We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maenam Resort(Mae Nam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santiburi Koh Samui(Mae Nam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maenam Buri Resort(Surat Thani)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
340
301
114
44
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
301
114
44
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roomgrand pool villainfinity poolswim up barice bucketdeluxe roomjohn's gardenthai architectureair conlocal restaurantsour honeymoonlate checkoutstayed here for nightsfire showmain poolegg stationthe main road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Having come to Samui from really excellent accomodation in Bangkok and Chiang Mai, we (family with 2 children) felt that although perfectly pleasant, the Samui Buri was lacking something. The answer could be...guests. Although we like a quiet time, lack of guests seemed to be a bit of a demotivating factor for the staff who found themselves with not enough to do. Here they were on a tropical island and many of them (especially as you got closer to the beach end) seemed just a little bit...bored. A couple of requests we made were never followed up. Wasn't anything important, but stopped us asking for an early morning call on departure as - well - you never know...It might have helped if the manager had done the rounds welcoming guests. At dinner in a nearby hotel we got a lovely welcome from the manager there.
Breakfast was very good, with a wide selection to suit all tastes, including Thai and western choices, but we never had dinner there. We skipped their 'Italian night' because we were in Thailand! We eat enough Italian food at home, thanks. There are plenty of other eateries nearby serving good food.
Our pool access room was very spacious and comfortable; there seemed to be no guests in adjoining rooms so we had the whole length of the pool to ourselves. Perhaps the bathroom could have done with a lick of paint, but it was large and well-appointed. The room was also a good way from the beachside (unlike the villas) so we couldn't hear the incessant pool bar muzak or the lovely lady with the microphone. Although the hotel lobby is attractive, we found the beachside pool area a bit of a concrete bunker and as other people have commented, it is totally lacking in natural shade. When he could be found, the pool attendant spent his day rolling concrete umbrella bases around for gently frying guests. Some more tropical planting would cheer up the rather stark white wall adjoining the pool area too. Perhaps these are minor points to most, but would make an otherwise lovely view out to sea and Koh Phangan beyond even more pleasant.
No complaints on the hotel location: Maenam beach is very pretty and mercifully way up the coast from the topless sunbathers/tattoo parlours/western bars that adorn the beach front at the 'quaint fishermen's village' of Bophut.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Wouldn't bother with a villa, especially if located near the pool/restaurant.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Sally G,

Thank you for taking your time to comment. We will refer to your comment to improve our services, mainly is focusing on guest service satisfaction. Further advise you may have could be sent directly to GM@samuiburi.com

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at Samui Buri Beach Resort in August. We loved the location right on Maenam Beach - a beach that has not been spoiled by development like some of the others. The pool & beach area are what make this hotel great. Loved the swim up bar and the pool being right by the beach, where the water was always calm and blue. We had a pool access room which I wouldn't bother with next time, as we spent all our time at the main pool & beach. Breakfast was good, with all the usual things, liked that you could sit out by the beach and eat too. We weren't there long enough to comment on the location of the hotel to any amenities really, although there are a couple of local restaurants just outside the resort that we tried and liked. Was great for access to the Lomprayah Pier, we could just walk down to get our ferry. Great stay, would stay again for sure.
One thing to note, the air con is very noisy, kept us away, but was too hot to turn it off, probably needs updating. Rooms were a little dark too, but thats quite nice after all that sunshine!

Room Tip: Don't bother with pool access room, not worth the extra money in my opinion.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieryangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear fieryangus,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Samui Buri. We really appreaciate it.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Thailand.

Regards,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The recent reviews of this hotel are so unfair and frankly insulting to both Thai people and fellow travellers.
We have travelled to many places in the world and is it's good to compare to other hotels.
Location-the hotel is set further out of Mae Nam Beach Resort but I found this to be a bonus. Around the hotel there are at least four good restaurants and due to its quiet location you are able to get to know the locals. We did visit other resorts and much preferred the friendliness of Mae Nam-I just hope this continues as development takes place. You can walk along the beach for a fair way and their are several good bars and places to eat.
Staff-All the staff seemed to be very hard working and did their best to make you feel welcome. We found we were treated with nothing but the utmost respect and courtesy.
Facilities-our room was very spacious and had everything we needed. We had a pool access room which was fabulous and we really got a lot of use of it. There is a large fridge which we filled with our own provisions from the supermarket. It was cleaned daily but I did feel the bathroom could have been better-stains on toilet and the bins from previous guests.
The lobby area and grounds were immaculate. The plants were beautiful and well tended.
One big improvement that could be made is the availability of shade. There is a beautiful infinity pool and restaurant area that looks across the beach. However, the only shade is via beach parasols. I spent one day sat on my room terrace because there were no parasols left after 10am and the sun was too fierce to sit in. Staff worked really hard (Chan) to move parasols about but there seems to be a real shortage. Outside the restaurant there is a beautiful cushioned area and a canopy over this would improve it.
We didn't eat in the hotel because we thought it was too expensive compared to other places around it. We had breakfast everyday and found that to be lovely. overall this is a quiet, peaceful place to stay and if you want more 'action' it's only a walk or cab ride away.

Room Tip: Deluxe pool access room have a fabulous terrace and access to a pool that you share with four other rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppyfields1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear poppyfields1,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience was. I'm happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Please allow me to apologize for the umbrella issues your experienced. Your comments will be shared with our team for rectification.

See you again soon!

Regards,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights 30th July - 9th August but wish it had been longer. The place is stunning, when we arrived we were met with a welcome drink, Thai orchid garland each and a cool refreshing towel which was lovely after a long hot journey. We were given a tour of the resort by a member of the reception staff on a 'golf buggy' type vehicle then shown our villa. The villa was amazing, we had a pool villa with own private pool. The pool was about 10ft square which was ample for a dip to cool off. There was a private covered patio with chairs and a table.The bedroom was huge with drinks fridge and tea/coffee facilities and large flatscreen TV. The bathroom was also big with jacuzzi bath, his n hers basins and a large walk in shower.
The staff were all very nice and couldnt do enough for you but without being pushy. We booked a special dinner for our first wedding anniversary and our special thanks go to Nisa, Chan and Mali who all made that dinner extra special as it was pouring with rain so the beach location was quickly changed to our covered patio where it was set out with flowers, a dinner table and background music.
The pool and pool bar were spotless and the grounds were all well kept. Location is amazing too with views directly over the sea. Restaurant and food were all really good also and the choice of food for breakfast was unbelievable.
There is also a free shuttle service to Chaweng twicce a day which we used and the reception staff will also arrange taxis for you. Again they excelled when our prebooked taxi to return to airport failed to turn up so the reception organised one of their staff to take us to the airport.
We truly did not want to leave and look forward to returning again sometime. Again many thanks to all the staff but especially the ones that made the stay really memorable.

Room Tip: Go for a pool villa, they are very spacious, nearer to pool, beach and restaurant and are all very private and not overlooked, we were in 'Saturn'
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear nitty123,

Thank you for such a great review. I am very pleased to read you had such a great experience. I will pass along your comments with special thanks to Nisa, Chan and Mali; i'm sure they will be very happy to know their hard work was noticed.

If you have any additional questions or comments, please feel free to email me direct at gm@samuiburi.com.

See you on your next visit to Thailand.

Kind regards,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have been to Thailand many times but this time i thought i would treat the family to somewhere with a bit of luxury.
The position, the rooms, the beach the pool were all absolutely stunning, the only real let down was the front line staff and management, they did not seem to understand what a 4 star hotel should offer.
They were very pleasant but just not very good at their jobs, especially the pool area staff who looking througherly depressed most of the time. The waiters in the restaurant were inattentive to the point you had to go and find them.
The restaurant was full of very loud frogs only, as most people chose not to eat in there because of the noise. The food was average and expensive compared to other restaurants locally.
The bar shuts at 8pm so dont expect an evening drink with other guests, unless you are in the restaurant.
Dont get me wrong the gardeners, the girls cleaning the rooms were fantastic it was a shame that the rest of the staff were so poor.
It seemed that the management were getting some help from someone independent so i guess we are not the first to notice the poor service, hopefully with some good new management the hotel can be worthy of the 4 stars.
Would i stay there again, i would have to be convinced that things have changed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Jezpugh,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Samui Buri. Direct feedback from our guests allows us to know where we exceeded your expectations or where improvements might be needed.

I have noted your comments and will share them with the team, especially the Human Resources Department, for immediate rectification.

We hope to welcome you back to Samui Buri on your next holiday to Thailand!

Regards,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews