We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and beautiful pool villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amatara Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great staff and beautiful pool villas”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early July. The rooms in the pool villas are simply amazing. Very large bathrooms, with a large bathtub for two. Two toilets and a stand up shower. And of course the large veranda with an infinity edge pool.

Everything, both in the room and on the grounds, was very clean. The "iPad" that they give you at check-in was OK and we used to to order room service once. They had a lot of great activities including bike rides and daily yoga. There is a shuttle to Patong which I believe was 400 baht and one to the mall in Phuket town which is complimentary.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly. They are always smiling. It doesn't seem like it's contrived, it is a genuine smile of happiness.

What we liked:

- complimentary 8 pieces of laundry per day
- complimentary snack/drink bar in room
- friendly staff
- good quality breakfast (although selection on buffet was limited)
- views are amazing
- check-in was hassle free with a beautiful view
- feels very secluded and golf cart rides are always available

Needs improvement
- The beach is not that great. Although if you walk to the Aquarium, you can take a 30 min private boat ride to Coral Island for about 2000 baht....great white sand beach, snorkeling (~150 baht per), and restaurant (lunch was around 1000 baht for two people).

Otherwise, it was a great hotel and we are planning to go back.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room. We saw some rooms on the lower floors that seemed to have views mostly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Zanodad,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review on TripAdvisor following your recent stayed at our resort.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our Pool Villa with private pool overlooking the amazing sea view. We are glad you had utilized the in-villa facilities provided and the services was excellent and cheerful. We hope that the shuttle service to the Central Festival, Phuket Town and also to trip to Patong beach allows you some shoppings fun.

We would like to thank you for your rewarding review and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in our resort.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    194
    64
    18
    9
See reviews for
150
633
24
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

One of the best properties in Phuket and we speak from experience as we've been a dozen times and have stayed at almost every single property there. We stayed for about a week. Will be to the point:
- great service; love the laundry service complimentary with the pool villa; quick with the buggy
- great breakfast (a la carte order of main dish) and complimentary afternoon tea
- great touches with snacks in the mini bar, complimentary with the pool villa. Also, wine and beers were complimentary. Not sure if it was just a promotional period
- Meena, our personal butler assigned to our pool villa was excellent in accommodating and organising our day.
- great spa services and therapist
- solid food and beverage services
- nicely outfitted and sizeable pool villas. We also took a tour of the other suites as well - all very spacious
- good gym facilities
- good location if you want a quiet corner of the island - certainly better than the tourist ridden areas.

Improvements
- pool on the small side but that's not something they can change. Realistically, no one can really swim in a pool that come with pool villas anyway
- perhaps they were still in soft opening stage, but privacy was an issue as workmen were walking in front of our villa, transporting appliances. Only happened one afternoon
- no sound system
- one faulty jet out of four in pool
- one of the toilets emitted a funny smell - not sure if plumbing was still going through growing pains
- slightly more mosquitos but, there's a lot of greenery which we like and would have contributed to the problem. This could also be seasonal

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Detang,

Thank you for sharing your rewarding review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the high score you gave us even though some shortfalls you had experienced.

We are delighted to learn that you were enjoying at our Pool Villa provided with great amenities and utmost privacy. It is great to read that you experienced our recreation facilities during your stay, including the spa, gym with state-of-the art fitness facilities. We hope you will try our daily yoga class or kayaking on your next trip to our resort.

Our resort regularly undertaking the pest control and provide the repelling kit in all guestrooms. We are sorry to hear that there is still mosquitoes disturbed you. We took your constructive comments as recommendations in order to improve our services and to ensure your next stay will be very pleasant. It is only through the guest feedback that we will be able to maintain our commitment to service excellence. Our team members will also appreciate you took the time to recognize their professionalism of their service.

We certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to our resort.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I and my husband just stayed in Regent Phuket Cape Panwa (Pool Villa) for 5 days in Jun 2013. The hotel is fabulous: wonderful design, luxury amenities (L'occitane), cleanliness, good pest control (i.e. no insects in the private pool) and, the most important, good services. Offered free laundry (8 pcs/day!), iPad usage, free mini bar, extremely good breakfast, buggy services...etc., just made my stay fantastic! Additional bonus for offering me check out at 3:00pm as I had evening departure flight. Although it's true that the hotel is at remote location with small beach, it's not a matter for me & husband.
However, hope the management will play more efforts for the villa maintenance, as I found little deterioration in the room. And, it will be good if staff will alert guests upon arrival that teeth brush set is only provided upon request (I found it at mid night when I needed it), and, the pillow list is available for selection (I got serious neck pain with the too soft pillows).

Overall, I feel the hotel is almost perfect for my stay and hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: There are good ana affortable restaurants Keang Lay and Sawadee are just few blocks away from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyCat_Mil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Ms. CrazyCat_Mil,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for sharing your rewarding review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to learn that you found that our resort is fabulous with wonderful design and luxury amenities.

We are delighted to learn that you were enjoying the comfort at our Pool Villa and its amenities including alcoholic beverage minibar, 8 pieces of laundry service daily, ipad and Internet. We believe our Resort Butler also was at your service and made your stay fantastic.

With reference to your comment concerning the maintenance of the villa, we will take as recommendations for improving. We appreciate our guest feedbacks in order to improve the quality of services and facilities.

We hope to welcoming you and your husband back in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Regent Phuket Cape Panwa is a real gem.
Coming with 2 kids for an anniversary stay was a bit of a challenge but we felt at ease within the first minute with a very attentive yet not intrusive service. The location at the southern most point of the island offers amazing views on the surrounding islands and the villas with pool deliver an exceptionnal stay: spacious, well attended, great classy decoration and magnificent bathroom.
Breakfast is filled with top quality product and a great team. The Grill has a great chef who does not hesitate to show his face to help you make your choice and to check your satisfaction which was at its best.
We did try the tennis court and they have a special surface worth the try.
Being a new resort, vegetation seemed like already very mature and at no stage you feel that the resort has less than a year existence. Well done !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakunamaatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Khun Hakunamaatata,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa,

Thank you very much for choosing us as you family getaway. It is great to learn that you and family had an exceptional stay with us. It is nice to read that you like our the Pool Villa decoration and found it is great classy, spacious and with amazing views. Our Chef takes care his guest as you are dining at his home. He always makes sure that you are satisfied with his food and also the service is excellent.

Khun Hakunamaatata, we hope you and your children had a lot of nice memories back home. And hope to welcoming you back at our resort on your next trip in Phuket soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

My second stay at the luxury regent panwa in 3 months and yet again they exceeded my expectations (which was very high after my first stay there and numerous experiences at other luxury phuket resorts like renaissance and westin). Looking to return for the third time in October for their grand opening and wife's birthday (& looking forward to mailers from the Regent team if any). Am having high hopes that the regent team can sustain this great vacation experience (both emotional "software" and amenities " hardware") as they transition to higher occupancy rates (now only 50%) after the grand opening.

Felt pampered and valued as a guest. When we couldn't get the suite we specifically requested (based on our lovely first experience), duty manager Aree upgraded us to a luxurious seaview pool villa to ensure we got our desired experience. Pool villa stay was beyond 5 star luxury with complimentary minibar and wine. Villa was close to sea front (great sea view) and private, allowing me and wife a close and romantic experience with nature. Aree also readily accommodated a late checkout to match our flight timings. This was great as many hotels would decline to accommodate even if rooms remain empty. From my first experience, if Regent can't provide late checkout, they will provide a day room that is clean spacious and provide good showering facilities so you can still enjoy your checkout day in comfort.

Regent also provided us a warm stay. Great to see many of the familiar faces (Aung, Bob and the muscular gym guy) that gave us a comfortable and eventful first stay. This time Aree, Beau and Pear and many others including the buggy drivers continued the warm hospitality. We were impressed the Regent team remembered this was our second stay even though there is no official regent membership program. Looking forward to the team sustaining this strong hospitality spirit beyond the soft launch.

Just doing brief mention of the spa @ Regent in case some other holidaymakers are considering giving it a try. Luxurious seafront massage with good experience. If you are looking to de stress u can consider giving it a try.

Some small areas Regent can continue driving improvement areas in: 1. Sewage - not sure if my nose is overly sensitive but I could smell unpleasant smell in the Dayroom toilet and one of the villa bathrooms. They could either fix the infrastructure or install automated air purifiers like ambipur. 2. Better housekeeping training - housekeeping staff always failed to top up the minibar fully and we had to give numerous reminders (4 times in same day). Not sure if this is management directive or training quality issue. If there is no daily top up, management/front desk should set upfront expectations with guests to avoid unhappiness. Housekeeping staff also came at 12 pm to clean room when we requested they come at 8 in morning. Again if they couldn't deliver on requested timing, they should set right expectations up front.

Looking forward to next return. Hope this post also gives you a push in case you haven't heard of the regent brand (vs. the other global brands). This was something holding me back before but am glad I gave them a try.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Mr. Wayne T,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

We would like to thank you for returning trip to our resort. How wonderful to read that your 2nd stay was also exceeded your expectations and that you had a great vacation experience. We are glad that the pool villa provided for you allow you and your wife a close and romantic experience with nature. We hope that you were at comfort in our spacious pool villa and its amenities.

Thank you for your compliments about our team members, everybody! for their genuine hospitality. And of course, our warm-hearted members derive to sustain the professional and exceptional services for our guests. We are sorry to hear that you have entered some inconvenience issues. Your valued comments regarding the unpleasant smell and the training will be addressed with our team for improvements.

It is our pleasure to learn that you are coming back in October. May we recommend you to check our resort website for the offer in October. You will find an incredible honeymoon package as well.

Once again, thank you for your detailed review and we look forward to seeing and serving you at your 3rd return.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My partner and I recently visited the hotel for 3 nights for a family wedding. The rooms are amazing, very spacious with panoramic views, each room comes along with an Ipad in which you can browse internet, info of the hotel (service as the hotel dicectory) and the best part is you can order In rooming dinning from the ipad and someone will call you within 1 minute to confirm your order.

We love the authentic local thai food served in the restaurant. The wedding venue was decorated beautifully with fresh flowers in front of the beautiful sea view. We also loved the firework that was arranged for the wedding.

The staff are amazing, especially the director of food and beverage Mr. Meijn from Holland, his attention to details and his willingness to make all the guests' request happened had just made the entire event successfully and perfect!

Sara from Front Office and a lady from the night shift, her name started with T were very helpful, especially when the bride needed some help last minute to iron her wedding dress!

We will definitely be back to the best resort - regent cape panwa! :)

Angela

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie858585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Ms. Angela,

Sunny greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for sharing about your stay with us during the particular occasion. It is nice to learn that you had a very good time during your family's wedding and all arrangements were beautiful. Also, we are pleased to read that our service is world class, specially the in-room dining order via ipad is beyond your expectation.

We appreciate your compliment of our team members, Mr. Merijn, Director of Food & Beverage, our Front Office team, Sara and Tang as they are always helpful and attentive in details.

We look forward to be at your service to your return trip to our resort, maybe during your honeymoon trip!

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Regent at Cape Panwa is without a doubt one of the best resorts that my wife and I stayed in, not only because of the great room and infrastructure, but also because of the amazing service throughout our stay.

We booked one of the pool villas via agoda.com, and the great service started right away with fast and professional responses to my early email requests. I made some requests regarding our room location and we were extremely happy because they provided us with exactly what we wanted.

We asked to be picked up from the airport, and chose the Regent Experience option, which means we were greeted by a representative right before picking up our luggage, and travelled in a luxury van that included complementary drinks and wifi! For 2 people it was about 3 times the price of a taxi, but we figured we'd try it on arrival. We did take a normal taxi on the way back to the airport.

Upon arrival the check-in was speedy and in no time we were enjoying the most amazing room we've ever stayed in. Spacious room, with really clean and comfy bed. An amazing bath tub overlooking our private infinity pool, and a great view of the ocean. The complementary bar was a nice, and they also have complementary laundry service, altough we did not use it.

They provided us with a iPad, which we could use to order room service directly from our room. We did try it and it worked flawlessly. Within a minute of ordering via the iPad we received a confirmation call and the food was ready in a few minutes.

All our requests were responded to within only a few minutes. I do not remember ever having such a fast service anywhere else! Even delivery of an extra set of toothbrushes was done within 2 or 3 minutes of my call.

The food was very good. We dined on the Restaurant most of the time, and both the breakfast and dinner had plenty of variety. The food was fresh and the service was speedy and professional. We did not dine at the Grill because we found it a bit pricey.

We visited the beach, which is definitely not the best part of this resort. We were already aware of it from other reviews, and we didn't care because we were enjoying our private pool.

The Spa was great, and although I'm not normally keen on massages, the 90 minute wave massage was probably one of the best I've ever had.

Free wifi everywhere within the resort was nice as well.

The only downside was the lack of entertainment, or even just a games room (snooker, table-tenis, etc). It is defenitely the one suggestion I would make to improve what is already an excellent resort.

I would defenitely recommend this resort to anyone who wants to get away from it all and enjoy some quality time in privacy and comfort.

Room Tip: Higher pool villas have much better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Mr. Filipe F,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa,

Thank you very much for your time sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. How wonderful to read that you commented us as a "Top Class Resort". We believe that you and your wife also enjoyed our top class and unfailing services from our team members. We are glad to learn that you took the benefit of facilities provided at our resort including luxury airport transfer, in-villa amenities, private pool, used of ipad to order in-villa menu, our Regent signature massage.

Your valued comments about the entertainment has been noted for improvement. We appreciate that you will be recommending our resort to other travellers and look forward to your return trip to our resort soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
12.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
10.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatara Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatara Wellness Resort

Property: Amatara Wellness Resort
Address: 84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Regent Phuket Cape Panwa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amatara Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatara Resort & Wellness locates at Cape Panwa, on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island. Amatara Resort & Wellness features 105 rooms and suites, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now also offering all-inclusive Wellness Retreat packages including - Amatara Detox - for toxin-cleanse and refreshen your body and mind - Spa Revive - for an ultimate relaxation - Weight Management - for a sustainable weight loss or balancing body weight - Amatara Active - for physical strengthening and improve endurance - Amatara Yoga - for indulging into the world of yoga - Amatara Connect - for re-connecting and spending time with your loved ones These all retreats starts from a minimum of 3 nights and feature Thai Hammam Experience, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of Thai therapies which available only at Amatara Resort & Wellness. Amatara Resort & Wellness also have Wellness membership program starting from one month to 12 month program and Wellness Day Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings that are available everyday from 10am - 8pm. The resort has 3 restaurant outlets: The Grill, The Restaurant and The Retreat serving fine dining international as well as Thai and healthy wellness cuisines. Amatara Resort & Wellness is only 15 minutes away from Phuket Town and just 45 minutes from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amatara Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatara Wellness Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing