We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfair Reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Schuster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Schuster
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Greding
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unfair Reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Hi
I had booked this hotel and then checked trip advisor and it was with some trepidation I went there. I need not have worried and please don't let the other reviews put you off. Firstly the hotel did not smell. Infact i was very warmly welcomed by the owner herself Mrs Shuster who I found to be extremely friendly and helpful, she clucks around like a mother hen making sure that everyone is happy. This was a big week in Munich with the farmer's market so there were a few of us staying to avoid the high prices in Munich. I was offered a choice of rooms, one more modern that had recently been renovated and a traditional style rooms. The traditionaly style had a lift access to it and was larger, so I chose this one. I found the room temp to be just right and found no problems with the hot water and plumbing. I ate at the hotel and the food was both delicious and fresh and the service very good. The hotel has many nick nacks so if you are not a fan of clutter it may put you off but I found them to be fascinating particularly the collection of typewriters circa 1935 who the owner told me belonged to her grandfather who liked to collect them. Breakfast was a basic continental but I was offered a boiled egg. The village of Greding was also a pleasant surprise, its very quaint. So all in all a very nice reasonably priced stay that avoided the expense of Munich hotel prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScotlandMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    13
    11
    21
See reviews for
11
18
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Unfortunately, we stayed 2 nights in this hotel, and due to a trade fair in Munich we could not change hotels (The good ones were fully booked).
Other reviews for this hotel range from "Quaint" to "Terrible".
The hotel has an unpleasant odour, which I normall associate with being old and dirty.
My personal experience was not good. My room was very cold, with minimal heating - I used the extra duvet on the spare bed.
The bathroom was small and had mold growing in
the shower, cracked tiles on the floor and a cracked sink. No toiletries were present (I got some from reception, where they are kept in a white plastic bucket under the counter).
Breakfast was terrible - no choice, really cheap spam type meat and tables were not cleared from earlier guests.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaydubbya24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Greding hotels

Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We have just spent New Year at this hotel. Frau Schuster was great and did most of the serving herself for our party of 49. Our room was in Haus III. Others staying in the main hotel complained of freezing cold rooms though so we felt lucky. HausIII rooms are strange in that they are long and thin with narrow single beds placed end to end. They were however nice and warm (necessary given the temperatures outside @ -15C) They were also clean but would have benefitted from soap etc being provided. Also a couple of the days we were only left one towel!
Food in the hotel was good - however our gripe would be that the drinks were extortionate. 4 euros for a coca cola is just wrong! Also 7 euros 50 for a medium sized bottle of tonic water!!! Just not good. Having said that there are other bars within 2 mins walking distance that charge half the price for drinks so don't let this put you off.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldJaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

A friend and I stayed at Hotel Schuster in Greding for four nights as part of a coach party destined to visit the Munich Oktoberfest.

The hotel itself is a quaint, Bavarian affair and typical of three star hotels I have stayed in whilst travelling throughout Germany. The reception and public dining areas are organised and tastefully furnished, and the hotel sports a fantastic display of pre-1939 typewriters and calculating machines (most manufactured in pre-war Germany) that I suspect the proprietor or his family have collected over many years. The staff were pleasant, efficient and had the patience of saints when dealing with the inevitable loud, drunks that returned from Munich in the late evenings. Pricewise, drinks were expensive compared to other local hostelries, and whilst I expect to pay a bit extra at a hotel, as opposed to a bar or gasthof, I thought that EURO 8.00 for two coffees was taking it a bit far (Munich city centre prices in off the beaten track Greding). The two three course evening meals we were provided with were fine considering what the tour firm probably restricted the chef to budget wise - don’t know of course although I’d be surprised if the total paid was more than EURO 220.00 for the 44 people in the party (EURO 5 per head??).

Alas, the accommodation we were provided with wasn't in keeping with the rest of the hotel. My friend and I were given a twin room in “HAUS III”, which is an abortion of a block located immediately to the rear of the main hotel building, and constructed from pre-fabricated concrete panels bolted together and finished with a coat of whitewash. Obviously the consequence of increasing the hotel’s accommodation at minimal cost although it does look as though work was wound up when the money ran out – despite efforts to tastefully carpet and décor the common passageways , the finishing work is rough or incomplete, and a door to the block needs to be fitted before the first of the Winter snows fall.

Our twin room was narrow (no wider than around 2.5m) and the two single beds could only go in along one wall head to toe. Although the furnishing was basic, on the plus side the room was warm, attended daily, and there was ample hot water when required. Cleanliness was satisfactory, although the en-suite is overdue for a spring clean – the tiling where the shower cubicle meets the ceiling doesn’t look to have seen a scrubbing brush in several months. My overall impression was that our accommodation was more akin to a youth hostel in East Berlin than a three star hotel in Bavaria. A great shame really. A case of OK but nothing special.

Would I recommend? A guarded “yes”, although there are several other places to stay surrounding the old town square, and if I was visiting Greding again I think I would take a chance on one of the alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NGB_May2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greding
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#1 of 6 in Greding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astay
Hotel Astay
#3 of 6 in Greding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel zum Braeu
Hotel zum Braeu
#2 of 3 in Kinding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bauer-Keller
Hotel Bauer-Keller
#2 of 6 in Greding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Schneider
Hotel Schneider
#1 of 4 in Allersberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schuster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schuster

Property: Hotel Schuster
Address: Marktplatz 23, 91171 Greding, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Greding
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Greding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schuster 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Odigeo, Booking.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Schuster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing