We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserve the nomination for world's best luxury beach resort category” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amatara Wellness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amatara Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Deserve the nomination for world's best luxury beach resort category”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed there for a three nights and four days.

Love the hotel, very beautiful place.
Love the pool, overlooking the Andaman Sea with the yatch in the background...very scenic!
Love the tropical garden, a lot of hard work for gardeners..so Bravo!
Love love a lar carte breakfast!

The hotel is quiet far, however we had no problems as we had a car to use during our stay. I would like to thanks to the Bell Team and Valet Parking for their help and welcome attitude during our stay.

Also would like to thank to Concierge team for the help provided on last minute change on our tickets due to family urgency.

We think that the service can be improved to become a real 5 stars. We noted that the staff are more attentive to foreigners, which was a bit of letting down when we paid the same rate?

For example; during breakfast one day, we were the only Thai table in the section. It was quite obvious that the staff named Noi who was in our section did not service our table at all while she was very attentive to the foreign guests the table next to us.

Would be much appreciated if the management take this into account to elevate service standard?

Overall, we are really happy! Once again, luv the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatSunshine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear NatSunshine2013,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you very much for spending four days with us and for your time sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is truly rewarding to read your wonderful review.

You obviously loved our resort, facilities, pool, sea views, landscape and breakfast! We are sorry to read about the service at The Restaurant that made you feel that foreigners get more attentive. During the breakfast buffet time, it is sometime crowded, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that may cause to you. All in all, our management takes your constructive comment and ensures the excellent service to all guests.

We certainly look forward to your return to this luxury beach resort.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    182
    57
    18
    7
See reviews for
144
611
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

There were not many kids when we stayed end of October but our six-year old daughter LOVED going to kids club (8am- 8pm) and playing with the lovely staff there... Thank you Piya, Oh and A for making our stay just perfect. I can imagine, though, the kids club is a bit small for teenagers.

We took a day trip to Coral Island from the port nearby and we felt safe in the hands of Usop with his longtail boat. The snorkeling there was fabulous and made up for the tiny beach that is part of Regent. Shallow and safe enough for kids and the 20 minute ride makes it a fun half-day trip.

The gorgeous spa is a little pricey but worth it when you sit on the expansive balcony for post treatment tea... The best view in Phuket! You can always take the free shuttle to Central Festival shopping mall and get various treatments there. We loved the room service and breakfast and staff were all lovely to our daughter. We were sad to leave.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poopieandbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear poopieandbobs,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for sharing your rewarding review on Trip Advisor. It is nice to read you and the whole family had an enjoyable holiday in Phuket.

It seems that your daughter loved our Kid’s Club; we guess that she had joined all various kid’s program we have. Thank you for your compliments of our team members, we will share your compliments with them.
You may find that the spa is pricy. We trust that our spa price is competitive compare to other hotels at the same level. Also we cautious select only high quality product for our guests. Our therapists are professional and well trained to ensure your total relaxation. It is nice to see that you took the pleasure of the sea view from the spa balcony after your treatment.

Once again, thank you for choosing us for your family holiday. We wish to welcome you and your family back soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a pool villa for my honeymoon, everything was better than expected. Actually the photos u published are not as beautiful as the real place. They made us a great surprise at the last day there :) staff are very friendly, helpful and hospitable... I wish I could stay there forever.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Ghada M,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your compliment comment on TripAdvisor. We wish you were still with us too.

It is our pleasure to be at your service and also to make your honeymoon special. We hope that you would recommend your friends to experience the romance getaway at our resort too.

Once again, thank you and look forward to welcoming you on your anniversary celebration soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We enjoyed our romantic anniversary, but found the resort a little hit-and-miss.
Positives first:
1. Location: The Regent is perched on the hills of Cape Panwa. Three sides of the resort are surrounded by the blue waters of a calm bay. The resort has a peaceful, idyllic atmosphere. Checking in was relaxing, thanks to the sea views from the lobby over the main pool, and the warm and efficient welcome from the front desk. A metered taxi from the airport costs around THB1000, and is an hour away.
2. The suites are luxurious, with hardwood floors, soft sofas and L'Occitane toiletries. There is a large dressing table.
3. The Restaurant and the Grill are the two main food outlets. There's also a rooftop lounge (happy hour is 6-7pm, look for a staircase next to a door marked "no entry" - signposting could be improved) and a poolside terrace.
4. Breakfast at the Restaurant is a mix of a la carte Western and Thai/Chinese dishes, and a buffet spread. The bread and croissants are remarkably good, and there are shavings from a leg of Iberico ham, excellent sausages, salads, mangoes and other fruits. Ham and salmon are smoked on the premises. The "boat noodles" come in a flavourful stock, though the beef is a bit chewy.
5. The Grill has delightful French/Italian cuisine - we had a memorable dinner.
6. There are also local cafés within 200 metres of the hotel's main gate (take a buggy down the hill to the gate and back). Sabai Sabai and Sawasdee were both enjoyable.
7. The Regent provides free shuttle services to the huge Central Festival mall, 15-20 minutes away.
8. The friendly taxi stand just to the left of the resort's main gate also offers return trips to Phuket Town for 700 baht (inclusive of three hours' waiting time - our driver was professional and helpful), or 2500 baht for a car and driver for a full day.

On to the negatives:
1. The beach is fairly grim, and the resort's hilly terrain means older or very young guests may have to rely on the friendly buggy service.
2. Avoid room 181. It faces the rear of the Grill restaurant complex. We could not see the sea when we were seated on the balcony, but could just glimpse it when we stood. The room faced the large kitchen exhaust outlet, partially concealed by a slatted wooden box. It was the same size, and sounded as tranquil, as a washing machine. When we arrived in our room, we were greeted by the smell of someone else's dinner from the exhaust, and by ambient music from the rooftop lounge - and the exhaust fan. On the immediate left of the balcony was the gym - thankfully no-one was playing ping-pong at the time. We asked the front desk to move us to a quiet room. We were told politely that there were no suites available. We would be placed on a waiting list, but it was "unlikely" another suite would open up. We asked for a refund on our remaining two nights, and were advised this was not possible under the advanced promotional booking we had made. Even so, we let the front desk know we would look for a hotel nearby so that we could move out. The management was quick enough to give us a complimentary upgrade to the pool villa when we were making plans to move to another hotel, being disheartened with the smell and noise from our current suite.
This was the most spacious resort villa we've ever stayed in. There are peaceful sea views from the plunge pool, sitting room, bedroom and the bathtub.
The management were responsive, writing us a courteous and thoughtful email, saying that they would look into the smell from the exhaust, since the system was designed to minimise odours, and at the sound level at the rooftop lounge.
With some improvements, including in staff communication, this resort could be truly exceptional.

Room Tip: Avoid room 181. Please read the review for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maylene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Maylene K,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you very much for posting your detailed review. We are glad to read that you had a romantic anniversary in our secluded resort.

You enjoyed the luxurious and the comfortable in our suite and its amentities. Even though we are sorry to read about your first night stay in the suite, please accept our sincere apology for shortcomings encountered. Thank you for letting us know about this problem, our team and management is always be there to assist in any way to make your stay pleasant. We take your constructive comments for our improvement.

You loved our spacious Pool Villa, breakfast, The Grill, the rooftop bar. You made the use of our complimentary shuttle service to Central Festival.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you to see our improvements. Perhaps on you next anniversary.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Decided to stay for 2 nights but extended another 2 nights. The place is awesome, great views, excellent food and wine, fantastic staff and facilities and our room was like a giant apartment with a pool. The daily breakfast was fantastic and very relaxing.

Would highly recommend this as your choice in Cape Panwa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseAlfredoOro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear JoseAlfredoOro,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is nice to read that your stay with us was “Awesome”.

You had a relaxing stay, enjoyed our facilities including the Pool Villa, the food and services. We appreciate that you would recommend us to other travellers.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our resort again soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

It was my first time in Phuket and after reading all the reviews on TA I decided to book a room for 2 nights.

I have stayed in a few hotels as I do travel a lot but this has been one of the best stays in a long time.

The views were breathtaking, the service was very good and the food was exceptional.

Given that the Hotel was build recently the rooms were well furnished.

The Spa was exceptional as I had a couple of hours to spend before my trip to the Airport. They also provided me with a Day Room which was a great gesture as I had to wait for a few hours. Hats off Regent.

The private beach was an added attraction that makes it a good selling point.

Do note that you have to spend at least 600 Thai Baht to go to Phuket Town Centre and around 900-1000 THB to the Airport and takes around an hour from the Airport to the Hotel.

I would definitely stay in the Hotel next time as it was a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy the luxuries of life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Sunil K,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your review. How nice to read you enjoyed the luxurious life during your stay with us.

You obviously have different view to some previous reviewers in the point of the beach. Yes, its privacy and tranquil can be an added selling point of our resort.

Thank you for your recommendation that travelers may need to spend at least THB600 to go to Phuket Town, which is just 15 minutes from our resort. In fact, our resort provides guests a pleasant journey to explore Phuket Town, by offering shuttle van services between resort and Central Festival Phuket is available 2 times daily and with complimentary for our guests.

We are glad that you already mentioned that you would stay with us on next trip in Phuket. We hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent 15 days in this hotel for our honeymoon and have nothing to criticize! The welcome was very pleasant (especially after 16 hours of travel) flowers and iced tea with cinnamon and honey immediately sets the tone. The suites are beautiful, quiet and spotlessly clean. The price of the room understand many things that make the difference: mini-bar included 4 pieces of linen washed / ironed daily, shower products and quality bath (Occitan), mineral water provided, breakfast was excellent and varied, excellent service from a very attentive staff. We have benefited greatly from the extremely nice pool, thank you to the "pool boys" for their little touches every day (they bring a small bottle of water, iced tea, fruit skewer or orange ice during your bath) Please note that room service is not overloaded, ideal for dinner quickly and quietly in his room after a busy day (order from iPad chamber lent at beginning of stay). The hotel is located away from the tourist and animated parts of the island, but Phuket town is easily accessible by taxi (500B) or thanks to the free shuttles to the mall (just take a taxi to 200B to the city center) Difficult to find points to criticize, the hotel beach is not very big, but very nice and clean, you will be offered kayaking, do not hesitate to get around the course to discover other points of view. One thing is sure, we will come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Floyd C,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to read that your 15 nights stay with us was an absolutely pleasant that you had nothing to criticize.

Regent Phuket Cape Panwa definitely has a privilege location in Phuket being a privacy resort in a tranquil corner of Phuket. You appreciated the comfortable of our beautiful Suite. And YES, its included amenities; ipad , free internet, minibar, daily laundry services, the quality bath are the value added and make the difference and you seem to have made the most of it.

It is nice that you enjoyed the time relaxing by the pool and thank you for your compliment of Pool Attendant for his attentive and excellent service provided.

Thank you for mentioning that you will come back. We have already look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
8.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
10.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatara Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatara Wellness Resort

Property: Amatara Wellness Resort
Address: 84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Regent Phuket Cape Panwa)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amatara Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatara Resort & Wellness locates at Cape Panwa, on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island. Amatara Resort & Wellness features 105 rooms and suites, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now also offering all-inclusive Wellness Retreat packages including - Amatara Detox - for toxin-cleanse and refreshen your body and mind - Spa Revive - for an ultimate relaxation - Weight Management - for a sustainable weight loss or balancing body weight - Amatara Active - for physical strengthening and improve endurance - Amatara Yoga - for indulging into the world of yoga - Amatara Connect - for re-connecting and spending time with your loved ones These all retreats starts from a minimum of 3 nights and feature Thai Hammam Experience, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of Thai therapies which available only at Amatara Resort & Wellness. Amatara Resort & Wellness also have Wellness membership program starting from one month to 12 month program and Wellness Day Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings that are available everyday from 10am - 8pm. The resort has 3 restaurant outlets: The Grill, The Restaurant and The Retreat serving fine dining international as well as Thai and healthy wellness cuisines. Amatara Resort & Wellness is only 15 minutes away from Phuket Town and just 45 minutes from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Southall Travel so you can book your Amatara Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatara Wellness Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing