We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

we stayed here in april 2013. we arrived to such a lovely welcome! we loved the whole resort, the private villas are to die for! we had the Bangkok villa with its own private pool. the only bad things about the villa was that we had a problem with the airconditioner (it leaked, but maintance fixed it right away) and the mosquitos but that is hardly the resorts fault (just come prepared).
Cators to children aswell, with babysitting services and also a kids play room.
The breakfast buffet was extravegant with lots to choose from.
The pool and swim up bar were opposit the beach so it is easy to lay by the pool and dip in the beach.
However, i would recommend hiring a car, with a lot of close choices around it is easy. expect to pay 800 BHT for a day. WIthout the car you are limited to walking 10 minutes down the road for a range of bars/resturants.
The people were lovely!

Room Tip: Highly request a private villa with a pool (although more pricey) the more room, privacy and pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Eliza K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Samui Buri! Our Bangkok Villa is one of my favorites!

We hope to welcome you back to Samui Buri again in the near future!

Until we meet again,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    286
    109
    42
    18
See reviews for
181
417
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at Samui Buri from April 12-22 and we can't say enough about the fantastic experience we had. The resort, which is located on Maenam beach, is perfectly located away from the busy Chaweng Beach, yet close enough to get to if you are looking for a night out. The hotel offers a free shuttle service 2 times a day and we made good use of it. The management is visible, making themselves available by walking around the resort throughout the day. This is something I didn't see at other resorts we stayed at in Thailand. Well done Samui Buri!
We cannot recommend this hotel enough. Great experience - thanks to Jessy and Nisa for their kind smiles and entertainment during the Songkran day activities - helping push the management team into the pool was most relaxing!
See you again next year!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRG R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear ThaiSyd,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Samui Buri. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the Songkran events were not only fun, but will serve as great memories!

We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at the Samui Buri resort from the 15 - 22/04/2013 for our honeymoon. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and instantly upgraded to a superior room.

On reading earlier reviews, we were surprised regarding the staff professionalism!!! We were extremely impressed with the staff and all were very pleasant and always wanting to help with any queries and issues. On one night in particular we were walking to the local Maenam area with the idea of getting a taxi ; the General Manager upon seeing us offered to drop us off at Bophut Fisherman's Village on his way elsewhere.

We were always warmly welcomed to the pool bar by the pool Manager Pong who along with his staff always provided professional service and great cocktails.

We ate in the restaurant regularly (prices reasonable) and the food was again very impressive..no problems.

The only down side was the "make up" of rooms, this was often quite slow, and was not carried out until sometimes 1pm which we thought was a bit late.

The beach and swimming pool were perfect. Overall we enjoyed our overall stay and we will never forget our experience in Thailand. Thanks to all.

Chris and Michelle x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for posting a positive review. We really do appreciate it! I'm happy to read that the service you received around the swimming pool from our bartenders was professional and that the cocktails tasted great!

The comments related to the slow make-up service will be shared with our Housekeeping Manager so that she can look into the process.

We hope to welcome both you and Michelle back to Samui Buri in the future!

Regards,
Jesse

Ps. You're very welcome for the lift to Bophut - it was along the way :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel I thought was expensive for what it was. There was a shortage of parasols around the pool, which in busier times would make it hard to find one. Their prices appear to be completely "out of sync" with bottle water VERY expensive at 60 Thb, (8 Thb in the local store)and Beer at 85 Thb??? The hotel is also out on it's own and not very near to anything. Kids club advertised was not open.

Room Tip: Probably ideal if you just want to stay in the hotel and have a quiet break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay. I'm sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied. Prices in resort can not be compared to those of a local supermarket; doing so is unreasonable. We do place great thought into the price structure to keep it competitive with similar resorts on Koh Samui.

Samui Buri is located along a quiet streach of Maenam Beach which provides it's guests with the peace and quiet they come for. Our daily free shuttle service into areas such as Chaweng allows for those looking for nightlife a free and easy option to fulfill that need.

We hope to welcome you back to Samui Buri again in the future.

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I am staying at the Samui Buri right now. We are enjoying our holiday very much, but it is so terribly disappointing to see nobody cleaning up the beach after the day's use. Cigarette butts are all over the beach, and whatever trash washes up or is left by guests in the sand. Wild dogs leave their mess too and nobody from the hotel is out there cleaning up. This beach is so fabulous, should be raked for trash every single morning. PLEASE clean the beach up so we can enjoy the beauty of this lovely place. Service has been fine, but nobody seems to really care about our stay. We are very happy with our room and location. All in all a great trip, just want to enjoy clean sand. Even the trash cans are overflowing.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kkcathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear kkcathey,

Thank you for posting a review. I'm sad to see that you decided that posting on Trip Advisor while in-house was a far better way to communicate with the management team. As you are aware, the weather has been very unfavorable for the past few days with a serge in the sea water coming far up onto the beach. This, without a doubt, gives the sea a chance to return what we have given to it over the years. I have informed the F&B Department about your concerns and requested that they inspect the beach for debris you mentioned.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff if you have any additional concerns while in house with us.

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We were booked to stay for 5 nights via the Anantara Vacation club (which we will also avoid like the plague in future- but that is a separate story) and checked out after the first night.

This is a run-down, tired 'resort' where the staff are very unfriendly and appear completely disinterested in their jobs.

The villas are small and in need of serious refurbishment.

Food, like the service, is dreadful.

Went to use the gym on the first morning of our stay and found that the floor was covered in pools of water with the electrical cables of the fitness equipment lying in the water! The toilets attached to the gym were in a revolting state.

The only thing pleasant about this resort is the pool.

We could not wait to get out of this place and moved to a nearby hotel which thankfully had room availability during the busy Songkran period.

The are many beautiful resorts in a variety of price-levels on Samui, so no need to stay at a place like this which is run-down, dirty, serves poor quality food and lacks even a basic service attitude from poorly-trained staff.




Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank CGM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Mr. McAleer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our resort. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the hotel and it's team. I have noted your comments and will address them in our daily briefing on Monday.

If you have any additional comments you would like to share, please do not hesitate to email the General Manager directly at gm@samuiburi.com.

Kind regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Beautiful hotel, with nice gardens, great location.. We enjoy the large room well equipped with private pool access.
The staff was friendly, great service. Food is excellent and the european restaurant manager is efficient and helpful.
Relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten and Geo... Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Kirsten,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. The positive comments will be shared with our team members which will serve as great motivation.

See you again soon!

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
417 reviews
6.7 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
3.4 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Property: Samui Buri Beach Resort
Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing