We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NeenBJ
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 14 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

This is a great place to stay for a relaxed holiday in a beautiful place. The house is well equipped, very comfortable, warm and cosy and in a truly fabulous location. It was absolutely spotless when we arrived and it was so refreshing to stay somewhere that doesn't have pages and pages of instructions about what you should and shouldn't do everywhere. We found the owner to be very relaxed and welcoming, anxious to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves and flexible about our leaving time, in spite of there being another set of guests due the day we left; so nice not to have to race to leave by 10am.

If you are looking for designer level accommodation with perfect matching crockery, boutique style etc then this may not be the place for you, but if you want to feel at home, relaxed, comfortable with everything you need and able to just enjoy your self then we found this to be the perfect accommodation. Ours was an all adult group, with wide age range, but all enjoyed it just the same. The house would also suit a family just as well, so long as you don't mind an unfenced quite rugged garden. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F
Harlow, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 3 January 2011 for a stay in August 2010

This is our second stay at Katchana and we have already booked for 2011. If you like to be in the countryside then this is the place. Although only a couple of miles from Kincraig so not that far from a shop or a pub if thats what you wish for. If you like wildlife then Katchana is most definitely the location in. We had the family of Osprey flying over us for about an hour. The buzzard sat in the tree near the house, visits by red squirrels, a weasel, numerous amounts of birds. But the highlight was the visit by the Pine Marten and we were lucky to see it three times. We even had the Roe Deer on the drive as well as a hare. The house inside is well equipped and has wonderful views from every window. The living room is so comfortable. Visit in June to experience the long nights and the fact that it doesn't get dark until early hours and then only dark for a short while. Loch Insh watersports is nearby as well as plenty of places for people to walk on trails. A visit to Loch Insh marshes for the RSPB reserve is worth going to, again in June it stays light and we visited the hide at 9pm to see Curlew and their young. You do need a car to stay at Katchana but its a great base for any type of holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Reviewed 15 September 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
st helens
Reviewed 15 September 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tayside
Reviewed 20 December 2009 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The setting and the peace
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;