We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars is not enough -outstanding quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amatara Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights/four days as part of a special 60th birthday and retirement holiday. I find it hard to think how this hotel could be bettered. The pavilion accommodation was very sophisticated with every modern need anticipated and provided for. Many things are included which are paid for as extras in other hotels - ipads, laundry, mini bar etc. There are activities such as yoga and fitness that you can join in with. The staff were wonderfully attentive. My husband has some mobility difficulties and he loved the fact that you could just dial for a buggy which would instantly appear and take you anywhere on the site. On our final day our flight was at midnight and we were provided with a great room to relax and shower in (free of charge) until we left for the airport. Swimming in the stunning infinity pool, overlooking the nearby islands, was a memorable experience. Breakfast was excellent with a high level menu. Anyone who can stay there is very lucky and I would recommend it unreservedly. It would suit anyone except groups of young people who might want more active night life nearby. It is only a few hundred yards down the drive and road to the tip of Cape Panwa and the Aquarium, although the Cape offers limited facilities outside of the hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Pavilion room which was very spacious and private, with excellent facilities, set ami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoltonMaltesers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear BoltonMaltesers,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for taking time post your review about our resort on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to serve you and your husband during your recent retired holiday in Phuket.

How wonderful to read “5 stars” rating is not enough for us! We are glad that our spacious Pavilion provided you the comfortable and privacy stayed during all three nights with us. Apart from the efficient Buggy Service, we hope you also took the advantage of the amenities provided including the complimentary daily replenishment coffee and tea, non-alcoholic beverages and snacks.

We are proud that our Regent’s way of excellent service and hospitality complemented your special 60th birthday celebration.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plan allow, or another birthday celebration.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

On the first day of our stay, there were minor glitches here and there; shower was broken, slippers missing, broken blind on balcony door, noisy air con.. Pretty much things we could still tolerate hence we did not fuss. It's our first family holiday with our 11 months old baby so we just want to have good family time without unnecessary complaint spoiling the experience.

However we noticed there's something missing from the service. The service staffs were polite with trained smile, but we're not sure if they were really happy and that put us in awkward situations especially when we approach them for assistance as if we're troubling them. However, we decided to break the ice with the service staff in the restaurant and some of them responded better after that.

On the third day, during breakfast, I asked one of the staffs to help steam my baby's porridge. Fa, who helped us do that the previous day, was not available hence another staff helped. After five minutes, we checked but were told not yet. We checked again twice, each five minutes apart but again we're told not yet. A moment later, another staff brought the porridge and to my shocked the porridge left to a quarter bowl and was burnt! The staff was just smiling when I asked what happened, then with limited English he said, like you asked, microwave. They actually microwaved my baby organic porridge for over 15 minutes and burned it. To cut the story short, I managed to ask the chef to cook another bowl of porridge (after 30 minutes of repeat instructions), as closest to my baby's. But it took them too long and my baby's eating time passed. I requested to speak with the GM, Brice Borin, to provide our feedback and at the same time, expecting a sincere apology. But I was shocked and appalled for the second time when he responded with utmost insincerity and didn't even apologize. He was very defensive and just told me he would check. Not even a sincere word of apology, only a brief sorry before he turned away and left. Wow.

Hotel facility is okay, nothing we felt extraordinary since we expected more out of the service. Yet it was a total let down. The service staff making a mistake was something that should stay minor, for it's the leader's job to answer for and correct the mistake. And in most cases, listening ears and a sincere apology simply would settle the case.

The hotel service department is most likely reply to this write-up and say a lengthy explanation, but what we hope for is a change of service attitude, starting from the top. Hospitality is a 'heart' business, ultimately service from the heart is the only way to deliver the great customer experience. And to have service from the heart, the staffs have to be happy first.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Rita M,

Please let me begin by extending a word of thanks for your review of your stay at Regent Phuket. Although, as today comments we receive have been overwhelmingly positive, I appreciate your feedback as it allows us to attend to any issues observed thus ensuring our dedication to the complete satisfaction of our guests remains our prime goal. If you felt that you have not received the level of assistance that you expected then I would like to apologize.

I was very surprised to hear that there is “something missing from the service” when a large majority of other comments on Tripadvisor and on other social media are highlighting the quality and the warm service provided at our resort, I will address to my team regarding this aspect.

With regard to the incident of the breakfast, yes we did apologize, my chef and myself for the mistake on the cooking of Sarah’s food. By the fact that we didn’t have the organic pumpkin that morning, I also assured you that organic food was on the way to be delivered and our employee will be briefed on the cooking method of your organic baby food which had been cooked perfectly well the two previous mornings. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you feel my apology was insincere and you didn’t appreciate the apologize note with the Teddy Bear and the selection of red fruits we sent to Sarah.

May I end by saying that I hope my explanations over your comments are satisfactory because I can only reiterate that both myself and the entire team are solely dedicated to your complete satisfaction.

It was an absolute pleasure to serve both you and your family. And we hope that on your next trip to Phuket you would do us the honor of choosing us as your accommodation once again.

Warm regards,
Brice Borin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What can you say about Regent Phuket Cape Panwa that has not been said before. The place is just simply FANTASTIC, and the staff are 100% committed to the enjoyment and relaxation of their guests.
My wife had sustained a knee injury before arriving at Cape Panwa and had difficulty in walking. Well the staff there, in my opinion, went way above and beyond their duties to ensure that she was comfortable. Their service standards were high and were always conscientious, polite and attentive to your needs.
We stayed for seven days and wish we could've stayed longer. Our room was very private and spacious, with a clean and comfy bed, an oversize bath tub overlooking our private infinity pool and a great view of the ocean. Also included was a complementary bar, and also a complementary laundry service for 8 pieces per day.
We will be, without doubt, be returning there for our next holiday and will be recommending the Regent to anyone who is considering a holiday in Phuket.
A special thanks to Tae, Pop, Sandy, Sun and Magic, who amongst others too many to mention, made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Ms. ross b,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

We wish you were still with us too. Thank you so much for sharing your rewarding review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to learn that your stayed with us like your were in a paradise.

It is nice to read that you were enjoying the comfort at our Pool Villa and its amenities including alcoholic beverage minibar, 8 pieces of laundry service daily, ipad and Internet. We believe our Resort Butler also was at your service and made your stay fantastic.

We appreciate your compliments of our team members, Tae, Pop, Sandy, Sun and Magic and everybody. We are proud of them, for their attentive cares and always go beyond guest’s expectation.

Thank you for your kind recommending us to others and we have already looked forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Great relaxing holiday. Ideal first class facility at a great price.

This is a wonderful quiet venue with rooms and villas for all tastes.

It has facilities for children

The SPA is very good and offers a range of treatments.

You can arrive and park out and return home relaxed.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Desmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Desmond G,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your complimentary review about our resort. It is nice to see that you have all of our facilities including Children Club and Spa.

We are delighted that you are fully aware of our unique location in the quiet corner of Cape Panwa and with direct access to the private beach, providing guests a great holiday venue.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return for your next family getaway soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is the best of Phuket where I have visited in 10 years time when I have travelled in Phuket. Three good reason to reserve this hotel is: service, service and service. Also there are good equipments in pool villas, f.ex own IPad, complimentary fridge with drinks, buggy service. Also Pool villa customers can get personal service in breakfast, afternoon tea/coffee, evening drinks as complimentary too. There are two good pools + own small pool in villas. And nice beach without any other than hotel guests. But best is Service with capital letter. What ever you asked it was done within couple of minutes, with smiling faces.

Room Tip: If you have a possible to choice pool villa. Also villas without pool are very nice. With pool villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Riisto,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you very much for posting such a great review. We are delighted to see that our team members contributed a lot into your experience with us. We appreciate you rate our Service of 110%. And yes, many of our guests opt to stay in Pool Villa and found that worthwhile benefits are enormous.

Again, thank you for staying with us, we wish you a safe trip home and look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We read all the great reviews before booking our stay at Regent Cape Panwa and yet upon arrival we were awestruck. Everything exceeded our high expectations from the scenic vistas by the infinity pool to the rich dining experience. Service was impeccable from arrival to departure, everything went without a hitch. We have not one complaint, except for the fact that the trip could have been a little longer.


In our 3 nights (August 26-28, 2013), we explored the finely landscaped grounds, lounged by the main pool and ate our fill at the in-house restaurants. The pavillion was spacious and in tip top condition with a complimentary mini bar plus 4 pieces of laundry a day. They also provide guests with an ipad and along with that, free wi-fi on hotel grounds.


If you want a romantic escape away from the hustle bustle, this is the place to be as it is far from everything else. Just take note that if you want to get to Patong or other touristy hot spots on the island, the cab fare can be costly. There is a free shuttle bus to Central Festival twice daily and for an additional fee, you can be dropped off at Patong to experience the vivid nightlife. If you are thinking of going island hopping, diving or snorkeling, the vendors will charge extra to pick you up at your hotel location because it is further than their regular routes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicia_CDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Felicia C,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that your experience at our resort has exceeded expectations.

You really enjoyed our resort and all the little extras like free wifi, iPad for usage, in-room minibar, daily laundry service, well-kept landscape or shuttle bus services between the resort and Patong.

We certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday in Phuket.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just returned from 12 days in Thailand, unfortunately we had to shorten our visit to this hotel in Phuket. We had a cape suite. The room design was excellent, spacious & comfortable with great facilities and a beautiful view from the balcony - especially at sunset. Our room include free internet (why don't all hotels offer this!!!?) free mini-bar and free laundry allowance. They also had a 'mosquito kit' in the drawer with repellent etc.
The hotel is beautifully designed with wonderful mature gardens and seascape scenery- combined with great architecture its perfect for memorable photographs. The infinity pool is equally stunning.
The staff were all top drawer, with the legendary Thai smile and friendliness but also highly efficient. On one early morning trip we were about to enter our pick up when I remembered we might need beach towels - I turned to find the pool attendant already standing with two towels ready for me without being asked!!
There are several restaurants, the food was excellent with local and international choices, and the staff knew there product! perhaps the only down was the ambience in the main restaurant which felt a little stark and too open. It was the rainy season and the panoramic glass doors were closed, perhaps it is better in the dry season when these are open and you could enjoy a candlelit dinner on the balcony.
The location is good too if you prefer to be a little away from the 'hectic' popular beaches and towns and the usual nightlife! We had a hired 4x4 so we were able to tour at our leisure and explore the stunning beauty of the island.
We will definitely be back at this hotel, excellent in almost every way!

Room Tip: All rooms have decent views, sea view if that's what you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougN56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear DougN56,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip in Thailand and for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us. Regent Phuket has a privilege location on Cape Panwa, being a tranquil resort, overlooking scenic views of the Andaman Sea.

Thank you for your comment about The Restaurant. Yes, for safety reason, we close the glass doors during rainy season when sometime has strong winds and heavy rain. However, we can also arrange a romantic candlelit dinner at our Grill for guests.

Thank you for mentioning the attentive service from our Pool Attendance, our team are a credit to our resort and deserve a lot of praise for our success.

We hope to welcoming you back in the near future, hopefully next dry season.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
5.3 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
12.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatara Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatara Wellness Resort

Address: 84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Regent Phuket Cape Panwa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: £130 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amatara Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatara Wellness Resort located on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island, 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport featuring 105 suites and villas, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now offering the world first and only ‘Thai Hammam Journey’, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of luxury Thai spa treatment available only at Amatara Wellness Resort. While Wellness membership program is also available starting from one month to 12 month program, a ‘One Day Wellness” Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings are also available every day from 10am - 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amatara Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatara Wellness Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing