We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I don't understand any of the negative reviews about the Samui Buri. Perhaps they come from misconstrued ideas. I must admit I was hesitant about booking here due to some of the reviews on TA, but I can tell you they are not the true picture.

This was our first visit to Koh Samui, (we are Bali mad but thought we should try something different). there was nothing about Samui Buri that disappointed us. The staff were nothing short of excellent, especially the gorgeous girls that cleaned our room and turned it down in the evening - special thanks to Mia x.

We had a pool access room and that was worth its weight in gold to us. We stayed for 2 weeks and the first week was very busy and due to the "pool hoggers" we could never get a lounge in the shade at the main pool, so we opted for our pool. Had more success in the 2nd week we were there and enjoyed every minute of it. Management really should try to curb those pool hoggers!!

The rooms are large, spacious, and exceptionally clean. Yes, as other reviewers have mentioned, the bathrooms are dated, but they, like the rest of the resort are very, very clean, and you can see that they have been repainted. It is just the tiles and woodwork that is dated, and in a bathroom, this is to be expected.

While we never had dinner there, we had breakfast every day, several lunches, some room service and cocktails and beers etc around the pool. Was amazed at how inexpensive our bill was at the end of 2 weeks. Value for money without a doubt. Most of our meals were excellent, but none were that bad to complain about.

The location was somewhat of a disappointment to us, but that is not the hotels fault - that is ours for choosing this location. it is perfect for relaxing only, but we do like to get out and about and in hindsight wish we split our time between Samui Buri and either Bophut or Chaweng. As other reviewers have stated you can catch a ride in the buggy to the main road, which is a godsend as we found it sooooo hot!

In regards to the towels in the room and at the pool area - really? They were clean, and yes I admit a little dated, but heck they do the job and we are not paying for 5 star prices here, although the service is certainly 5 star! And yes they do not provide face cloths, but again, seriously is that such a big deal?

All in all we would NOT hesitate to return to the Samui Buri, and we congratulate management and staff on their exceptional service during our stay.

Room Tip: Its up to the individual, but I couldn't be happier we had a pool access room and we made use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nads68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Nads68_13,

Thank you for a great review on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort after two weeks stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. We will never stop improvement our standard and services for your comfort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Samui Buri Beach Resort in the near future with pleasure.


Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The first three days of the summer holiday is spent at the Samui Buri Beach Resort: we are actually still here when writing this.
We where lucky enough to get an upgrade when we arrived: we are staying in a villa with a private pool.
The little villa is spacious, clean and has all that you need.
The bathroom is big and has a separate shower and jacuzzi bathtub. The outdoor pool is, of course, quite small, but absolutely lovely to cool of in.
The air con works just fine!
The restaurant is ok, not a culinary experience, but absolutely ok.
The beach is just by the hotel and is also well taken care of. The sunbeds are good!
The hotel pool is nice too, very warm though :-)
All in all, this is a nice place with friendly staff, absolutely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnelieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear AnnelieG,

Thank you for taking your time review on Trip Advisor and gave Samui Buri Beach Resort a good feedback. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had such a wonderful holiday here. having been to Dubai and bangok first it was lovely to get to the samui buri and relax. Everything was perfect. We were upgraded when we arrived. It was definitely worth having our own pool which we did use several times. The main pool was lovely especially with the swim up bar. We ate at the hotel most nights and the food was gorgeous, albeit it did close quite early at around 10.30 although it was quiet season. The staff couldn't do enough for you, brilliant service. We would definitely go back here and would recommend the hotel. A Thai massage at the hotel is a must. We also got engaged here which made it all the more special. Thank you for a perfect holiday. Jo and mike

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Family-Hess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Jo & Mike,

Thank you for taking your time review on Trip Advisor and gave Samui Buri Beach Resort a great feedback. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. Hope you will come back for wedding at Samui Buri Beach Resort in the near future.

See you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at Samui Buri for 10 days in June, The second time we have holidayed in a spacious and comfortable Pool access room here. Lovely resort, well maintained gardens and walkways, great infinity pool with swim up bar. Beach also excellent and only a few steps away. Outlook to sea is amazing. The Resort Restaurant overlooks the sea, has a varied menu and serves good meals, breakfast always has plenty of choice. If you want a change there are numerous other restaurants, bars etc within 3 – 400 metres of the resort, two of the more upmarket ones are Johns Garden only a couple of hundred metres away, and Grandads restaurant up on the main road. This main road, the island ring road, is an easy flat 400 metre walk from the resort. But if you don’t want to walk, the resort golf buggy will run you up to the main road or to the ferry pier – and as we found with all staff, the young men who do the buggy driving are most friendly and obliging. There are also several shops, mini marts, legit massage shops, a pharmacy etc. nearby, in short, pretty much everything you need. Don’t waste holiday time doing your own laundry, we have used an excellent laundry on the intersection about a hundred metres short of the main road during both stays, next day service, currently at 30 (or was it 40?) baht a kilogram. A group of friendly ex pats who gather most evenings on the deck at Mamas shop/bar up by the main road will gladly give local directions, advice etc.
There are a couple of niggles regarding the rooms, the air conditioning is noisy, but turning it down low and having a nightcap helps with that one overnight. And the bathrooms are near requiring refurbishment. Remember the resort building is a few years old now and is not perfect, but what hotel is? Talking of bathrooms, a tip – take your own facecloths as these are not provided. Staff place mosquito rings in the rooms each evening, but remember to take insect repellent and also sunscreen cream. Number of dogs around the beach area at night can be disconcerting. But I guess these are a couple of things it is very hard for the resort to control.
Taxi trucks to Chaweng (or Nathon) are cheap, should be under 100 baht pp, and if you are in a hurry or want more comfort, taxis are about 3 – 400 baht. Flag them down on the main road. After about 6 p.m. (or dark?) the taxi trucks become taxis. Check with locals for correct rates, as with taxi drivers everywhere, visitors may end up boosting the coffers.
If you want to party hard and long, you would probably be better off staying in Chaweng, but if a good relaxing pool or beach holiday is more your scene, this is the place.
Hopefully we will again have the opportunity of visiting Koh Samui, and if so, will almost certainly once more stay at Samui Buri.
Again I want to emphasise the friendly and helpful attitude of all resort staff. Many may not have much English – but it is always better than my Thai!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iggy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Iggy421,

Thank you for a great review on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort after 10 days stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our returning guest. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. We will never stop improvement our standard and services for your comfort.

Look forward to welcome you back to Samui Buri Beach Resort with pleasure.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

After reading reviews we decided upon the Samui Buri Beach Resort for our Holiday. The appearance of the hotel is beautiful as are the gardens and pool. The staff are attentive and friendly and the reception staff spoke enough English to answer our questions and advise us of the local area.

Our deluxe room on the second floor was huge, with two king-size beds. It was decorated in traditional Thai style, which made it very dark and the lighting was not great. There was plenty storage and an easy to operate digital safe. The air-con and lights were controlled on a panel by the bed, which was easy. We made no use of the TV or Dvd player. The bathroom let our room down, it was very spacious, however very tired and 'grubby' looking with stained paintwork and flaking paint. Saying that it was clean enough to have a shower and use the toilet, which was new and clean. The towels 'did the job' but were thin grey and sometimes holed, these were changed on a daily basis. There were some nice touches, the cotton bathrobes and slippers, two bottles of water each night,the oil burner lit and orchids at turn down.

The swim by rooms were never used by anyone in the two weeks we were there. They do not lead to the infinity pool, which is a few minutes walk away, only to a little square pool which is shared with a few other rooms, So probably not worth paying the extra for.

The breakfasts were fine with European and Thai dishes. The omelettes were delicious and cooked to order. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive, Deedi especially was a gentle, smiley and well spoken waiter he learned peoples names and greeted us each morning. We did not use the Restaurant after breakfast because it was too expensive. Why use the same place when there are plenty superb restaurants nearby at less than half the price? Lunchtime snacks were expensive as was the pool bar, even happy hour beers were double the price of a local 'shack' less than 100m along the beach.

The infinity pool was spacious, clean and beautiful and at times almost empty. Lounger towels were free, but again very worn, however they did the job of keeping the bed cool. The pool staff weren't in a hurry to clear away bottles, or cans and I think this is down to lack of supervision.

We would return to Mae Nam again and would consider this hotel again, however there are others locally at less than half the price, however without such a nice pool. There is no bar in the hotel, although it says there is. By 9.30pm, there is no one around and the huge lobby is just a grand entrance with no purpose. Only once did we see a waiter near the 'lobby bar' but by the time we dropped off our bags he had gone and no one came back.

We had a lovely holiday and got to know locals in the restaurants and bars, it was a pleasure leaving generous tips for them. At the hotel on check-out we were billed for two broken glasses. Unbelievable! Admittedly one was broken (fell off the bedside table, after knocking it with the pillow). We wrapped up the glass carefully in a paper and bagged it separatley We had a form to sign to say we didn't break the other glass.

If the management would concentrate on important things and supervise staff, talk to guests and cut the prices to a more reasonable price they would have more guests stay in the hotel at night. We WOULD recommend the hotel because of the beautiful pool and gardens however take note of the flaws and compare the cost.

Room Tip: Swim by rooms are probably not worth the money. We never saw anyone use them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little-ween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Little-ween,

Thank you for a great review on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff. We will never stop improvement our standard and services for your comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Almostly everyday since the start of our vacation something went wrong. Yes the hotel has very nice grounds and big rooms but that is the only thing. The rooms in the hotel are dated,especially bathroom. Everyday I had an argument with housekeeping about towels: they rather don't bring face towels at all or bring them in such a dirty condition that I should go and ask for a new one which were almostly the same with stains and dirt around. Also the beach towels are with stains,dirty and ripped in several places. Moreover I got a hard stomach desease after eating lunch one day in a hotel. It came in just 30 minutes after eating and kept going for 3 days afterwards. Breakfast is also average quality with the choise of repetative food every day. I would not reccomend this hotel, probably it gets better after global renovation.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Chilly550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Chilly550,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort.

I am sorry to find that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and we appreciate your sharing your concern. I will share your comments with our team to improve our standard and services as you had commented for all guest comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a cold welcoming, I carried my luggage up the stairs even if a women was at the reception, that's not a big deal but says a lot about the service.
The resort is pretty nice but compressed all the building are so close each other, and is getting old missing a bit of maintenance.

The room is really big and nice, the terrace is pretty useless because you can view just other rooms, so is not so nice to "live".
The toilet was big as well but really old, the main shower head was broken and so we had to use a small flexible head.
The bath switch between the tab and the flexible shower head was broken too. Than we had a really bad inconvenience with the toilet that I prefer to avoid.

Remember that "Do not disturb" keeps active even if you leave the room so be careful otherwise nobody will make it up.

The swimming pool is big enough, the beach beds are bit uncomfortable but this is personal.
The restaurant is ok but nothing special at least for what we tried.
The breakfast is pretty rich but here again the food is not so tasteful.
They don't provide cappuccino.

Cocktails, we tried twice, but we didn't like both.
Bit far from the main streets so you need to catch a taxi all time, you can walk out of the resort where there are good and cheap restaurant, some massage shop and a couple of mini market.

Room Tip: I don't think is worth spending more money for the superior types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Norcino,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. I am sorry to find that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and we appreciate your sharing your concern. I will share your comments with our team to improve our standard and services for guest comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
461 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
744 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#35 of 185 in Bophut
1,603 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mimosa Resort & Spa
Mimosa Resort & Spa
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: £46 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing