We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Sangar is a place that I would go to again...”
other travellers have booked this property
After the Festival, c.2 hrs from Edinburgh & Glasgow, enjoy the peace of The Cairngorm National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
After the Festival, c.2 hrs from Edinburgh & Glasgow, enjoy the peace of The Cairngorm National Park
Large private ¾ acre woodland garden with off-road parking for several cars. Very comfortable, traditional living room with modern amenities including...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
After the Festival, c.2 hrs from Edinburgh & Glasgow, enjoy the peace of The Cairngorm National Park
Large private ¾ acre woodland garden with off-road parking for several cars.
Very comfortable, traditional living room with modern amenities including...
... satellite TV, BlueRay Player, DVDs, Free WiFi. Real log fire + much more...
Superb kitchen with fridge/freezer, Miele dishwasher, washing machine; microwave, coffee machine etc
Superb kitchen with fridge/freezer, Miele dishwasher, washing machine; microwave, coffee machine etc
Bedroom 1 with King-sized bed, duvet + 'all-night' electric blankets. Good wardrobe + drawer space.
Bedroom 2 has two single beds with duvets + electric blankets. Good wardrobe + drawer space.
Snug/bedroom 3 (double sofa bed & baby cot, by prior arrangement only). Great games or quiet room!
Snug with sofa bed made up for use as a third bedroom.
Snug workstation. When you must!
USB charging points now in all rooms.
Genuine retro-bathroom with bath + good shower!
Spacious BBQ area. Large ¾ acre woodland garden with good privacy & great outdoor facilities.
View from the sheltered front sunporch. Great for a drink or snooze!
Pheasants frequently inhabit our garden as do a wide variety of wildlife. Enjoy from inside house!
The red squirrels are a delight to watch...
... these pics from the comfort of the sitting room, April 2017.
One of our red squirrels pauses for thought in the rear patio area.
The bird feeders attract a wide variety of birds. This is a Great Spotted (female) Woodpecker.
Local  Ospreys nearby on Loch Insh. You can hear them from The Sangar in season.
Winter view from front garden to Loch Insh.
Braeriach, the 3rd highest mountain in Britain. Pic taken from the front garden, May 2017.
Highland Wildlife Park. Less than 5 minutes from The Sangar, A great day out for young and old.
Victoria. Gave birth 03/18 to a beautiful cub, the UK's 1st in 25 yrs. See them at the Wildlife Park
In a quiet cul-de-sac in 'Millionaires' Row'. Exclusive setting and great facilities.
Loch Alvie: Five minutes from The Sangar. All photos Copyright © 2016 - 2017 Ron Lander
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The Sangar is a place that I would go to again and again.”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

It is a big house, very roomy and comfortable and well maintained, almost like a new house. The house is located in a residential neighborhood, very quiet. For those looking for a fully functioning kitchen, this is perfect- a fully equipped kitchen with every thing one requires to make a full homemade meal. I say this because many on airbnb state there is a full kitchen but will have only bare necessities which are inconvenient. Ron is a fantastic host, so very helpful in every way. First he sent us very detailed instructions about the check-in and check-out process. He was very flexible and accommodative about the times for both. Then he helped us with trip planning, planning meals, sightseeing etc. He called on us every day to make sure we are comfortable in his home. He takes great pride in sharing the very home that his family also uses for their own vacations. This was simply a great place to rent and spend a few days relaxing and sightseeing. And to top it all Ron went out of his way to send us some fresh smoked Scottish salmon. Could not ask for anything more. It was an outstanding experience, way beyond what we expected.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
It was a pleasure hosting you. Your very positive attitude following a fairly serious accident the day before you arrived at The Sangar could have ruined your vacation. Somehow you managed to overcome this and I thought that alone deserved a wee treat! It's a long way from Cupertino to Kincraig but I do hope we'll see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal Cairngorms base for family holiday.”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Over the years, we have stayed in Kincraig several times, but this was our first time at the Sangar. We found the Sangar to be light, bright and comfortable. The cottage is clean, well equipped and well maintained. Within a short drive to either Aviemore or Kingussie, its location in the peaceful village of Kincraig makes this holiday home an ideal base for a successful highland holiday.

Highlights of our trip were the Highland Wildlife Park (a must if you are in the area - less than 10 mins away from Sangar), Tree Zone on the outskirts of Aviemore, hiking on the Badenoch Way and on Cairngorm Mountain, and visits to Lochindorb, Insh Marshes, Loch Garten and Ruthven Barracks.

On this trip, we also decided to eat out at a few places that we had not tried in the past. We found the Italian La Taverna to be very good, but the find of the trip was having breakfast at the Mountain Cafe in Aviemore. Quite simply, it provided one of the (possibly the) best breakfasts we have ever had, and it was an easy decision to return a couple of days later.

One of the big attractions to visiting this area is the wonderful local wildlife, of which we experienced much while we were out and about, but you don't have to travel out of the Sangar's front room to do this. One of the big hits for us was the bird feeders at the house. We were entertained all week by a steady stream of Siskin, Greenfinch, Coal Tits, Blue Tits, Great Tits, Chaffinch, Dunnock and Great Spotted Woodpecker, with the stars of the show being the irrepressible Red Squirrels.

One of the most comforting things about a stay at the Sangar is the obvious importance to the owners that you have a good, trouble free stay at their house. This is evident from the care that they take in communicating instruction and useful advice for your stay, and the support that they offer should a problem occur.

We would have no hesitation in using the Sangar again if holidaying in the Cairngorms area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Most informative Paul with new information and ideas which will undoubtedly assist other travellers. Thanks for being such excellent guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you Alex. So glad you all had a great time. You'll be most welcome to come back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ToraTom
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in wildlife location...”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at Ron's place for three nights with my elderly parents, my partner sand myself are Scottish but my parents live in Germany, they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Ron provided great communication before and during the stay, was very helpful and tips for local walks to Loch Insh were very helpful. Local wildlife is amazing, we saw numerous birds and red squirrels right in front of the lounge window. We recommend the (free, with a worthwhile donation), Highland Folk Museum, just south of Kincraig. The weather was mixed so couldn't use the outdoor space much but it looks fab with BBQ etc. We made a fire with real wood logs each night which added to the ambience. I had a slight mishap on the morning of departure and Ron was very gracious about it. We'll check to see whether we can be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thomas. Delighted that you all had such a great time despite the weather. Your reported "mishap" was no big deal & has already been rectified at little cost so you won't even be charged. Of course you will be most welcome to return any time. Thanks for being such honest and good guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki F
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation family friendly”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

By the time we reached Sanger House, we had walked all over London and Edinburgh with four young kids and we were ready to just relax. The Sanger House fit the bill perfectly. The pictures above are well done, but it's even better in person. The property itself is gorgeous, I could go on and on how beautiful it is. The house is perfect and immaculate. Our four kids(7-13) enjoyed running around outside, there is even a little hill in the backyard with paths!! There is so much greenery, you can't even see your neighbors! You would have to stand on the hill to see one house. When you walk in the house, there is a proper foyer with ample space for, keys, shoes and jackets. The living room is very comfortable and the sofas look new. The dining area easily seats six, but you could squeeze in eight for a cozy dinner:) the kitchen looks new. It's a fabulous kitchen to cook in. It's fully stocked with enough plates, silverware, glasses, even baking needs! They have both stainless pots and pans and non stick. The best part about the kitchen is the huge window over the sink. It made washing dishes on vacation absolutely pleasurable. The dishwasher is a Miele and now I want one just like it:) The three bedrooms are spacious and wonderful. The shower/bathtub is American style. There is a DVD blue ray player, books, toys for the kids, and a table top fooseball game. My kids had a blast!
On the way to the house we stopped at the House of Bruar for groceries. We were able to pick up meats and a few veggies, and surprisingly gluten free pasta and gluten free, dairy free cookies! We were able to get more food at the Tessco and the Co-operative grocery close by, they were much cheaper too. In fact, the Tessco had a section for gluten free, dairy free items! One day, we went for a hike in the park, it was so beautiful, I highly recommend it. My husband and kids walked down to the lake, that is very close, they even ate breakfast at the cafe.
We can't wait to go back and explore more of the highlands, but really, I slept so peacefully... I would go back just to get a refreshing sleep:) I really do hope we will be able to go back, my oldest is ready to pack up and move there:)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Many thanks for this Nikki. We were so pleased to learn how much you and the family enjoyed everything. It's a very long way from Missouri to the Scottish Highlands but we'd love to welcome you back. We promise you even more than a good sleep! Best, Ron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exjug
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Like having your own place in Cairngorms National Park”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had the opportunity to spend 3 nights at the Sangar. After spending a week in hotels in London and Edinburgh it was so nice to spend a few nights in a real home. You should have no reservations about booking Ron's place. First off the home is beautiful and very clean. It was like we were staying at a friends place. The property is amazing and feels very private. The home has everything you could want and my wife loved the kitchen. The view from the kitchen widow is pretty amazing. Everything worked perfectly and was amply supplied. A very good location with so much to do within a short drive or even walking distance. Thanks Ron. We very well might be back!

June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
My pleasure. We do all we can to maintain the highest of standards & keep responding to suggestions from guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The sangar is a lovey place to stay, it is located in a quiet cul de sac, and offers fantastic views of the mountains. The garden is a peaceful and beautiful place to sit and relax, with the only noise being the birds. The sangar also has brilliant facilities that we enjoyed such as the fire.

Ron and Liz were a fantastic host and couldn't fault them in any way. They are lovely, kind and good hearted people. They provided alot of useful information regarding the area and places to visit, they also couldn't have been more attentive, if you have any questions they would reply promptly with an answer and you could ask them anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
Thank you Sarah. You are too gracious ! Just delighted that you had such a perfect trip for your special occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing