We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alderstead Heath”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redhill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alderstead Heath Club Site
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What's good? Really well laid out complex; with good well maintained toilet/ shower block! Ideally situated for Alderstead Heath which is right next door; with it's network of concrete paths; built be the Canadian forces in second world war to carry food to storage area's! There is a Monday to Friday bus service which come to the camp site entrance and travels to Redhill or Caterham! Sorry to say that there is no service on the weekend! What's not so good? Not the best reception; and you are guided to your pitch by use of a map rather than taken! Poor mobile phone reception! Pity there was no set time for cleaning toilet block; so you might be directed to toilet block at other end of site! Not so great when you have walked up to main toilet block and found it closed!
One bit of advice is to avoid using sat nav directions to site; which will take you up single track Dean Lane! Best follow site advice or program Alderstead Lane into sat nav which will take you up Shepherds Hill and you will reach Dean Lane at top end! Still a great site for a four or five day stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This site is clean, tidy, friendly and set in peaceful surroundings that's why we keep going back. It is handy for day trips in to London with the closest train station (Couldson) being only 10 minute drive from the site, the train journey then only takes half an hour. There is a lovely walk through the woods and across the fields to The Fox Inn, although the pub doesn't allow dogs inside the walk there and back is great for dogs with only one road to cross, therefore you dog can run to its hearts content, there is a lovely beer garden at the pub to sit in. The shower blocks on site are fantastic and kept very clean. The site staff are helpful and friendly also. I would highly recommend this site to anyone.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this site and have only good comments to say for it. The wardens were very helpful and friendly and the site itself is very well kept and peaceful. We chose this site as it was the nearest to Central London outside the E Zone area. The hardstanding pitches are very spacious and well away from each other. The power showers were excellent and no need to keep pressing the on button every 2 seconds as they were constant. We were a bit concerned on finding the bus from the site does not run at weekends but you can hire a taxi very cheaply from nearby Coulsdon South which will take you to the station, etc. We would definitely return to this site.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JL1295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I recently stayed at this site and found the whole experience very good.

The site is in a quiet location, and has that rural feel to it,

The toilet block is very clean, and has a modern feel.

The only downside to the experience is that the mobile phone signal (Orange/EE) is poor, and if you have a "3" dongle for the internet you get no signal at all. The caravan club offer a internet link and the signal was excellent where i was staying on the site. That is at no detrament to the caravan club, just an obersation.

Make sure on visiting the site with the caravan attached that you don`t follow Sat Nav, but the instructions on the website, as otherwise it may take you up a single track road that isn`t suitable when towing.

Would I reccomend to other's? Yes, most definatly

Would I come again? Yes

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul_osborne46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We have just returned from a few days stopover at this site, on our way back from Norwich. We chose this site because of its locality near to RHS Wisley.
The site is well run, with very large hardstanding pitches. There are two large toilet/shower blocks which are kept immaculate. The showers are power-showers and not the sort you need to keep leaning on to keep them going. There is a wonderful play area for younger visitors and friendly staff are always on hand if you need them.
Access to the site is through an electronic barrier which can only be operated by a keycard, so no-one other than registered clients can access the site. The barrier is locked at 23.00, but there is parking outside the reception if you get back late.
Late arrivals are also catered for. There is a large area outside the barrier marked out for late arrivals. There is mains electricity there, but you will need to walk into the camp for water.
This would appear to be a very popular site, open all year round, so booking is essential.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0lympus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is our local site which my husband and I come here on weekend get always. We love it here it's always clean, with nice big pitches. Staff are always friendly. The shower block is kept nice and clean and the power showers are fabulous. It is ideally located, and staff are at hand to give advise on finding your way to London as there are a lot of tourists from Europe who wish to travel around. We have always found this site a peaceful and relaxing place. We love it!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank sandrsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaddyddaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redhill
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
2.4 mi away
Coulsdon Manor & Golf Club
3.3 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
3.7 mi away
Best Western Reigate Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Reigate
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderstead Heath Club Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderstead Heath Club Site

Address: Dean Lane | Merstham, Redhill RH1 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Redhill
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Redhill
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With convenient access from the M25 motorway, Alderstead Heath Caravan Club Sites has a picturesque setting that you and your family will find ideal for a relaxing and peaceful holiday break. The site is surrounded by rolling wooded countryside and situated near the Pilgrims Way, there are many lovely walking trails - in particular across the North Downs - to explore at your leisure. The site is perfect for dog walkers; you can pick up details about the Downlands Circular Walk from the site entrance. The Fox pub can also be reached by foot and is approximately 40 minutes away. The caravan site offers the best of both worlds - the proximity of its location to London - makes this a great choice as a base to explore the non-stop activities of the capital. Alderstead Heath welcomes tent campers and has tent pitches available to both members and non-members. Pitches can be booked online or by phone ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderstead Heath Club Site Redhill, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing