We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The secret garden of holiday locations!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
joeandjay...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The secret garden of holiday locations!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I booked the property for my partners birthday and was hoping to just relax, and what we found on arrival was just stunning...The natural surrounding backdrops where something from picture postcards. Visiting the cairngorms and Ben Nevis was a first for us and just a simple drive away, the local food at the Bridge pub was delightful as a treat. Came back home to never think of going abroad again....now thats something we didn't expect! along with washing up for the first time whilst looking at the cairngorms....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views from the house
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamOxford
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, wild life on the doorstep, hot tub fab”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a house with a great layout and windows all around to enjoy the light and wildlife. The owners supply bird food and so we were treated to woodpeckers, red squirrels and a badger on the last night. The house has WiFi and the living/kitchen areas are large. There are loads of books etc in the house and it has a lived in feel.

We like a house with some character and this house had lots but I did feel it could do with a bit more of a tidy up (random bits of stuff in most draws/cupboards/surfaces) - The main areas were clean enough (kitchen/bathrooms etc) but some areas clearly gathered a bit more dust due to the 'stuff'. would still recommend it. Some great things to do nearby for the active and the less active and nice places to eat in Aviemore.
-

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the wildlife on the doorstep
Liked least: a bit unkempt, there seemed to be random stuff in the draws and cupboards
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 1 March 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chopsseni...
London UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quirky and cosy”
Reviewed 17 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

This was a relatively last minute booking and represented good value for money.
Katchana is in a beautfiul setting; close to centres of activity like Aviemore (approx 9 miles) but not too far (in Scottish terms) from Inverness and tourist 'attractions' like Loch Ness, Glencoe, Ben Nevis etc.
The property itself felt extremely spacious for 2 adults and a 3 year old and I would imagine that an extra child / adult would still give a feeling of space and not the sense that one is living on top of each other. That said, the bedrooms are quite small.
However, the living areas (kitchen diner, dining area and living room) are, in contrast, vast and perfect for relaxing. I agree with one of the other reviews - there are a few areas in the property that aren't as inviting (the 'enclosed balcony' at the end of the lounge / utility space) - this is mainly because they look like they could do with a bit of a tidy up and appear to be an 'afterthought'.
Katchana is situated in an breathtakingly beautiful location with oodles of land / view points around it (particularly if you interested in wildlife). It could be made an extremely luxurious property if a little more attention was paid to small details. (eg. replacing light bulbs, better ambient lighting, few more kitchen utensils, better tourist information booklets etc). They're only little things and on balance we absolutely loved our time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning location
Liked least: poor lighting in some areas
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Reviewed 21 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
halls head western australia
Reviewed 17 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$145
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing