We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”

Papplewick Pumping Station
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Victorian fresh water pumping station that is now an industrial heritage attraction and wedding venue.
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Papplewick is just down the road from our home and we visit regularly. You will be surprised by the wonders you will see. For the children it has a little train and a lake full of hungry fish. We recommend you visit on one of their steaming days or when they have their WW2 event.

Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapplewickPS, Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for your review it is much appreciated. We hope you'll visit us again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stunning well maintained machines. Visited for my dad's 60th birthday, completely by chance we found it was 1940's weekend when we checked online for prices, so all the family were very excited. The kids dressed up as evacuees and had a fantastic time learning about Victorian steam engines and war time which tied in lovely with lessons being taught at school. We had such fun we can't wait to return on another occasion and will certainly be back for another 1940's weekend. we missed the underground reservoir so will make sure we see that next time.

Thank puckmaster_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapplewickPS, Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to place a review. We will doing another 1940s steam event in October 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

If you are into the days of victorian steam engines then you must visit the Papplewick Pumping Station on Rigg Lane, Ravenshead, Nottingham on one of its steam days. Built between 1882 - 1884 to supplement the water supply for the growing city of Nottingham it houses two massive beam pumping engines, thought to be the last built by the famous firm of James Watt & Co. of Soho Works, Birmingham and London. We visited it when it was in steam a few weeks ago and was amazed at the size and power of the engines, a real treat to see them working for my steam buff husband. They have various steam days throughout the year linked to different themes with entertainment for the children including riding on the little steam train during steam weekends. Although there is an admission charge on steam days and a reduced admission charge for the rest of the year - it is certainly worth arranging to visit on one of their 'in steam' and 'themed' weekends to appreciate one of these great pieces of victorian engineering and have a great day out for the family It is certainly worth checking out the details of their steam days on their website.

Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapplewickPS, Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will visit us again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is lovely all year round and we have been when they had there nineteen forties do on and that was ace then there is a nice little walk as well

Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapplewickPS, Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will one day return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited on the 1940s steam weekend. The pumping station was in steam that weekend and everyone in our party had a great time. It is really impressive to see it running. The architecture and decoration of the building are also both very impressive. We paid the extra £2 to take the bus to tour the underground reservoir which was excellent too. Well worth a visit!

They don't take credit cards though so be sure to take cash.

Thank Lucys_Mum100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapplewickPS, General Manager at Papplewick Pumping Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you very much for visiting, I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable visit and hope you will visit another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papplewick Pumping Station also viewed

Ravenshead, Nottinghamshire
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
 

Been to Papplewick Pumping Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing