We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss!”
Review of Keang Lay

Keang Lay
Ranked #26 of 29 Restaurants in Cape Panwa
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Ein kleines Restaurant direkt am Pier des Aussichtspunktes in Cape Panwa. Bietet Sea Food, thailändische und internationale Küche
Coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Give it a miss!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Worst but most expensive meal we have had across Thailand! Pork was undercooked and king prawns fried to a chewy frazzle. Other dishes were tasteless. Our feedback to management wasn,t well received.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank scampado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great eatery”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Not one of the best looking restaurants/cafes in Cape Panwa but wow, food, price and service were excellent.
Found somewhere where the locals eat and the flavours were amazing, just remember to ask for Thai Style, wow - what a kick!
Went a few times, tried several dishes all of which were amazing so together with price we ate out for £8.00/night (for two) including beer and with a cocktail or three, expensive at....£10 all in!
I think this had the most authentic Thai tasting food and we tried many including Phuket town.
Go and be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DotFloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Thai food”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

When we stayed at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa resort, we discovered this restaurant by walking around outside the resort and decided to try it one night. This was a tourist style restaurant and its heavy wood table and chairs reminded me of the 'old Wild West style' local restaurants in yellowstone national park in the US. We ordered mostly seafood dishes and tom yum soup. The dishes and especially the soups were pretty spicy and tasted good and portions were reasonable. The quality was decent (above average to pretty good). The service was a little slow and there was a lack of attention by the servers. Even though we preferred better service but it was nothing out of the ordinary that we have experienced in Asian restaurants in the US. Given the reasonable prices ($48 US for 4 people) it was a decent choice of Thai food in Cape Panwa.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is the only restaurant in our many trips to Thailand that I would say I would never return. The staff are totally un interested in you and service is almost non existent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jameslindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was the only place where the service was poor. They were totally disengaged and the only think that matters seems to be the big TV and whatever programme they were watching. The food was also average. We won't be back while holidaying in Panwa reagion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MajaPetrusevska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keang Lay also viewed

Cape Panwa, Phuket
Cape Panwa, Phuket
 
Cape Panwa, Phuket
 

Been to Keang Lay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing