We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dreams do come true.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Dreams do come true.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

This is the second time at Katchana and we are booking for 2019. It really is a little gem of a property. We had a badger on the window sill, a pheasant tapping on the window, sheep drinking from the dogs bowl and deer on the driveway just to name a few of the wildlife. The views are perfect. Plenty to do and see. The property feels like home and the only time there are long faces are when its time to leave. another fabulous holiday.Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinJack...
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect Xmas retreat”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This was our second Xmas at Katchana and again it was simply fantastic.

Gavin had excellent contact with us and provided some lovely festive touches before we arrived.

The place was spotless when we arrived and everything is there for you to help cook a perfect meal.

The log fire is fantastic and our Dalmatian Poppy spent a lot of time here while we sat in the hot tub enjoying the stars.

The snow came on the 27th and it was the icing on the cake. A fantastic Xmas adventure again.

Visit Ruthven Barracks in Kingussie for some beautiful views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rita h
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super holiday”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Another super holiday here at katchana,kincraig,everything you would want staying in a holiday home.wildlife amazing from the front door and you can walk through forest to restaurant,pub in about 30mins. If you like to walk ,climb ,canoe any water sports this is the place to come.also an added bonus of a hot tub to enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolin31...
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday ”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

After 3 years staying near Braemar we decided to try a different part of the Cairngorms and so glad we did and found Katchana. It is a very special lodge from the lounge with its panoramic views, the hot tub, to its location. We really didn't want to leave..... It is set up a long drive overlooking loch Insch with a couple of other houses nearby but they were empty during our stay so we had the hamlet of Farr to ourselves.

The wildlife round the lodge was amazing - we were visited by the badgers every night which just made our holiday, roe deer during the day, red deer in the field below in the evening and too many birds to mention throughout the day. Although red squirrels don't visit the property, just a 5 minute walk away is Inshriach forest and we saw some there as well as enjoyed lots of beautiful walks with our dog.

The location is great for visiting lots of different places in the Cairngorms with the bonus of coming back to complete peace and tranquility.

We are now planning a return visit next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BGarrulus
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful house and setting”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The house is architecturally very interesting. It occupies an elevated position. The main entrance, garage and parking lie below the level of the main part of the house which contains all the public rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms. Two further doors open from the main part of the house onto the surrounding patios including the hot tub area. The public rooms surround a central chimney. The views on all sides are marvelous with Loch Insh to the west and Glen Feshie to the east. There is a large log-burning stove rather than an open fire which was easy to use. The kitchen facilities were good as were the bathrooms and showers. Two other nearby properties were not occupied and we had the large surrounding woodlands and meadows down to the loch-side to ourselves. It was easy to walk to the nearby Uath Lochans - one of our favourite places. Our Hungarian Vizsla was delighted with it all!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alistair...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recharge your batteries”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I don't think I need to show the inside of this wonderful property as the pictures of the property on various websites are perfect as they are. What I can say is that all the pictures of the animals I took are from the front window of the property. The badger was even sat on the window sill. The property is pretty special, the location is perfect, Gavin (the owner) was very helpful and a really nice person. We have had a great time. There is no wonder this place is booked up until September (other than the odd week). All the locals are just so pleasant and are happy to chat away. For anyone who is thinking of booking a holiday here I would just say BOOK IT NOW!!!! You won't be disappointed. Thanks for everything Gavin. All the little touches (books, DVD's, SKY etc etc etc) go a long way. Thanks again. From the Cattanach clan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diadav
greater manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing picturesque location”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

just back from a wonderful idyllic holiday location the cottage has everything you need inside fully equipped even to point of seeds and nuts to feed badgers and birds amazing sights while sat eating at table
owner gavin very friendly and i approachable nothing a problem
we saw deer badgers red squirrel pheasant and even caught site of stag in distance wildlife in abundance in this dream cottage hideaway
cottage is clean throughout very spacious home away from home
I would suggest everybody needs to spend some time there just to unwind
thanks gavin our holiday will be hard to beat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wildlife
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;