We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We visited this hotel last year because it was hosting my nephew's wedding reception to a Thai girl. The wedding reception was down on the lawns beside the sea. It was amazing with wonderful food, charming wedding decor - round tables and long tables with impeccable white linen table and seat covers and lighting spiralling up the palm trees. It was like a film set - The most perfect wedding location.

We decided to make our visit from Ireland into a two week holiday and booked the hotel for the sheer convenience of being at the wedding location never guessing that we had chosen such a wonderful hotel. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and with a well appointed bathroom. It was carefully cleaned every day.

The beach was delightful with soft sand and a nicely graduated waterline with excellent swimming. It was necessary to keep an eye on high and low tides for the best time to swim but that was not difficult as there was information on the tides in each bedroom and every day there was adequate high tide time to swim. The water was warm and clean. Having visited the Canary Islands previously in the winter, where swimming is mainly confined to pools, it was a joy to be able to swim in the sea on a good beach for only a small extra cost above visiting the Canaries from Britain - though I know a somewhat longer flight.

The friendliness and helpfulness of staff is outstanding and food choice and quality was excellent. Tim, the guest relations manager looked after us excellently. Our favourite restaurant was 'The Top of the Reef' and we found that buying the all-in meal tickets in advance was a great option.

After the wedding, when many guests had left, we took one of the villas with our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren. Our villa was well designed to give lots of privacy: each bedroom was large and had its own en-suite. This accommodation was the greatest delight with a good sized pool for adults and children who were learning to swim and to jump in - a granny's dream holiday!

We are looking forward to returning very soon. On this occasion we shall be on our own due to school holidays, but that won't be a problem - it is a perfect honeymoon location!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, a villa with friends or family is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayEnthusiast38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your descriptive review of your stay with us last year during a wedding reception for a family member. Your feedback will be helpful to other readers planning a wedding and/or wedding reception on a ‘delightful beach’ and having to decide on a location. The mention of the friendly and helpful staff, some by name and position, the quality and excellence of the food, and other positive features of the facilities and services of the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, has been noted and shared. We look forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    649
    229
    79
    40
See reviews for
507
1,470
49
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The newer rooms are nice, but some of tbe older accomodation doesnt look very appealing. A lot more money needs to be spent on refurbishment to justify 4 star prices. The hill up to the hotel is a nightmare.

On the positive side, the staff are good, as is the food. There is also a very good tailor called Addy, first shop on right out of the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Your review of your recent stay with us at the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is appreciated. To clarify, there is a regular free shuttle bus service for guest convenience and safety that travels up and down the hill between the two hotels. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We visited hotel in new year for 10 nights. Alltought booked allmost a year before received worst Cape Suite facing harbour over the Kitchen (C305). Hotel has a policy of 10% "service fee" added to every transaction and that seems to affect willigness to to serve. There were some fantastic exeptions but where was the smile?
Private beach was excellent and shutle services good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ylamummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your review and comments. Your “Mixed feelings,” concerning your recent 10 night stay with us over the 2013 New Year at the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, have been noted. To clarify, the 10% service fee is a government imposed regulation with many guests mistakenly assuming the hotel has acted on its own. Our staff take pride in offering a high level of service to all guests and we have shared your feedback with them. We hope our clarification has removed your doubts and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Cons
Service everywhere is appalling! Even front desk. Staff simply do not care about you and you often feel like an inconvience.
Hotel is tired. Hot tub on balcony is discusting.
No way 5 star... More like 3.

Pro
Location - beach is beautiful although a little dirty.
Rooms are nice. Shame balcony is not.
Spa - fan but overpriced

Top tips
Sunset bar at bottom of hill. You meet people and has good atmosphere.
Boat tours - hotel organised through tour guide and it was great.
Spa place on hill - one that looks like a temple - great and half price of hotel spa.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, welcome your comments, which have been shared with the team. No specific details are offered in regard to the hot tub or the balcony so it is difficult to comment. Please note that the beach is a tidal beach and the strandline is cleaned daily of marine debris by a team of cleaners. The Cape Spa offers a variety of facial and body treatments in private spa suites and the prices are competitive with similar high end resort spas in Phuket. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

If you want to escape mass tourism in Phuket then Cape Panwa hotel is the right place for you. For a start, it is a region where many locals are Muslims so its very family friendly. No loud bars are found in this area. There is a small night market close to the hotel where delicious street food such as BBQ chicken sticks, fried chicken and roti can be enjoyed. A hotel songthaew can shuttle you up and down the hill to the market area. The hotel itself is wonderful, great service and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxing! The hotel's smorgasbord for breakfast caters for every taste. The hotel's spa treatments cannot be missed, it is set in a beautiful Thai style building. I booked a treatment almost every day of my stay! We hired a long tail boat near the aquarium which took us to Banana Beach on Coral Island. This was the highlight of our trip! We swam with tropical fish. It was a beautiful experience but be wary, the over friendly fish do tend to nibble at you.


Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank suzanne843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Your favorable feedback, after your recent stay with us at the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, as “very family friendly,” is welcomed as a positive endorsement. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
254 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Our first welcome at the Cape Panwa was not so great, reception staff chatting and not making eye contact. Our room was pleasant - a large bed with a sofa in the room, balcony with a daybed - some rooms had jacuzzis or bathtubs on the balcony - but didn't seem very private. The bathroom had a large window into the bedroom! The bath was a bit grotty around the tiles and wasn't as clean as it could have been (grubby marks on the door, hairs in the bathtub). BEWARE of the hot water in the bathroom - I came very close to being scalded - it is so hot.

It was our anniversary so were were treated to some nice towel swans and a lovely cake which was a nice touch.

The hotel grounds are lovely, although its quite hilly if you have any walking problems. There seemed to be a lack of attention to detail in some places though - areas between room blocks were a bit scruffy, and the beach wasn't as pristine as you might expect. The pool is large with sunbeds around it.

Breakfast was extensive and good - but no fresh fruit juice.

Its not the hotels fault - but I was totally shocked to see the oil refinery and all the ships. I was wary about swimming in the sea as I was worried about the pollution - its very rough too.

Food and drink is quite expensive. The bar was deserted when we visited for a drink. The singer in the lounge bar was not good.

The bus over to Kantary Bay operates regularly, and I'd actually have preferred to stay over on that side - nice sunsets, more restaurants and bars too.

The hotel provides a bus to Patong Beach, Phuket town and the airport which may be handy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for your assessment after your recent stay with us at the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket. They have been noted and shared with the departments concerned, such as a dirty bathtub, which is completely unacceptable. To clarify, the deep sea port and oil refinery is located in the general vicinity of our hotel but it cannot be seen from the Cape Panwa Hotel and beach. Thank you again taking the time to comment and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in December 2012 and this resort is absolutely amazing, from check in to check out the service was great, and small touches were the added benefit.We stayed in the Cape Suite (free upgrade Shhh"""", think it happens to a few people based on other reviews here) with a King Size bed, a sun bed and jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the ocean.This was just amazing.We stayed in the suite with our 2 sons who are 4 and 1 yrs respectively, the next day the towels and complimentary waters were upped to 4 to cater for the 2 additional "guests" without even requesting it, that is great service and paying attention to detail.In respect of the Private Beach, this is solely for resort guests and i tested the theory which proved to be exactly that, purely for hotel guests.The breakfast spread was great with a good variety to choose from , although i do think the staff could do something to assist with keeping the flies off the food stuff( only on specifc food items anyway), the danish assortment was yummy and really made the final cup of coffee a must.I didnt notice any rude staff and thought the staff were freindly and courteous, all the while playing with the kids and waving along as we walked by.The free shuttle down the road to the local market was a pleasure( I ventured only once down the hill, and NEVER again) and one must definitely try the Banana pancake with Egg batter made by one of the locals while sitting on his motorbike at his vendor stall for just THB40, hmmmmmm yummy.All round a brilliant place to stay and we loved every bit of this resort and it is a definite must when i return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BufsZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
As an “All around brilliant place to stay and (you) loved every bit of this resort and it is a definite must when (you) return” the Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your positive review of your recent stay with us for 6 nights. We are pleased we met your expectations and look forward to your soonest return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing