We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple satisfaction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grill

The Grill
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$101
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Known as one of Thailand's Best Restaurants, The Grill serves the freshest seafood and the best meat cuts in a variety of local and international styles with an exceptional wine list.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Went to dinner at The Grill expecting good things as I know of Chef Justin's attention to detail. Cannot fault a thing. The amuse bouche was a lovely prawn and avocado number. The pork belly was nearly as good as my own. The palette cleanser is fun and refreshing. The meat is of top quality and cooked as ordered which is a nice change for Phuket. Simple, clean presentation. The sides were a sight to behold. Truffled asparagus, creamy mash potato with home made bacon, roasted potatoes, simple green salad. All seasoned perfectly and the house made bacon is great. Nice touch of drama with the pre-dessert: pina colada granita with a tall wisp of cotton candy. Dessert itself was a tasting plate. Rich, good quality chocolate, lovely cheese cake. Great technique and flavors.

Service was attentive. Wine list was good and the manager was on hand to recommend some wines. Justin came out during the course of the meal to talk about the food which is always a nice touch.

Great place to have a special dinner or even just for a good feed. The all day dining outlet does a mean burger too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    18
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
“One of the reason you don't need to go out of Regent Phuket Panwa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I think it's the 6th time i come here, with friends, with family, it's a mandatory stop when i'm in Phuket. The Chef Justin, is not only a great swimmer, he also cook pretty decently : D

I've never found a better price/quality ratio and i'm a food freak, it's also a great way to remind us how we used to eat before, taking our time, enjoying each bite, relaxing around a nice glass of NZ Sauvignon blanc, enjoying the talk with the Chef between dishes.. Dinner can easily last 3 hours without realizing.

Contact me if you went there and you didn't like it, i will personnally refund you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyrille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent is every aspect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My girlfriend and I ate here on our last night in Phuket. We stayed at the Radisson which just around the corner, but read the reviews for this restaurant and so took a stroll around te corner to give it a try. We weren't disappointed.

The restaurant overlooks the Cape and is beautifully set out. The service is, as with most good hotels and restaurants in Thailand, fantastic.

We had the salmon and wagyu steak with a variety of side dishes, followed by the chocolate fondant and accompanied by red wine. every part of the meal was fantastic, and I'd highly recommend the fondant!
The meal was also preceded by complimentary lobster and caviar and crispy bread. The sorbets in between courses were also a nice touch.

Highly recommend this place for a couples dinner. Excellent value ($140AUD total for two mains, dessert and wines) and excellent food, service and venue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Upper class service and value ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

If you come to a western style restaurant in an up market hotel you don't expect beach cafe prices or the same food. This is a fantastic restaurant and the best value for such a style we have had in Thailand. As suggested fare is mix of meat or fish. There is a taster menu of 3 courses at 1650 baht and for an extra 1000 baht you can a glass of wine per course. We felt that this in itself was good given prices for such restaurants in our experience around the world. The seafood is excellent. Scallops wonderful perfectly cooked. Prawn salad same. Mains of fish of day 850 baht for a whole sea bass !!!! Very very good. Wagyu strip loin again good. You have 2 side orders with these and it was too much for us!! Wine as ever in Thailand is expensive but single glasses are well priced and if you are mixing white/red prove a cheaper and more sensible option by the glass ! We couldn't do desert too full! In all we found the staff very attentive as elsewhere in the resort -excellent

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great friendly service too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

From the beautifully cooked scallops to the playfully presented amuse bouche the meal was a delight from start to finish. We visited with our 2 year old daughter and the staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome in a restaurant whose food is some of the best we have tasted in Thailand. Ok, the menu is not Thai but there are a few Thai twists to some of the dishes such as the steamed fish with lemongrass. Expensive, but not at all poor value for money. If you are staying at the hotel it is a must. If no,t then if you are looking for something western for a change then you should give it a try.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunl0unger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill also viewed

Cape Panwa, Phuket
 

Been to The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing