We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
About 2 hours' drive from Glasgow & Edinburgh. Exclusive cottage in large ¾ acre private garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
About 2 hours' drive from Glasgow & Edinburgh. Exclusive cottage in large ¾ acre private garden.
Very comfortable, traditional living room with modern amenities including... ... satellite TV, BlueRay Player, DVDs, Free WiFi. Real log fire + much more...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
About 2 hours' drive from Glasgow & Edinburgh. Exclusive cottage in large ¾ acre private garden.
Very comfortable, traditional living room with modern amenities including...
... satellite TV, BlueRay Player, DVDs, Free WiFi. Real log fire + much more...
Superb kitchen with fridge/freezer, Miele dishwasher, washing machine; microwave, coffee machine etc
Superb kitchen with fridge/freezer, Miele dishwasher, washing machine; microwave, coffee machine etc
Bedroom 1 with King-sized bed, duvet + 'all-night' electric blankets. Good wardrobe + drawer space.
Bedroom 2 has two single beds with duvets + electric blankets. Good wardrobe + drawer space.
Snug or bedroom 3 (double sofa bed & baby cot, by prior arrangement). Great games or quiet room!
Snug with sofa bed made up for use as a third bedroom.
Snug workstation. When you must!
USB charging points now in all rooms.
Genuine retro-bathroom with bath + good shower!
Spacious BBQ area. Large ¾ acre woodland garden with good privacy & great outdoor facilities.
View from the sheltered front sunporch. Great for a drink or snooze!
Pheasants frequently inhabit our garden as do a wide variety of wildlife. Enjoy from inside house!
The red squirrels are a delight to watch...
... these pics from the comfort of the sitting room, April 2017.
One of our red squirrels pauses for thought in the rear patio area.
The bird feeders attract a wide variety of birds. This is a Great Spotted (female) Woodpecker.
Local  Ospreys nearby on Loch Insh. You can hear them from The Sangar in season.
Winter view from front garden to Loch Insh.
Braeriach, the 3rd highest mountain in Britain. Pic taken from the front garden, May 2017.
Highland Wildlife Park. Less than 5 minutes from The Sangar, A great day out for young and old.
Victoria. Gave birth 03/18 to a beautiful cub, the UK's 1st in 25 yrs. See them at the Wildlife Park
Sunset on Loch Insh, a few minutes walk from The Sangar.
In a quiet cul-de-sac in 'Millionaires' Row'. Exclusive setting and great facilities.
Large private ¾ acre woodland garden with off-road parking for several cars.
Loch Alvie: Five minutes from The Sangar. All photos Copyright © 2016 - 2017 Ron Lander
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The sangar is a lovey place to stay, it is located in a quiet cul de sac, and offers fantastic views of the mountains. The garden is a peaceful and beautiful place to sit and relax, with the only noise being the birds. The sangar also has brilliant facilities that we enjoyed such as the fire.

Ron and Liz were a fantastic host and couldn't fault them in any way. They are lovely, kind and good hearted people. They provided alot of useful information regarding the area and places to visit, they also couldn't have been more attentive, if you have any questions they would reply promptly with an answer and you could ask them anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you Sarah. You are too gracious ! Just delighted that you had such a perfect trip for your special occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay in a homely house in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Enjoyed a great short break with the kids at The Sangar in the Cairngorms. The house was very homely and had all the facilities we needed. Ron was also a great host and provided lots of info to help us get the most out of the trip. Stunning scenery in the locality and fab walks out the back door. Close by lake side restaurant was a hit. Enjoyed day excursions to the Highland Wildlife Park and up the mountain on the tram. Lots of walking and cycling in the area too. Very enjoyable holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
It was a long way to come from Somerset Ed so I was delighted you and the family had such a good time. I realise many folk can't get away for more than 2 - 3 days but I always recommend 3 - 4 minimum as there is so much to do and see in the area. Many thanks for your helpful review. You'll be welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ M
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Quality Break”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Top notch accommodation in a secluded, picturesque location. Suitable for family as large enough to accommodate and close enough to all the fun stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
So glad you all had a great time Russ. The red squirrels will welcome you and your family back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roxtar01
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect time at the Sangar”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a perfect stay at the Sanger April 12-15. There were six of us with two kids ages 2 and 4. The house was in the most beautiful location and the blooming heather in the yard was such an inviting welcome. Everything in the house was perfect. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook breakfasts and dinners there. The dishwasher and washing machine seemed brand new! The beds were very comfortable and the electric blankets were a nice luxury! We loved the bathtub and the shower was wonderful! Ron was very very helpful with anything we needed on our vacation. He made sure we knew how to work the heat and checked in to see if we needed anything. He gave us a detailed route to walk and experience the most beautiful scenery. He was also very helpful with directions wherever we needed to go. He even put bird feeders right outside the dining room window. While eating breakfast we(especially the kids) had so much fun watching the birds and squirrels! We found a wonderful restaurant at the Boathouse on Loch Inch with a fun park for our kids to play. We could have spent a few weeks in the area there is so much to do. We did have a car but the public transport and cabs are very easy in this area too. One day family took the car for the day and we were able to ride the funicular railway easily using public transportation. If you are traveling to the area the Sanger is a perfect home base. We were thankful to feel at home while on vacation! Thank you Ron!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Your enthsiasm is infectious Angie! So glad that you & the family enjoyed the "simple" (and safe) life of/in the Scottish Highlands. Haste ye back. Ron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquikin...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We had an amazing holiday at The Sangar the house is very spacious, immaculately clean and really everything we could have asked for, kitchen has every gadget you could want, three bedroom areas with extremely comfy beds .large living area with a open fire,safe garden for the children to play in and explore it was wonderful to see all the wildlife in the garden including squirrels. A perfect place and will most certainly be back. Many thanks Ron for all your help and advice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Glad it worked for you and your family so well. Ron.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan W
1 review
“3 day stay in Kincraig at the Sangar”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Me and three other friends stayed at the Sangar on the 25th and 26th of February 2017. We booked the house in the hopes of getting some skiing done in Cairngorm and to visit a festival called 'Groove' in Aviemore. We managed to get some really good skiing and snowboarding in before the festival. The house was immaculate on arrival and it had everything that we needed and more. Ron, the house owner, was very helpful throughout our visit. Considering we only stayed 2 nights we found the house very homely and comfortable.

The house is situated near the river Spey with great walks and amazing views at the door step (we saw a red squirrel outside on the bird feeder a number of times).

I would definitely recommend the Sangar to any of my friends and anyone who is thinking of staying in the general area.

Duncan

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Thanks Duncan. We don't encourage 2 nights, especially in the winter when the weather can be so unpredictable. Bu you made the most of it & were excellent guests as well. My faith in students continues... Thanks again & cheers. Ron.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing