bathroom and the location close to the main pool and beach front is attractive for many. Also, some prefer not to have the extra walk up the hillside. Overall I would say it is very much 50/50 which one guests prefer. Photos of all our six room types can be found on our website for those who are curious..

Again, I am very sorry that the upgrade offer came across the way it did. I would like to offer our sincere thanks for pointing this out to us, which allows us to adapt and improve our service for our future guests.

Warm regards,

Vigbjorn Hassel Vaage
Group Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    193
    55
    23
    19
See reviews for
93
358
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent 3 days in this hotel in a villa close to the sea, which we liked most. We enjoyed also a small private pool & a massage nearby the main pool. The bar at the pool serves really good drinks, especially Tom Kha Colada in a young coconut :-) Most of the time we spent outside of the hotel, so I cannot evaluate quality of dinner in the hotel restaurant - breakfast was quite diverse and tasty.

Little cons:
- laundry services were poor - despite of doing that 2 times, the clothes were still dirty (one serious wash at home was enough to clean it)
- there are 3 bikes which are available for free, but they are really poor (even with broken breaks), so check them deeper before starting your longer journey. ;-)

Room Tip: it is worth to ask for a villa with a private little pool and very close to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artur Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a sunset room in the Fair House Villas for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The stay started off a little rocky when our airport pickup never materialized. We pointed this out on arrival, only to be told that since we booked the pickup through Agoda, they had not received it. No apology. This was annoying to say the least. A token of a complimentary drink or something to make reparations would have been nice, but instead we got a frank "not our fault" kind of reply. Not a great start.

The room itself was up a very steep hill with a mixture of steps and sloping paths. They drove us up in a golf buggy, which they offered to do any time we were too tired to walk. The view from the room was absolutely stunning and well worth the climb. The floor and furniture in the room had seen better days, and were very scuffed, scraped and worn. This was the first thing that struck me on entering the room, so unfortunately if does make a bad first impression. I can imagine that it was beautiful a few years ago.

We looked past this, as the view was so amazing and the room was still very nice. We had a hot tub on the balcony, which we only used once, but enjoyed very much.

The facilities at the hotel are very good. The pool, complete with jacuzzi beds, basket ball net and toys for kids and adults, free sunscreen, a bar with pool stools and plenty of sun loungers, was awesome! Just beyond the pool was the small private section of beach for hotel residents, which was quiet and relaxing. The beach was stoney and the water was murky, but it was still lovely to sit on the sun loungers above this. The hotel provided free snorkeling equipment and kayaks, which was a nice touch.

The breakfast was a good spread, and quite typical of a good 4-star hotel, with no stand-out features for me specifically. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night, which was excellent. We had the Thai set menu for 2. We tried the pool bar for food during the day once, but it was not too good. Lunch at the restaurant another day was also only ok, even the Pad Thai was not something I'd have ordered from there again.

The hotel was quiet when we arrived, but the day before we left it filled up with Russian and Japanese families, and a large group of Thai military (?!!). Our peaceful days by the pool were no more, but at least we had enjoyed quieter times for the majority of the stay.

The gym is tiny and not very appealing. At least they have one though, I suppose. It's a bit of a hike into Mae Nam or Bo Phut from the hotel, but they do provide free bicycles or motorbikes for rent, and they operate a free shuttle bus to Chaweng throughout the day. Taxis are a ridiculous set price of 300 Bt, or 500 to Chaweng, so we opted for the motor bike rental as it was 200 for the full day and was a lot of fun.

I very much enjoyed my stay here. Yes, there are things I would change, but all in all we had a great time and I would recommend it, especially for families.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorettikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Fair House VIllas and Spa are in a beautiful, secluded location on a little bit of land with just two properties, the W Resort and the Fair House. It s on a quiet beach, half a kilometer from the main road to Chaweng. It is about a 30-40 minute drive from the airport. THe property is quiet, it caters to couples and small groups and families. Beautiful pool facility. We had two problems during our stay. We arranged an airport pickup through the hotel, and despite following the directions carefully we could not find our driver at the airport and had to take a taxi. When we arrived at the Fair House (via taxi) for our three night stay, we were informed that the Pool Villa, which we had booked for three nights, was not available the first night so they put us in a Mountain Villa. We were very upset because we prepaid the room and they attempted to compensate by giving us a 3-hour spa treatment for free, which was very nice - but we still expected to have our Pool Villa. The Mountain Villas are nice but they are a long walk down to the Pool and Beach area and that is not what we had signed up and paid for in advance. After the first night they moved us over to a Poll Villa for the remaining two nights, which was right next to the private beach and had a private pool.

Room Tip: Pool Villas and other villas down close to the beach and pool are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I chosed this hotel because of a travel book and the reviews from here. it comes out everything they mention are truth. I really enjoyed my 4 days.
Seaview room with a balcony, the room is spacious, clean, beautiful and the bed is massive!
Staff were friendly and smile at all times. Breakfast with nice views, sun bathing by the pool with the beach in front of you.
The only thing i wasn't satisfied was the gym is too small... everything else were perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilychf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

First time at this resort and I was stunned by the choice. We had a really great time, and would go back in an instant. The hotel is amazing and perfect for romantic getaway.
Check-in was very efficiently done. We stayed in a spacious bungalow with sea view, which I would highly recommend for couples. Maid service was excellent, our room was always clean and minibar replenished daily.
to my mind, the biggest asset is a beautiful pool with a nice pool bar where we spent every night. :)
The facility was very beauiful, the staff was absolutely out of this world and the food was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at here for our Honeymoon and the resort was fantastic. We were complimentary upgraded and the staff were pleasant and friendly at all times.

The resort was much better then we expected and our expectations were high. Would happily recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
5.4 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair House Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair House Villas & Spa

Property: Fair House Villas & Spa
Address: 39 Moo 1, Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair House Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair House Villas & Spa is a locally owned, romantic beach front resort that offers a relaxing atmosphere away from the busy areas of Koh Samui. In the lush tropical gardens you will find the airy and spacious traditional Thai-style bungalows that were carefully built to harmonize with their natural surroundings. The hotel offers six different room categories, all with private balcony or terrace, ranging from the Garden Villas to the exclusive Beach Front Villas, which feature private swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fair House Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair House Villas And Spa
Fair House Villas Hotel Mae Nam
Ban Laem Sai Hotel
Fair House Villas & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing