We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with friendly staff and excellent food, in quiet scenorie outside Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We lived in Crowne plaza for four days, with a little baby on 7 months. We enjoyed the stay very much. The hotel is classy, and we have nothing negative to say about the hotel, room, staff or restaurants. They were all excellent.

The hotel is a bit out of the action in Phuket, so you have to be prepared to take taxies. A little drawback with the private beach, it's quite small, and you have to go far into the water to reach debth.

All in all, a great stay and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear akbarb1,

thank you for your review.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

I want to start off by saying that I really wanted to give this hotel a good review, I really did.

Things started off really well. The check-in was fast and smooth (we did arrive late at night, so that made it easier). The front desk reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were even given an upgraded room, which really got things off on the right foot. The fresh fruit waiting in our room was also quite a nice touch.

Physically, the hotel is beautiful. Our room had a very large terrace overlooking the pools and the bay. The view was quite incredible. The room itself was pretty nice and the bathroom was immense. The tub had a massive window overlooking the water. It would have been nice if the window had been tinted, but given it was clear glass, the shade was always drawn.

From a location perspective, the hotel is a little far from many of the other areas of interest in Phuket. The hotel does offer a shuttle, but it's so expensive, that if you have a family, it's much cheaper just to take a cab. This can get expensive during an extended stay. I'd highly recommend that the hotel lower its fees for the shuttle, which will make the location far less of an issue.

The hotel offers complimentary kayaking, which we quite enjoyed.

I had mixed feelings about the beach. On the one hand, it's extremely secluded with very few people, which is quite nice. However, during low tide, the whole beach essentially turns into mud. You can walk several hundred meters into the water and you're still not much more than ankle deep. There aren't really any real waves to speak of, and the view isn't the endless ocean, but rather an island and some large ships that are anchored in front.

The pools were great and were probably the highlight of our stay. Unfortunately, this is also where we encountered the terrible service. The first day, as I grabbed a towel from one of the racks near the pool, I was yelled at for taking the rolled up towel as opposed to the folded towel. No explanation given as to why that was an issue, I was just told to put it back. Both sets of towels are right next to each other, no signs, both pool towels. Very strange, but I shrugged it off. The next day, a female member of our party was wearing a t-shirt in the pool and was told quite sternly (by the same staff member) that t-shirts were not allowed, even though other women were also wearing t-shirts in the pool earlier in the day. I understand that rules are rules, which is fine, but staff need to realize that hotel guests should be treated with respect and not yelled at. It made us all feel like we were unwelcome at the hotel, which is not what you want from a 5 star resort. We asked to speak to the manager who just went along with whatever the employee said. The manager did stop by later and he apologized to us. He said that it was just a cultural difference and chalked it up to mis-communication. It was nice of him to seek us out later to apologize, but it would have been much nicer if he had taken care of the situation professionally the first time. As for the cultural differences, we spent several weeks in Thailand in many hotels, we found all of the service staff that we encountered to be extremely friendly everywhere else.

I'm rooting for the hotel, hopefully they'll train their staff better. In the mean time, expect service that's hit or miss.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank akbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear akbarb1,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am most pleased that you found our location to be beautiful and your check in went smoothly. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the staff service received. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our efforts and we certainly appreciate your comments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We, 5 friends visited this hotel in early November for 3 nights, stayed in their terrace suites. Room size was good and terrace was big just like you see in the photos. We liked the location of this hotel as they have their private beach and the reception area looks very nice too. Their staff uniform is very nice and sets a holiday mood to the visitors. Staffs are courteous though we felt some of them could not speak well in English. Both the pools are nice and clean just by the beach. Our check in was very slow. We were given rooms after 1 hour and our room was smelly, tap of the wash basin was leaky and bathroom water trap was clogging. We told them to attend to the issue but nothing was done till we returned late in the night. We complained and asked them why the problem was not fixed; they replied it was fixed which annoyed us. We had to ask them to give us a solution as we could not sit in the room with all the bad smell, leave alone sleeping that night. After some argument they showed us another room and we changed to that. Life seemed ok after that. Breakfast was average. Grass in the terrace area is plastic and you can't stand there during the day as it gives sticky feeling in your feet due to hot weather.
I think if they fix above problems , improve the breakfast spread ( to a five star hotel standard ) then this place is good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear Mit BLR,

thank you for your comments and review.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

It is the first time that I take the time to write a review in many years of traveling. I did 207k miles in 2012 and similar the years before - so I think I can understand what is a good hotel. I m also gold and platinum member in hotel program.

Crown Plaza Panwa is a huge disappointment. The facilities of this hotel are nice - which might be a 5 stars - but the service and the refinery are completely missing. This is important lack of management supervision. Employees are not trained as a 5 stars hotel - I would say a 4 stars max. I don't understand that a brand like crown plaza has not spotted the situation before. This hotel is destroying the name of the chain.

As soon we arrived, we had problem. The receptionist was not smiling, direct, not comprehensive. We asked connected rooms - it took 1 hour to look at and finally, got a negative answer during the check in - but 3 hours later - the situation was resolved. We needed to change the room.

The pool employees were not helpful until we gave huge tip. The Resort Center is a disaster - I feel that I spend more time there to organize my activities that doing them. Poor English, not efficient at all. I asked a private car for specific shopping, of course, the driver brought us to the tourist spots. A 5 stars has a bilingual concierge!

We asked for ice - it took one hour. We needed to call 3 times and insisted.

When I mean <refinery> - I talk

- language staff with not nice attitude - just drop the language in the room quickly
- when raining - nobody redraw the cousin on the chairs
- check in employee very direct, not helpful, not smiling
- no staff are saying hello when you see them
- when you asked direction - the answers are very limited - just one gardener very nice came with me to show where was the spa - so nice attitude
- just 3 therapist at the spa - very difficult to get appointment
- buffet very small - food ok - but so limited

Finally, we decided to join the new year eve - cost 5200 baths/person- which is ridiculous!

So many to say - but at the end - the message is that I do not recommend that hotel - only in last resort. Never worth the 300$ usd/night - never.

Tommy

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear Tommy M,

Thank you for your commenst and review.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The property is new, the rooms comfortable, the service (past check-in at least) helpful and caring. But... 1) the beach is bad - a muddy bay, with extremely low tides and tar on the water (possibly from the military base just outside the bay?); 2) the food is substandard (although the beach shack just past the property makes up for what the hotel fails to deliver); 3) worst of all - the hotel caters to tours, especially Russian and Chinese. There's nothing wrong with that if you don't mind people screaming from one end of the restaurant to the other during breakfast, smoking copiously around you everywhere and letting their children misbehave at will. If you do, you're probably better off staying away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Shiru,

We appreciate you took the time to convey your thoughts regarding your stay with us. I am pleased that you were satisfied with our room accommodations and that you had a good nights rest. However, I apologize that our location was a let down and not up to your expectation. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed last July! Our first time in Phuket so thought of choosing CP for starters.
The room is good with a nice swimming pool and ocean view. It was raining mostly during our stay so we enjoyed our spacious and and nice room. Breakfasts are great and so with the pool bar. The hotel was not much full hence we enjoyed the whole hotel with privacy. Staffs are into detail and helped us with information around Thai and Phi Phi Island.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor level with the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cuyappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Dear Cuyappi,

Thank you for taking the time reviewing your stay with us and sharing your very important comments with us , and others.

We are glad that you have had a very good experience in our property and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon here in Phuket!

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The hotel is beautiful, modern style great facilities, super clean. Service is also top notch. The location is a bit isolated for now and you always need a taxi for basically everything, but this isn't a show stopper. Breakfast is simply superb and the croissants backed daily are fantastic...so is the third food. Higly recommended then

Room Tip: The superior ones are the right mix.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisMartin_HKT, Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Dear Bbelux,

Thank you for your review and contribution.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
1.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
12.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
23.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach

Address: 8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: £90 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hideaway in Phuket, yet just a stone’s throw from Phuket Town and a short drive to Patong, Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach is exclusively set in Makham Bay. This beautiful Phuket resort draws design inspiration from the rich heritage of the area with its marbled floors, rich woods and flowing water throughout the public areas and guest rooms, offset by contemporary art, light and space. The resort boasts two beachfront pools serviced by bars and restaurants. A third beachfront pool is semi-private for those who choose to stay in our Panwa Duplex Lagoon, some of the finest Phuket accommodations. Our lobby bar is elevated over Makham Bay to take full advantage of the wooded headlands, jagged cliffs and nearby islands. Suites feature baths by the bay window and all guest rooms have a separate bath from shower. All rooms have private, furnished balconies and free Wi-Fi connectivity that is easy to access throughout the resort. Our chefs are masters of traditional Royal Thai cuisine. We also have an Italian Patio set on the beach to take advantage of the Phuket weather and romantic twilight. Our activities manager can organise everything from evening beach campfires, kayaking trips to nearby islands or cooking classes. A tour desk is available so you can explore the island and surrounding waters. We also feature a signature spa for the ultimate in relaxation, Panwa spa. A supervised kids club, gym and cafe complete this fine beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing