We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
cokezero100

A quiet family getaway

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jun 2012
I just spent three(3) nights at this resort with my family. My objective of this trip is to get away from busy city living to a peaceful, quiet and relax environment. Given that June is the low season and with frequent showers, this is indeed a very nice destination. The general environment, garden landscape and fairly calm beach are all very well maintained. With the frequent but short rain showers, the quiet resort is even more peaceful and a touch cooler. My three nights get away come with a price tag excluding airfare of just under 80,000 baht which includes accommodation, food and spa treatment for my wife and myself. I stayed in villa 10 with enclosed bathroom, not much of insect issues with me and my family.

The following areas are in need of improvement:
1. Electrical wiring and air con are quite old. Too many buttons all over for different lightings and is a bit frustrating to figure out which button for which light. Air con is rather noisy when we try to increase the fan speed.

2. The food selection is below satisfactory for a resort of this stature. I understand this is low season and the resort cannot afford to stock many variety for limited number of guest. I suggest for F&B department to think creativity for low season guest because Thailand has so many delicious food selection. Example, get the guest during low season to pre-order their food in advance or have a Friday night festiva at the multi purpose room invite outside vendors of food and fruits to sell.

3. There should be more stone tablets on the ground for the walkway into the villa. Having to walk on sand will result in bringing some of the sand into the villa and making that messy.

4. I encountered some communication problem over the phone with the customer service operator. I asked for fried mixed veggie but fried spring rolls were delivered. I asked for evening turn down service and some extra drinking water but staff came with the water and went off without the turn down service. In some hotels, they perform a call back service to ensure the service is rendered to the satisfaction of the customer. Perhaps, naka island resort might want to implement this to ensure service standard.

5. I find the spa room is way too bright during the day for a really relax massage.

I am overall happy with my stay. I will return if the above imrpovements are made.
Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review
Responded 17 Aug 2012
Dear cokezero100,

Appreciate your kind sharing an experience with us, your kind comment is very important for us to improve an exceptional service according to the brand standard of Luxury Collection. We have noted the areas of improvement and we will look into them accordingly.

With Kind Regards,

Erich Friedl
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£339
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £339
  • Hotels.com
    £339
  • Trip.com
    £340
0.0 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Pool
£140
  • Expedia.com
    £183
  • Vio.com
    £128
  • Priceline
    £160
5.6 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rat Villa
£31
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £31
  • Agoda.com
    £29
4.5 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Enormous pool
£1,001
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £1,000
  • Lol.travel
    £902
  • Trip.com
    £958
5.5 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
£17
  • Priceline
    £17
  • Agoda.com
    £15
  • Expedia.com
    £17
4.7 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£20
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £20
  • Trip.com
    £18
  • Expedia.com
    £20
3.9 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
8IK88 Resort
£63
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £58
  • Agoda.com
    £55
2.4 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
£27
  • Expedia.com
    £54
  • Agoda.com
    £25
  • Priceline
    £27
2.5 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
£43
  • Expedia.com
    £116
  • Agoda.com
    £40
  • Hotels.com
    £116
5.3 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
Master Bedroom view in the "Phuket" Villas
£52
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £58
  • Vio.com
    £58
  • eDreams
    £52
5.4 miles from The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ko Nakha Yai
Reviews (1,755)
Filter reviews
1,756 results
Traveller rating
1,316
285
84
37
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,316
285
84
37
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews z bar steam room private pool six senses free ice cream tropical villa grill restaurant sea view villa private island ao po grand marina main island phang nga bay outdoor bathtub executive chef main pool ice room local village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,311 - 1,316 of 1,756 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Hey, i stayed here for 4 nights last month and am so glad I discovered this place.........Absolutely superb property, superb location and the magniifciient villa..........really loved being there .One of the biggest positives for this location is its close proximity to Phuket town and the 24/7 ferry service. It was so wonderful returning from Phuket at 1am in the night to our own oblivion. Not to forget, the huge and wonderful spa............it is one of the biggest and best I have ever been to !!!

Unfortunately, cannot say the same for the service !!! I was left wondering who gave them jobs in such a wonderful property like this !!! In the whole property, I suddenly used to feel annoyed once I reached the Concierge service area.......Mr Pol and Miss Trisha (dont remember the exact name) always talked as if they were doing so much of favor sitting there !! I can talk in breadth of their unprofessional behavior on many occassions but would leave it for now ........ but wanted to mention them still, since everything and everyone else were so perfect !!! Especially after having enjoyed Koh Yao Yai recently where the hospitality was just out of the world !!

All in all, a lovely resort !!! The only concern is the concierge which the management should look into !!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mundasachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear mundasachin,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay on Naka Island, especially your villa and the proximity of the island to the Phuket Island. We have investigated and looked further into your comments as naturally we were concerned. During your stay you requested discounts on the longtail boat service with a few different staff members from the Concierge department and they informed you that we are unable to provide discounts on this service as they are owned and operated by a third party. We have addressed this with the staff concerned in terms of their delivery of that message, which is that the hotel nor any of its staff members is able to extend discounts on services offered by third party companies. We hope you understand this and apologize for any inconvenience caused. As you enjoyed your stay we look forward to welcoming you back to the Naka Island in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This was a fantastic resort to cap off a two-week vacation. We arrived here after visiting Sydney and the Blue Mountains. What a transition from rustic to resort.

The food was actually very good - despite some others complaints. We found that there was plenty to do, but we were mostly lounging at the pool or in our private villa pool.

Booking activities was very easy and the resort allowed us to put everything on the room - including the private longboat we rented to snorkel and island hop. The spa was wonderful and massive. I could have spent a whole day there.

The only issues we had were with billing. Prior to our arrival we received three different reservation confirmations all showing a different number of in-room guests and total costs. We brought it to the hotel manager's attention and she promptly fixed it and gave us the lower of the rates.

I cannot say enough about the resort and the trip. I highly recommend it. It is likely we will end up here after our next two week venture to Australia or Asia.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmcmybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear bmcmybuddy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay on Naka Island especially the food and your villa. We look forward to welcoming you back to Naka Island in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Naka island resort for 4 nights. The experience was overall very positive. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a very quiet place to relax and enjoy the natural beauty of Phuket.

WATCH OUTS - the island is extremely lush and secluded. This means two things (1) transport to / from Phuket main island can get expensive with speed boat (2) watch out for mosquitoes in the evenings.

VALUE - This resort is relatively new and we stayed using SPG points. (So I can't speak to the value of the $ spent. But I believe the range or price per room is anywhere from $300-$600, depending on timing and villa type.)

PROPERTY - We had a beach front villa. Our villa was amazing... the view wasn't the best (can't really see beach) but the villa was huge. The villa had a huge bedroom, outside sitting area, a dipping pool, a sala by the pool, and then an additional enclose-able all purpose sala. (We didn't use the enclose-able all purpose sala because the rest of the villa kept us busy.) The villa also had a very big bathroom with one indoor shower, one outdoor shower, and an outdoor soaking tub. The villa is very private given all the lushness of greenery around it. Our entire villa was about 5,000 sq ft... which was way more space we needed.

RESTAURANT - there are two restaurants on the island and both have great food. This is important because you really don't have a lot of choices unless you want to spend the $ and go back to Phuket town for dinner... The food at the restaurants are reasonably priced too. They are not overly pricey. average of ~$15-20 per dish for entree. There is also a bar which serves all sorts of cocktails and drinks. The bar offers amazing view even though the drinks are on the pricey side. The food menu is limited in the bar, but you can order food from either restaurant, and have it delivered to the bar if you like.

EXCURSION - the resort works with outside companies to provide excursion options to visitors. We opt'ed for the Phi Phi island one day trip. It was extremely underwhelming... But since this is not a review of the excursion, but rather review of the resort, I'll leave this part out. My only recommendation for the visitors... make sure you ask around to see if anyone else recently went on the excursion you have in mind and get their feedback.

NATURAL BEAUTY - the island is full of wild life. So if you are the type that gets scared by a frog or lizard, this is NOT the place for you. I really enjoyed listening to the cicadas singing in the afternoon and an occasional frog or two hopping around. For me, that's what made this trip priceless. I would recommend the resort management continue to work on mosquito and insect control but please be environmentally friendly and responsible about the process. The island is an unique beauty and I think having a frog or two around is very charming (and they also eat the bugs.)

Room tip: Ask for villa with enclosed bathroom.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank weyst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear weyst1,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay on Naka Island especially your villa, pool and food. Rest assured we deploy a number of pest control measures which do not harm nor alter the local ecosystem. We look forward to welcoming you back to Naka Island in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were a bit reluctant to go to Phuket for the 4th time..as its become pretty crowded and commercial.This time,March 2012 we chose to go to Naka Island ,which is off the Ao Por marina .And it gave us a glimpe of what Phuket would have been like 15 years ago with 20 times the luxury quotient !!!
We were received at Phuket airport by very helpful staff and whisked away in a BMW 7..to Ao Por Marina.The car had chilled face towels and cold water bottles..which was refreshing At the Marina the hotel staff gave us cool mocktails and whisked us away in the hotel's speedboat..for the 15 minute ride to the island .It is quote unique sail past green wooded islands in the turquoise waters and then arrive at the Naka Island pier.There the staff greeted us with cool Pandaus leaf shots,had us strike the good luck gong and took us to our villa,the check in is in the villa itself which is very convinient
Ours was a Seaview Pool Villa
The villa was very nice..big glass windows,yellow stone floors,pale stone walls and thatch...each villa has a private pool with a relaxation sala set in a garden a courtyard with an outdoor shower, and a semi outdoor bathroom with a dressing area and double vanity .
The room is big..abt 750 sq ft ,with a very comfortable bed..its the heavenly bed one experiences in the Westin hotels of the same Starwood barnd The room has a sunken desk so that there is an unobstructed view of the pool and the ocean beyond ,its quite unique to sit and work on your laptop here..The total space is abt 1050 sq ft..much larger than the Banyan trees villas we had stayed in earlier,but the vibe is different..natural,rustic compared to the silk and teakwood opulance of the Banyan tree villas And of course..the Naka Island villas are right on the Phang Na Bay..one can see the tide coming in and out..while the Banyan tree villas have no sea view
A good touch in the villas is the daily chilled water provided in chic glass bottles,what a welcome change from normal plastic bottles The staff is very accomodating..especially the manager mr Porntida Naradanaitorn
we asked for local bananas and beteleaf and the same was provided instantly Housekeeping is efficent and unobstrusive and come whenever you need them to, be it even 9 pm..The airconditioning is very effective.
The resort is on a large area,with beautiful foliage and tropical trees Bicycles are provided to every villa.which is very nice,or one can call for the electric cart.Its a pleasure to just cycle or ride..or walk when its cooler through the resort and see all the colorful birds and fruit trees.Particualry nice is the walk to the bar preched on top of the property with a 360 degree view of the sea...a cocktail here at sunset is sublime !!
The swimming pool is large and very nice,particularly the fact that it has a shallow area about 1 foot deep with sun beds here and one side is the infinity pool looking out onto the Phangna Bay ...one can spend hours here gazing at the view The restaurant area..there are two..a grill and a general one ;are next to the pool.The food is good,especially the local cuisine,though international selection is limited The pomello salad and the stir fries are outstanding.I would suggest to stick to the Thai food
The beach is white sand,.but rather small During low tide the sea recedes and you cant really go in,only in high tide one can There is a lot of broken coral so one should wear rubber shoes.You dont see any fish or colorful coral as in phi phi or other such beaches...Naka island resort is certainly not for snorkelling or extended swimming.But it is relaxing..specially in the covered pavilions with cushions that are provided
The spa is not as extensive as banyan tree or Phulay Bay..but is satisfactory
To go to Phuket,the hotel drops you/picks you from Ao Por Marina..its almost an hour drive from the Marina to hotspots like Chawang beach or Kata beach.We did go once for deep sea diving with Andaman safaris..its a South African gentleman David who takes you..and he gave us a paradisical experience,Hence I am citing his details below so that others can benefit David Minnaar /Managing Director/Andaman Ocean Safaris Co. Ltd/Landline +66 (0)76 383 988 Mobile. +66 (0)87 382 1502 david@andamanoceansafaris.com
Its not recommended to go to Phuket island ..as it takes the whole day..one should stay at naka and relax at least 4 days...and perhaps stay after this at Phuket to dive or party.In Naka island there is a local village with a restaurant..they pick you up in a local wooden longtail boat and take you there.The restuarant is nothing much,but the boat ride is charming.

Naka island resort and spa is pretty much to de stress,relax and not go anywhere,one loses sense of time slowly The friendly and capable staff add to the goodness of the experience ,and I would highly recommend this resort
However,I do have some suggestions for improvement
:-The WC,Dressing area,Vanity area and shower in the villas bathrooms are open air.It does become very warm and these areas should be airconditioned
-There should be at least one airconditioned,fine dining restaurant
-The bar shld not close at 11pm..it shld be open at least till 1 am
-There shld be more covered/shaded pavilions on the beach

I do hope the above are in place before we return !!!
roopak malik,Delhi,India roopakmalik@tnlindia.com

Room tip: Take a sea view pool villa,they are great Do not go for the beach,as explained in my review Arrive before 3 pm at the latest..one loses out the experience if one arrives after dark
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roopakmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear roopakmalik,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay on Naka Island. We have noted your areas for improvement and the team and i will look into them accordingly. We hope you to welcome you back to the Naka Island in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We spent a week here after spending some time trekking in the northern provinces. A perfect way to relax and enjoy the Thai hospitality.

We arranged transfers form the Airport to the resorts through the concierge, After a delayed flight from Chiang Mai, we were greeted by a smiling driver in a new BMW, transported to the Marina where our private boat was waiting with cool eucalyptus scented hand towels, very refreshing in the humidity.
We were then taken to the Island and once again greeted by more smiling hosts that drove us to our villa where check-in was completed in the room.

The rooms were very spacious and private, every villa had a private courtyard featuring a plunge pool, sunbeds on one side and a shaded day bed on the other.

The beds were exceptionally comfortable, and the bathroom was a very unique design that combined the inside and outside spaces well whilst maintaining privacy. We loved the outside rainforest shower and bath bungalow.

Each villa was provided with bicycles to venture around the resort. There are complimentary non motorized water sports, or you could lay around the main pool and sip a few cocktails or fresh juice.

The staff were exceptional; when we took the hobbie cat out my sunglasses went overboard, and I said this in passing to a staff member who looked after the water sports, and when he finished work in the afternoon he went snorkeling in an attempt to find them. Nothing was ever too much, everything was seamless.

I would highly recommend this resort for couples in need of a retreat or looking for a place to spend their honeymoon.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheViewFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StarwoodPhuket, General Manager at The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear TheViewFromSydney,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay including your villa, service, bathroom and beds. We look forward to welcoming you back to Naka Island in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews