We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 4 Wester Delfour in Glorious June”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kincraig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alvie & Dalraddy Estates
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in No 4 from 2nd to 10th June 2013. The cottage is comfortable and even better equipped than the website promised as there was also a dishwasher. In fact the kitchen had everything, soap powder, dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid, cloths etc etc. Oh and a cafetiere too. Even though the weather was glorious, we were grateful for the log burner and logs supplied as the evenings could get a bit chilly.
The beds are comfortable and the views from every room are to die for. The bathroom is small but has everything you need. Bath with shower over.
We were especially grateful to Alvie staff who made room in the shed alongside the house for my husband's motorcycle. We went to Alvie so that he could take part in the Two Day Classic Motorcycle Trial which was a superb event.
As we like exploring, we didn't take part in other activities on the estate but there are plenty to choose from, horse riding (stables 100yds from cottage), quad bikes, zip lines, fishing to name just a few. We liked being able to specify the dates we wanted to stay and not being tied to a particular changeover day. This was really helpful for us. We had a lovely few days going on the Cairngorm Mountain Railway, enjoying coffee whilst watching red squirrels and many species of birds at The Potting Shed and relaxing on the beach at nearby Loch Morlich. I am a convert to Trade Winds Beer from the Cairngorm Brewery too. All in all a lovely holiday and would love to go back with children and grandchildren as there is so much for the whole family to do both on the Estate and in the vicinity. Thank you Alvie.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

A group of 8 plus 2 dogs stayed in the Top Flat in May for a week's hill walking. The accommodation was ideal for us because it comprises 5 rooms with twin beds and as a group of friends a lot of accommodation is ruled out because it's mainly double rooms. The flat is comfortable and the living room and dining room are spacious so seating 8 was no problem (and would have been fine with 10 people). The kitchen is slightly small but we didn't find it a problem and there's plenty of crockery/cutlery/cooking utensils etc. The bathrooms don't have showers but the plentiful hot water and large baths made up for it (especially after a day's walking). The views from the flat are stunning and to top it all, an Osprey visited the garden morning and evening - it doesn't get much better than that!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Had a great stay at No.4, the house was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The views from the house are stunning, and whilst the weather is uncontrollable, the varieties of light and skyscapes create an ever moving panorama that always draws us back. Ample fuel for the solid fuel fire was also welcomed, and our daughter made good use of the riding stables just a couple of hundred yards away and the walks from the house are superb. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Alvie Estate is, in the heart of Highlands, a place of absolute peace and well-being. All is perfectly managed to make your stay the best you can dream. The staff is very kind and reactive, chalets and cottages well fitted to be cosy and quiet.
We know Alvie Estate since years and have never been disappointed: every stay there is a great moment of pleasure, to enjoy the local activities. We can hardly imagine a better place to taste Scotland... a wee dram in the hand!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Accipiter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Since 1990, we love to go every year at Alvie for a 6-week stay with good friends. During all those years, Park Cottage became my second home, with a good comfort and full equipment, very nice and helpful people always prepared to help us with promptitude if we may have a special need. The Alvie location is superb and the view from the hills extrordinary scenic. When climbing up to the hills with my dog and falcons, I have the feeling to reach the paradise. My paradise.

Gilles N. (France)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gilles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We loved our stay here at the Alvie estate so much that we extended our holiday. The cottage, Wester Delfour 4, was well equipped for self catering, and beautiful for relaxing in the heart of the Cairngorms. The cottage was perfect for relaxing in front of the log fire and enjoying the view of the mountains over the fields after a day of strenuous hiking and activities. The place has a definate homely feel while also feeling clean and new.

We also tried out some of the activities on the estate; such as the horse riding and sampling their fresh venison. They were fantastic. The location is secluded enough to feel like you're getting away from it all, but still in short driving distance to bigger towns such as Aviemore and the whisky distilleries at Pitlochery.

Includes all modern conveniences and comforts as well as wifi and a landline phone.
We would love to return and would definately recommend the estate to others.

Room Tip: Wester Dalfour 4 is a great cottage to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Have stayed in Wester Delfour 4 cottage several times now over past few years, and have always enjoyed our stay. Cottage is clean and warm, and the kitchen well equipped. The wood/coal burning stove radiates plenty heat, and gives a cosy ambience on a cold night. Wi fi works well, as does TV. Bathroom is small but functional, shower water pressure could be better, but is adequate. My family (wife and two adult children) love our short vacations there, and will certainly return at some point.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alvie & Dalraddy Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvie & Dalraddy Estates

Address: Kincraig PH21 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kincraig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kincraig
Price Range: £100 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded, beautiful Highland Estate, within the Cairngorm National Park, with self catered properties set amongst farm fields & woodlands, sleeping from 4-10. Activities include a Zip Park, Horse Riding, Clay Pigeon Shooting, Archery, Bushcraft Survival Techniques & Segway Treks. Alvie can provide peace & quiet or an unrivalled opportunity for recreation & entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alvie & Dalraddy Estates Kincraig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing