We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy location, but with a few flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amatara Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dreamy location, but with a few flaws”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We enjoyed our romantic anniversary, but found the resort a little hit-and-miss.
Positives first:
1. Location: The Regent is perched on the hills of Cape Panwa. Three sides of the resort are surrounded by the blue waters of a calm bay. The resort has a peaceful, idyllic atmosphere. Checking in was relaxing, thanks to the sea views from the lobby over the main pool, and the warm and efficient welcome from the front desk. A metered taxi from the airport costs around THB1000, and is an hour away.
2. The suites are luxurious, with hardwood floors, soft sofas and L'Occitane toiletries. There is a large dressing table.
3. The Restaurant and the Grill are the two main food outlets. There's also a rooftop lounge (happy hour is 6-7pm, look for a staircase next to a door marked "no entry" - signposting could be improved) and a poolside terrace.
4. Breakfast at the Restaurant is a mix of a la carte Western and Thai/Chinese dishes, and a buffet spread. The bread and croissants are remarkably good, and there are shavings from a leg of Iberico ham, excellent sausages, salads, mangoes and other fruits. Ham and salmon are smoked on the premises. The "boat noodles" come in a flavourful stock, though the beef is a bit chewy.
5. The Grill has delightful French/Italian cuisine - we had a memorable dinner.
6. There are also local cafés within 200 metres of the hotel's main gate (take a buggy down the hill to the gate and back). Sabai Sabai and Sawasdee were both enjoyable.
7. The Regent provides free shuttle services to the huge Central Festival mall, 15-20 minutes away.
8. The friendly taxi stand just to the left of the resort's main gate also offers return trips to Phuket Town for 700 baht (inclusive of three hours' waiting time - our driver was professional and helpful), or 2500 baht for a car and driver for a full day.

On to the negatives:
1. The beach is fairly grim, and the resort's hilly terrain means older or very young guests may have to rely on the friendly buggy service.
2. Avoid room 181. It faces the rear of the Grill restaurant complex. We could not see the sea when we were seated on the balcony, but could just glimpse it when we stood. The room faced the large kitchen exhaust outlet, partially concealed by a slatted wooden box. It was the same size, and sounded as tranquil, as a washing machine. When we arrived in our room, we were greeted by the smell of someone else's dinner from the exhaust, and by ambient music from the rooftop lounge - and the exhaust fan. On the immediate left of the balcony was the gym - thankfully no-one was playing ping-pong at the time. We asked the front desk to move us to a quiet room. We were told politely that there were no suites available. We would be placed on a waiting list, but it was "unlikely" another suite would open up. We asked for a refund on our remaining two nights, and were advised this was not possible under the advanced promotional booking we had made. Even so, we let the front desk know we would look for a hotel nearby so that we could move out. The management was quick enough to give us a complimentary upgrade to the pool villa when we were making plans to move to another hotel, being disheartened with the smell and noise from our current suite.
This was the most spacious resort villa we've ever stayed in. There are peaceful sea views from the plunge pool, sitting room, bedroom and the bathtub.
The management were responsive, writing us a courteous and thoughtful email, saying that they would look into the smell from the exhaust, since the system was designed to minimise odours, and at the sound level at the rooftop lounge.
With some improvements, including in staff communication, this resort could be truly exceptional.

Room Tip: Avoid room 181. Please read the review for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maylene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Maylene K,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you very much for posting your detailed review. We are glad to read that you had a romantic anniversary in our secluded resort.

You enjoyed the luxurious and the comfortable in our suite and its amentities. Even though we are sorry to read about your first night stay in the suite, please accept our sincere apology for shortcomings encountered. Thank you for letting us know about this problem, our team and management is always be there to assist in any way to make your stay pleasant. We take your constructive comments for our improvement.

You loved our spacious Pool Villa, breakfast, The Grill, the rooftop bar. You made the use of our complimentary shuttle service to Central Festival.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you to see our improvements. Perhaps on you next anniversary.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    201
    67
    20
    10
See reviews for
155
658
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Decided to stay for 2 nights but extended another 2 nights. The place is awesome, great views, excellent food and wine, fantastic staff and facilities and our room was like a giant apartment with a pool. The daily breakfast was fantastic and very relaxing.

Would highly recommend this as your choice in Cape Panwa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseAlfredoOro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear JoseAlfredoOro,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is nice to read that your stay with us was “Awesome”.

You had a relaxing stay, enjoyed our facilities including the Pool Villa, the food and services. We appreciate that you would recommend us to other travellers.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our resort again soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It was my first time in Phuket and after reading all the reviews on TA I decided to book a room for 2 nights.

I have stayed in a few hotels as I do travel a lot but this has been one of the best stays in a long time.

The views were breathtaking, the service was very good and the food was exceptional.

Given that the Hotel was build recently the rooms were well furnished.

The Spa was exceptional as I had a couple of hours to spend before my trip to the Airport. They also provided me with a Day Room which was a great gesture as I had to wait for a few hours. Hats off Regent.

The private beach was an added attraction that makes it a good selling point.

Do note that you have to spend at least 600 Thai Baht to go to Phuket Town Centre and around 900-1000 THB to the Airport and takes around an hour from the Airport to the Hotel.

I would definitely stay in the Hotel next time as it was a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy the luxuries of life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Sunil K,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your review. How nice to read you enjoyed the luxurious life during your stay with us.

You obviously have different view to some previous reviewers in the point of the beach. Yes, its privacy and tranquil can be an added selling point of our resort.

Thank you for your recommendation that travelers may need to spend at least THB600 to go to Phuket Town, which is just 15 minutes from our resort. In fact, our resort provides guests a pleasant journey to explore Phuket Town, by offering shuttle van services between resort and Central Festival Phuket is available 2 times daily and with complimentary for our guests.

We are glad that you already mentioned that you would stay with us on next trip in Phuket. We hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent 15 days in this hotel for our honeymoon and have nothing to criticize! The welcome was very pleasant (especially after 16 hours of travel) flowers and iced tea with cinnamon and honey immediately sets the tone. The suites are beautiful, quiet and spotlessly clean. The price of the room understand many things that make the difference: mini-bar included 4 pieces of linen washed / ironed daily, shower products and quality bath (Occitan), mineral water provided, breakfast was excellent and varied, excellent service from a very attentive staff. We have benefited greatly from the extremely nice pool, thank you to the "pool boys" for their little touches every day (they bring a small bottle of water, iced tea, fruit skewer or orange ice during your bath) Please note that room service is not overloaded, ideal for dinner quickly and quietly in his room after a busy day (order from iPad chamber lent at beginning of stay). The hotel is located away from the tourist and animated parts of the island, but Phuket town is easily accessible by taxi (500B) or thanks to the free shuttles to the mall (just take a taxi to 200B to the city center) Difficult to find points to criticize, the hotel beach is not very big, but very nice and clean, you will be offered kayaking, do not hesitate to get around the course to discover other points of view. One thing is sure, we will come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Floyd C,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to read that your 15 nights stay with us was an absolutely pleasant that you had nothing to criticize.

Regent Phuket Cape Panwa definitely has a privilege location in Phuket being a privacy resort in a tranquil corner of Phuket. You appreciated the comfortable of our beautiful Suite. And YES, its included amenities; ipad , free internet, minibar, daily laundry services, the quality bath are the value added and make the difference and you seem to have made the most of it.

It is nice that you enjoyed the time relaxing by the pool and thank you for your compliment of Pool Attendant for his attentive and excellent service provided.

Thank you for mentioning that you will come back. We have already look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had gone to phuket from 18 to 21 Oct 2013 and it has been one of the best trip so far. I make yearly trips to phuket but this is the best so far. The service was awesome, the breakfast was fantastic, the rooms were fabulous. Each room come with a ipad and you are able to order food from the iPad. The wide selection of movie was another plus point. The infinity pool had a fantastic view of the sea. the staffs paid well attention to us as they prepare 2 towels & mineral water while we were swimming in the pool. The SPA was another highlight of the trip. I went for a 2 hour 30 min package. The couple room had a magnificent view and the massage was simply relaxing. If I were to find fault with this hotel is they are a little understaff for the morning buffet. It will be perfect if they can add a few more staff to cope with the crowd. However, the breakfast spread was very good. ANd we could consume everything that was available at the minibar. Thumbs up!

Regent has gone past my expectation of a 5 star hotel. Impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank il0vetraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear l0vetraveltheworld,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for sharing your rewarding review on Trip Advisor. It is great to read that you experienced the wonderful stay with us.

It seems that you loved spa pretty much, especially our sea viewed double spa treatment room. We hope that you had a great retreat and felt so much relief after the spa treatment.

We are sorry to read about the experienced at the buffet breakfast when it was very crowed. We will share this constructive comment to our Restaurant team and we took your comment as recommendations in order to improve our services. It is only through the guest feedback that we will be able to maintain our commitment to service excellence.

Once again, thank you for choosing us for this yearly trip. We wish to be at your service again soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOLTON
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights/four days as part of a special 60th birthday and retirement holiday. I find it hard to think how this hotel could be bettered. The pavilion accommodation was very sophisticated with every modern need anticipated and provided for. Many things are included which are paid for as extras in other hotels - ipads, laundry, mini bar etc. There are activities such as yoga and fitness that you can join in with. The staff were wonderfully attentive. My husband has some mobility difficulties and he loved the fact that you could just dial for a buggy which would instantly appear and take you anywhere on the site. On our final day our flight was at midnight and we were provided with a great room to relax and shower in (free of charge) until we left for the airport. Swimming in the stunning infinity pool, overlooking the nearby islands, was a memorable experience. Breakfast was excellent with a high level menu. Anyone who can stay there is very lucky and I would recommend it unreservedly. It would suit anyone except groups of young people who might want more active night life nearby. It is only a few hundred yards down the drive and road to the tip of Cape Panwa and the Aquarium, although the Cape offers limited facilities outside of the hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Pavilion room which was very spacious and private, with excellent facilities, set ami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoltonMaltesers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear BoltonMaltesers,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for taking time post your review about our resort on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to serve you and your husband during your recent retired holiday in Phuket.

How wonderful to read “5 stars” rating is not enough for us! We are glad that our spacious Pavilion provided you the comfortable and privacy stayed during all three nights with us. Apart from the efficient Buggy Service, we hope you also took the advantage of the amenities provided including the complimentary daily replenishment coffee and tea, non-alcoholic beverages and snacks.

We are proud that our Regent’s way of excellent service and hospitality complemented your special 60th birthday celebration.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plan allow, or another birthday celebration.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

On the first day of our stay, there were minor glitches here and there; shower was broken, slippers missing, broken blind on balcony door, noisy air con.. Pretty much things we could still tolerate hence we did not fuss. It's our first family holiday with our 11 months old baby so we just want to have good family time without unnecessary complaint spoiling the experience.

However we noticed there's something missing from the service. The service staffs were polite with trained smile, but we're not sure if they were really happy and that put us in awkward situations especially when we approach them for assistance as if we're troubling them. However, we decided to break the ice with the service staff in the restaurant and some of them responded better after that.

On the third day, during breakfast, I asked one of the staffs to help steam my baby's porridge. Fa, who helped us do that the previous day, was not available hence another staff helped. After five minutes, we checked but were told not yet. We checked again twice, each five minutes apart but again we're told not yet. A moment later, another staff brought the porridge and to my shocked the porridge left to a quarter bowl and was burnt! The staff was just smiling when I asked what happened, then with limited English he said, like you asked, microwave. They actually microwaved my baby organic porridge for over 15 minutes and burned it. To cut the story short, I managed to ask the chef to cook another bowl of porridge (after 30 minutes of repeat instructions), as closest to my baby's. But it took them too long and my baby's eating time passed. I requested to speak with the GM, Brice Borin, to provide our feedback and at the same time, expecting a sincere apology. But I was shocked and appalled for the second time when he responded with utmost insincerity and didn't even apologize. He was very defensive and just told me he would check. Not even a sincere word of apology, only a brief sorry before he turned away and left. Wow.

Hotel facility is okay, nothing we felt extraordinary since we expected more out of the service. Yet it was a total let down. The service staff making a mistake was something that should stay minor, for it's the leader's job to answer for and correct the mistake. And in most cases, listening ears and a sincere apology simply would settle the case.

The hotel service department is most likely reply to this write-up and say a lengthy explanation, but what we hope for is a change of service attitude, starting from the top. Hospitality is a 'heart' business, ultimately service from the heart is the only way to deliver the great customer experience. And to have service from the heart, the staffs have to be happy first.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, General Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Rita M,

Please let me begin by extending a word of thanks for your review of your stay at Regent Phuket. Although, as today comments we receive have been overwhelmingly positive, I appreciate your feedback as it allows us to attend to any issues observed thus ensuring our dedication to the complete satisfaction of our guests remains our prime goal. If you felt that you have not received the level of assistance that you expected then I would like to apologize.

I was very surprised to hear that there is “something missing from the service” when a large majority of other comments on Tripadvisor and on other social media are highlighting the quality and the warm service provided at our resort, I will address to my team regarding this aspect.

With regard to the incident of the breakfast, yes we did apologize, my chef and myself for the mistake on the cooking of Sarah’s food. By the fact that we didn’t have the organic pumpkin that morning, I also assured you that organic food was on the way to be delivered and our employee will be briefed on the cooking method of your organic baby food which had been cooked perfectly well the two previous mornings. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you feel my apology was insincere and you didn’t appreciate the apologize note with the Teddy Bear and the selection of red fruits we sent to Sarah.

May I end by saying that I hope my explanations over your comments are satisfactory because I can only reiterate that both myself and the entire team are solely dedicated to your complete satisfaction.

It was an absolute pleasure to serve both you and your family. And we hope that on your next trip to Phuket you would do us the honor of choosing us as your accommodation once again.

Warm regards,
Brice Borin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
12.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatara Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatara Wellness Resort

Property: Amatara Wellness Resort
Address: 84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Regent Phuket Cape Panwa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amatara Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatara Wellness Resort locates at Cape Panwa, on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island. Amatara Resort & Wellness features 105 rooms and suites, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now also offering all-inclusive Wellness Retreat packages including - Amatara Detox - for toxin-cleanse and refreshen your body and mind - Spa Revive - for an ultimate relaxation - Weight Management - for a sustainable weight loss or balancing body weight - Amatara Active - for physical strengthening and improve endurance - Amatara Yoga - for indulging into the world of yoga - Amatara Connect - for re-connecting and spending time with your loved ones These all retreats starts from a minimum of 3 nights and feature Thai Hammam Experience, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of Thai therapies which available only at Amatara Resort & Wellness. Amatara Resort & Wellness also have Wellness membership program starting from one month to 12 month program and Wellness Day Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings that are available everyday from 10am - 8pm. The resort has 3 restaurant outlets: The Grill, The Restaurant and The Retreat serving fine dining international as well as Thai and healthy wellness cuisines. Amatara Resort & Wellness is only 15 minutes away from Phuket Town and just 45 minutes from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amatara Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatara Wellness Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing