We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spice Island Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$545
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$363
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Hotel(Grand Anse)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laluna Hotel(Grand Anse)
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$432
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coyaba Beach Resort(Grand Anse)
US$287
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaBreeze Hotel(Grand Anse)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
809
66
20
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
66
20
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea grapesir roystonseagrape suitespice islandmini barpool suitesmolton brown toiletriesryan hopkinalmond suiteprivate pooljacuzzi bathcocktail partycold towelskids clubmanagement teampatio doorsfine dining
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My mom and dad had visited this hotel on 3 occasions so when my mom passed away last June we thought it would be nice to scatter her ashes in Grenada as she loved it there. This was my 1st time when we visited with my dad and sister. You can see from previous reviews that this is a 5 star hotel in every way. We were warmly welcomed by Sir Royston and his management. All staff are a credit to Sir Royston. The food is fantastic the only problem is choosing what to eat. We were fortunate to be invited to Sir Royston's for his weekly cocktail party. He and his family don't have to do this but they do and again you are warmly welcomed. There is nothing I can complain about. The only thing I would say was that when we went there were a lot of elderly people there and we did feel that we were on a saga holiday but that's not the hotels fault. You will find that people go back year after year, that's because the hotel and it's staff have done an excellent job, they know their clientele. Grenada is a beautiful island so if you go please see the island

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Becs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We agonised over this hotel or the Calabash - so glad we chose this one.
One reason we hesitated was the food compared to Gary Rhodes - absolutely no need to worry on that score, the chef Mr Church provided a varied and really excellent menu in the two restaurants (bar for lunch, restaurant for dinner).
The location is great - super beach, good pool, scuba available next door, a ten minute ten pound taxi ride into St George's, and supermarket and shops four minutes walk away.
The rooms were large and the beds divine (sort of firm and soft at the same time - how do they do that?!)
The staff are the greatest asset - nothing is too much trouble and always a smile and a "how are you today?" The owner, Sir Royston and his wife were often about and equally amiable.
As a wine lover I could have done with a better choice of included house wines (two red, two white, one rose) and the wine list to buy had several good ones on it, no more expensive, that could been made available as house wines, but really good wines were listed too, if you wanted to splash out.
The bar was well stocked and the welcome drink, a "Classic" made from sparkling wine and sorrel concentrate, a bit like a kir royale, became a regular tipple for many guests.
Unlike some all-in hotels, there is no 24 hour snack bar but believe me, you won't go hungry!

Overall, the hotel is a delight and we would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Ocean Front best but Garden Rooms good and very little noise from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I read the reviews on this hotel before bopoking and thought that the people who found the food poor must have odd palates. We travel all over the world and have eaten a wide varient of cuisines and rarely have we been disappointed. Oh boy was I wrong.

The list of ingredients for each dish on the menu sounds appetising but over cooked vegetables, raw fish and meat (I like my steak rare, even bloody but not my chicken or my shellfish) was a killer night after night. The most annoying thing was breakfast and luch were both good - so the kitchen can work well but they try too hard for dinner and fail spectacularly on a regular basis. For the first time ever in an all inclusive hotel we inspected the menu before dinner and returned to our room to order room service on three occasions as we simply could not face another drawn out, complicated yet unappetising meal.

The lcoation was good, the diving was great - and the dive centre could not have been more helpful. The service was very good indeed. Normally these factors would make me very happy but oddly they made me depressed as I would not be able to go back again due to the appalling food.

Room Tip: sea grape suites are a must - and wonderful
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our second stay at this resort - and probably even better than last time, is that's possible! The whole experience here is the best. The warm welcome when you arrive, the spacious rooms, the food, the beach - the whole enchilada! Our room was right on the beach, where there's plenty of shade and the sand doesn't get hot in the day, and so is comfortable to walk on without shoes. The food was excellent, and better than last year. But the whole team at the resort are so good, and well trained - EVERY member - so full credit to Sir Royston, Brian and all of the management. Water sports good too. Not cheap, but more than worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The title says it all, really- we had a blissful week at the Spice Island on Grenada this month and, if pennies permit, will definitely be returning there. That's the only bad news - it isn't cheap, but as value for money you won't better it. All Inclusive there really means all inclusive, unlike some places we have stayed, and the food and drink are topnotch - pina colada is out of this world and only tastes at its best in surroundings like these! Even the mini-bar was included and restocked on a daily basis.

The rooms at the Spice Island are varied in price and facilities, but we went for what was among the cheapest, the Ocean View Oleander, which was at the back of the hotel, but facing forward through the garden, and it was extremely comfortable (a bed so luxurious it was worth crossing the Atlantic just to sleep in it), immaculate and well-appointed. Little things like top quality toiletries and towels really contribute to the general ambience of luxury and relaxation. The shower was excellent, too - none of those half blocked, needly roses here - and there was plenty of space for clothes and belongings. We had room 66, which was at the far end of Grand Anse beach and consequently nice and quiet, both in the room and on the heavenly beach, which was two minutes' walk away.

The beach is a public one, but although vendors wander over maybe three or four times a day, they are courteous and never pushy. Nicholson the beach steward comes over, too, with cold towels and the offer of drinks from the bar, so you are never left without refreshment! Swimming is great - soft sand underfoot and you can snorkel to some small areas that have more fish life, though if you want the best fish-viewing, take a boat to the underwater sculpture park, where there are plenty, including, on the day we went, a manta ray.

Speaking of trips, we found the best thing to do was to consult the hotel. They know all the best people and places of interest and arranged a day for us with a wonderful taxi driver who knew every inch of the island and gave us a fascinating trip round. Don't miss the rain forest - you might see the Mona monkeys as we did - and take the short forest trail at the Annandale falls: lots of lovely lizards! If you can choose a day when there isn't a cruise ship in the harbour, you will find everywhere a great deal quieter.

Above all, and everyone says this, the staff at the Spice Island are the best you ever could wish to meet. Every one of them is cheerful, helpful, friendly and they go out of their way to do everything to make your holiday perfect. Ours was!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Trulytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews