We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cape Panwa”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Cape Panwa”
Reviewed 3 November 2007

If you are after a wild time in Phuket this is not the place for you (stay in Patong), if you are after a quite peacful relaxing time on a private beach with no hassle then this place is quite simply amazing. We upgraded our room to a huge jacuzzi suite which has a jacuzzi on the balcony and more room than you will ever need with the most comfy bed i have ever slept on. We ate in the hotel a couple of times but the place for us was The Hill Top Restaurant just a two minute walk up the hill. The food is amazing and the owner (Night) really friendly, she will come and sit and talk to you after every meal (i think we ate in there 5 or 6 times!) i cannot recommend the restarant highly enough. She also owns the massage place next door with equally as friendly staff. We travelled into Patong 3 times, the hotel runs a shuttle bus for 240 baht return (leaving 19:30 pick up 23:30) but if you want longer in Patong we got a taxi for 800 baht return. Make sure you vist Keith Floyds restarant in Patong (opposite the Holiday Inn) the food is excellent and we were fortunate enough to meet the legend himself.

In all the hotel was amazing, the staff could not do enough for you and so far they have filled seven photo albums of repeat guests some returning as many as 22 times to this hotel!!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Price of Meals
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank phillchilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    663
    231
    79
    40
See reviews for
516
1,497
50
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Best Holiday Ever. Cape Panwa was a very quite part of Phuket away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, but close enough to visit regularly to do shopping and shows.
Everything about this hotel was wonderful. Tim (management team) and all the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. Whether we were at breakfast, by the pool or private beach or on the shuttle bus, nothing was ever a problem. The food at their 6 restaurants catered to every taste, and many times we thought we had gone to heaven.Our room was very comfortable and cleaned thoroughly every day.There was plenty of assistance if we needed to get a taxi or tour and in particular, our taxi driver Meng, near the Bay Hotel, drove us patiently to our destinations.
We cant wait to go back and take our adult children with us.
Book now.

  • Liked — Quite and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank MrsMacSilverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We have just returned from 10 days at this hotel. We cannot understand why anyone would knock it. Accomodation, food and service all superb. They provide a free shuttle bus that takes you to the small village where you can eat at other restaurants. The staff genuinely want to help and look after you. They are not looking for tips all day. If you chose to give them a 20 baht note (25p) they are grateful.You will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel. We never go back but this is one where we may have to visit again.

Helpful?
12 Thank Roy-Bowdery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayong, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2007

Rarely do I desire to stay at a resort more than once - there's just too many nice places in the world to explore. But I am more than happy to join Cape Panwa's established community of happy repeat customers.

I've stayed at the Cape twice, and I definitely plan to return. There's a certain elegance to the place that sets it apart from other Thai resorts. For example, how many hotels can count members of Thai royalty as frequent guests? On my first visit, HRH Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn was staying at the hotel - a definite thrill for Thai staff and foreign guests.

Some highlights: Happy hour at the Jazz club overlooking the cape. Get there early before the crowds and you may hear some excellent jazz piano. 2 for 1 cocktails are lovely too!
Make sure you do the trip to Coral Island. Packing your own bottle of wine and lunch makes it even nicer!

Hey, no place is perfect: I didn't like the fact that they raised the room rates around 30% in six short months since my last visit. And, even though I was a repeat customer and planned a long term stay, they wouldn't budge on the price. Later, when I found much cheaper rates via internet travel services, I was even less pleased. Conclusion: plan ahead, do your homework and don't book a room via the hotel's own website.

Also, there's no way around it, the food at the hotel restaurants is overpriced. And from there they add a 10% service charge plus 7% tax - not reasonable IMO.

But hey, these things are just nits - there are workarounds. If you're a first time or repeat visitor to Phuket, Cape Panwa is a unique experience that should not be missed!

  • Liked — Location, comfort and service
  • Disliked — A tad overpriced in some areas
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Luke_Soi_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

My husband and I just got back after spending our anniversary in Thailand. I also agree with many of the critics...it could use some updates...and it is a little far from everything. But if you don't go expecting a stay at the Ritz, you'll have a good time. The rooms are clean with good views. The breakfast is great...fresh and plentiful. The staff is absolutely wonderful! And the grounds are lovely. When the tide goes out, the beach is a little disappointing, but when the tide is in, it's beautiful.

One thing...there are A LOT of mosquitos. It would be nice if they would install screen doors in the rooms so those of us sensitive to bites could sleep with the sliding door open and be able to listen to the ocean at night
.
We didn't eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel as we thought they were a bit on the expensive side for Thailand. But the Sawasdee Restaurant in the village served very good food at very cheap prices.

There were two massage places at the top of the hill between the hotel and the village that gave good massages at reasonable prices. The hotel Spa was absolutely beautiful, but a bit overpriced.

Though the hotel offered inexpensive scheduled bus service to both Phuket Town (100 bht p/p) and Patong (400 bht p/p), the service was very limited and didn't offer too much flexibility...especially to Patong. Taxi service thru the hotel to Phuket Town was 500 baht round trip and to Patong 1000 baht round trip. However, in the village, a gentleman by the name of "Mr. Nu" offered taxi service to Phuket Town for 200 baht round trip. We used his services several times and highly recommend him...very friendly and trustworthy!

As far as tours are concerned, don't miss the John Grey "hong by starlite" tour...absolutely breathtaking!

All in all, Cape Panwa Hotel is a good value for the money. It's not glitzy or fancy, but if you want a nice place to relax and enjoy Thai culture and hospitality, this a great place. We would definitely recommend it

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — No screen door...air conditioning a little too loud
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Rebeca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We stayed at the hotel in May of this year, our second visit and have already booked to return next year.

The hotel is lovely, the service is excellent and rooms are delightful. The private beach is beautiful, tranquil and ideallic. The staff on the beach are friendly and can't do enough for you particularly Sandy and Jenny. The other members of the hotel staff are also extremely friendly too and go out of there way to help you. Dom the restaraunt manager is corteous, obliging and polite and "Ping Pong" one of the the waiters is charming and so willing to please as is everyone else who works there. All the staff appear "laid back" and happy without beng lazy and this has got to be a reflection by the way they are treated and respected by their management.

Tim the manager is "a star " who makes you feel welcome and treats you as a friend rather than a guest from the moment you arrive. He always listens to your suggestions in order to improve services (although in fairness it doesn't need improving) and will go out of his way to find out anything you may want to know. For example I was loooking for an aromotherapy shop this year and he researched this on the internet for me and told me how to get there.

The hotel is spotless, staff are honest and the food is fantastic. The breakfasts offer so much choice-be it English, European, American or Asian, be prepared to go back several pounds heavier, but they do have healthier options available too. The themed nights are great value too-my particular favourite the steak night which is excellent value for money.

The Cape is up a hill from the very small village by the sea and harbour with its aquarium which is well worth a visit and entrance fee is very cheap.The hotel offers a free shuttle bus down the hill where there are a couple of bars and choice of restraurants. The town of Phuket is about a 20 mins drive away and can be reached by taxi or a bit longer on the local bus. Hotel bus services to Patong (well worth a visit at night for its bars, market stalls, dining and atmosphere), Phuket and shopping malls can be booked from the hotel at a reasonable price, although they have set times. Services offerered at the hotel are great from spa's, massages. beauty therapies, gym to giving you a cake if you are celebrating an anniversary.

In conclusion we cant fault the hotel or staff. would give it a rating of 11/10. Lovely friendly hotel where guests return year after year as it is so welcoming.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
17 Thank LorraineandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We have just returned today from staying @ The Cape Panwa hotel, this was our 2nd visit there, yet again we had a fabulous holiday. Although the hotel is secluded, there is plenty going on for a nice relaxing holiday, batik painting, fruit carving, thai cooking lessons, scuba diving in the pool and various other activities.

The staff are fantastic, they really make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. Jaran and Somporn by the pool are very helpful, and the bell boys are all a good bunch of guys. Infact, all the staff are extremelly polite and welcoming.

The food at the hotel is very good, although it is rather pricy for Thailand, but nice for the odd treat. We like Cafe Andaman, Top of the Reef and Panwa House on the beach which has spectacular views.

We ate mostly at a small restaurant near the Bay Hotel called Sawasadee, the food and hospitality is unbeatable, the price is incredibly cheap.

We are just wondering about booking our next trip now!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
33 Thank Salisbury-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
991 reviews
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing