We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just came back from 4 days at the Samui Buri Resort, where we my husband and I stayed to break our trip from Europe to New Zealand. We found the resort very pretty. The lobby is spacious and beutifully decorated. The tropical garden is gorgeous and perfectly mantained. When we checked-in the staff were nice and helpful, they showed us both a villa and a pool-access room which we choosed as it seemed more private and quiet. It turned out that we were the only guests in that row of five rooms so it was even more private. We loved the room, which was very big and comfortable. The bed instead was rather small. We used the resort's spa for a massage and manicure and loved it, we also booked the thai cooking class - great experience and very useful if you love thai food! The chef who gave the class was amazing and took the extra time to answer all our questions. We both felt the resort could easily bocome a 5-star with some light renovations! There is only one thing that was really disappointing and that is the restaurant service. Although the breakfast was good, even if not excellent, our dining experiences (two lunches and one dinner) were mediocre, and not what we were expecting at all. Our dinner the last day was particuraly disappointing, the fish (which was the night's reccomendation) was very dry, and the whole dish lacked in taste, quality and quantity. The two lunches were also just avarege. We thought it was a real shame as the resort is otherwise very high standard. Finally, we thought it was a bit strange that who seemed to be the manager would wander around the resort giving instructions to his staff without welcoming or even acknowledging the guests. I would reccomend the Samui Beach Resort - but suggest to dine somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IviNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Lvi NZ,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Samui Buri Beach Resort. I am sorry to find that your experience did nit meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropiate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Two wonderful and relaxing vacation wheeks in August! Very friendly and helpful employees! Beautiful Hotel, big and clean rooms, wonderful beach, very good and friendly service everywhere in the hotel! Good breakfast buffett, lots of different trip offers, shuttle service...... It was a perfect holiday and we will sure be back!!! :-) Thanks to all the staff at the Samui Buri who made our stay such a success!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettina12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Bettina,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Look forward to welcome you back to Samui Buri Beach Resort in near future.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My boyfriend and I have been on numerous holidays over the years and never have we felt compelled to write a review on here. We visited the Samui Buri on August 7th for four nights after staying in Bangkok and en route to Australia.

I can’t speak highly enough of the staff, especially on reception. They assisted us with taxi’s, trips, gave us an hour’s free wifi and even upgraded us to the rooms with the shared pool one off the balcony. The rooms are really spacious, clean and tidy and well accommodated. Ping Pong and the lady with the bob hair cut, Cuen (I don’t know how to spell her name) and the staff by the pool were also extremely friendly. I wish the same could be said for the evening restaurant staff, we ate there on the first night because we arrived late and it was convenient. The food was average at best, the service was poor, we had to go and ask if we could order our drinks and then we had to go and find them again to order food. If you are looking for great Thai food then Poppies in Chaewang is awesome. We also ate at the Banyon Tree in Lamai, it’s a little pricey and you have to pre-book but the food, service and views are well worth the money.

Back to the hotel, we never had to worry about not getting a sun bed. The massages on the beach are cheap enough and well worth it. There’s also numerous water sport activities available on the beach.
the wifi not being free is a bit of a pain but you’re on holiday and it’s cheap enough, just make sure you log out and log back in to save your allowance. Mae Nam is a lovely beach and not far from the fisherman’s village (recommend the markets). Chaewang probably isn’t walking distance but a short taxi ride away.

Overall a lovely hotel with great staff, I’d definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends and family who are looking to visit next year. The only things that tainted it were the restaurant and no free wifi. I hate staying in the same place twice but we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Karia S,

Thank you for your time posting most positive comment on hotel and staff. I will share your comments with our team and pass on to mentioned staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

See you next visit.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Having come to Samui from really excellent accomodation in Bangkok and Chiang Mai, we (family with 2 children) felt that although perfectly pleasant, the Samui Buri was lacking something. The answer could be...guests. Although we like a quiet time, lack of guests seemed to be a bit of a demotivating factor for the staff who found themselves with not enough to do. Here they were on a tropical island and many of them (especially as you got closer to the beach end) seemed just a little bit...bored. A couple of requests we made were never followed up. Wasn't anything important, but stopped us asking for an early morning call on departure as - well - you never know...It might have helped if the manager had done the rounds welcoming guests. At dinner in a nearby hotel we got a lovely welcome from the manager there.
Breakfast was very good, with a wide selection to suit all tastes, including Thai and western choices, but we never had dinner there. We skipped their 'Italian night' because we were in Thailand! We eat enough Italian food at home, thanks. There are plenty of other eateries nearby serving good food.
Our pool access room was very spacious and comfortable; there seemed to be no guests in adjoining rooms so we had the whole length of the pool to ourselves. Perhaps the bathroom could have done with a lick of paint, but it was large and well-appointed. The room was also a good way from the beachside (unlike the villas) so we couldn't hear the incessant pool bar muzak or the lovely lady with the microphone. Although the hotel lobby is attractive, we found the beachside pool area a bit of a concrete bunker and as other people have commented, it is totally lacking in natural shade. When he could be found, the pool attendant spent his day rolling concrete umbrella bases around for gently frying guests. Some more tropical planting would cheer up the rather stark white wall adjoining the pool area too. Perhaps these are minor points to most, but would make an otherwise lovely view out to sea and Koh Phangan beyond even more pleasant.
No complaints on the hotel location: Maenam beach is very pretty and mercifully way up the coast from the topless sunbathers/tattoo parlours/western bars that adorn the beach front at the 'quaint fishermen's village' of Bophut.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Wouldn't bother with a villa, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Sally G,

Thank you for taking your time to comment. We will refer to your comment to improve our services, mainly is focusing on guest service satisfaction. Further advise you may have could be sent directly to GM@samuiburi.com

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at Samui Buri Beach Resort in August. We loved the location right on Maenam Beach - a beach that has not been spoiled by development like some of the others. The pool & beach area are what make this hotel great. Loved the swim up bar and the pool being right by the beach, where the water was always calm and blue. We had a pool access room which I wouldn't bother with next time, as we spent all our time at the main pool & beach. Breakfast was good, with all the usual things, liked that you could sit out by the beach and eat too. We weren't there long enough to comment on the location of the hotel to any amenities really, although there are a couple of local restaurants just outside the resort that we tried and liked. Was great for access to the Lomprayah Pier, we could just walk down to get our ferry. Great stay, would stay again for sure.
One thing to note, the air con is very noisy, kept us away, but was too hot to turn it off, probably needs updating. Rooms were a little dark too, but thats quite nice after all that sunshine!

Room Tip: Don't bother with pool access room, not worth the extra money in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieryangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear fieryangus,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Samui Buri. We really appreaciate it.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Thailand.

Regards,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The recent reviews of this hotel are so unfair and frankly insulting to both Thai people and fellow travellers.
We have travelled to many places in the world and is it's good to compare to other hotels.
Location-the hotel is set further out of Mae Nam Beach Resort but I found this to be a bonus. Around the hotel there are at least four good restaurants and due to its quiet location you are able to get to know the locals. We did visit other resorts and much preferred the friendliness of Mae Nam-I just hope this continues as development takes place. You can walk along the beach for a fair way and their are several good bars and places to eat.
Staff-All the staff seemed to be very hard working and did their best to make you feel welcome. We found we were treated with nothing but the utmost respect and courtesy.
Facilities-our room was very spacious and had everything we needed. We had a pool access room which was fabulous and we really got a lot of use of it. There is a large fridge which we filled with our own provisions from the supermarket. It was cleaned daily but I did feel the bathroom could have been better-stains on toilet and the bins from previous guests.
The lobby area and grounds were immaculate. The plants were beautiful and well tended.
One big improvement that could be made is the availability of shade. There is a beautiful infinity pool and restaurant area that looks across the beach. However, the only shade is via beach parasols. I spent one day sat on my room terrace because there were no parasols left after 10am and the sun was too fierce to sit in. Staff worked really hard (Chan) to move parasols about but there seems to be a real shortage. Outside the restaurant there is a beautiful cushioned area and a canopy over this would improve it.
We didn't eat in the hotel because we thought it was too expensive compared to other places around it. We had breakfast everyday and found that to be lovely. overall this is a quiet, peaceful place to stay and if you want more 'action' it's only a walk or cab ride away.

Room Tip: Deluxe pool access room have a fabulous terrace and access to a pool that you share with four other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppyfields1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear poppyfields1,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience was. I'm happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Please allow me to apologize for the umbrella issues your experienced. Your comments will be shared with our team for rectification.

See you again soon!

Regards,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights 30th July - 9th August but wish it had been longer. The place is stunning, when we arrived we were met with a welcome drink, Thai orchid garland each and a cool refreshing towel which was lovely after a long hot journey. We were given a tour of the resort by a member of the reception staff on a 'golf buggy' type vehicle then shown our villa. The villa was amazing, we had a pool villa with own private pool. The pool was about 10ft square which was ample for a dip to cool off. There was a private covered patio with chairs and a table.The bedroom was huge with drinks fridge and tea/coffee facilities and large flatscreen TV. The bathroom was also big with jacuzzi bath, his n hers basins and a large walk in shower.
The staff were all very nice and couldnt do enough for you but without being pushy. We booked a special dinner for our first wedding anniversary and our special thanks go to Nisa, Chan and Mali who all made that dinner extra special as it was pouring with rain so the beach location was quickly changed to our covered patio where it was set out with flowers, a dinner table and background music.
The pool and pool bar were spotless and the grounds were all well kept. Location is amazing too with views directly over the sea. Restaurant and food were all really good also and the choice of food for breakfast was unbelievable.
There is also a free shuttle service to Chaweng twicce a day which we used and the reception staff will also arrange taxis for you. Again they excelled when our prebooked taxi to return to airport failed to turn up so the reception organised one of their staff to take us to the airport.
We truly did not want to leave and look forward to returning again sometime. Again many thanks to all the staff but especially the ones that made the stay really memorable.

Room Tip: Go for a pool villa, they are very spacious, nearer to pool, beach and restaurant and are all very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiBuri, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear nitty123,

Thank you for such a great review. I am very pleased to read you had such a great experience. I will pass along your comments with special thanks to Nisa, Chan and Mali; i'm sure they will be very happy to know their hard work was noticed.

If you have any additional questions or comments, please feel free to email me direct at gm@samuiburi.com.

See you on your next visit to Thailand.

Kind regards,
Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Mae Nam
484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
660 reviews
1.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Santiburi Koh Samui
Santiburi Koh Samui
#3 of 30 in Mae Nam
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £52 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing