We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing holiday”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at Cape Panwa for seven nights in June in a Cape Suite and it was one of the best holidays we have had. This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location with staff that couldn't do enough for us. Our package included breakfast - I don't see how anyone could complain about the range of food and service provided. We also had a free trip to Coral Island which was a wonderful day out. The beach was excellent - plenty of room for everybody and we had no problem walking up and down the steps. We used the hotel's shuttle to go into Phuket and Patong a few times for shopping and a night out. Price was very reasonable and they were on time, every time to pick us up. The shuttle bus up and down the hill was handy too although we often walked. We always stopped in at Uncle Johns Bar & Coffee (run and owned by John, formerly barman at the CPH) for a drink or two before tackling the last part of the hill. John is the friendliest person we met in Cape Panwa and his cocktails are awesome! We had such a good time at Cape Panwa that we have already booked for 10 nights next July. Just wish it could be for longer - and sooner!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, also wishes you could be back for longer and sooner and looks forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for your informative and descriptive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 2,701 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

As an insomniac, I tend to find sleeping in a new place difficult, at least for the first night. However, Cape Panwa's bedroom was comfortable and I can safely say that I have never slept better in a hotel room. The hotel, while not new, is reasonably well maintained. The buffet breakfast was plentiful if not exactly outstanding. Hotel guests can access a gorgeous powdery white beach by a quaint inclined lift. There is free wifi at public areas – which includes the beach. However, the hotel does make it troublesome to access this; guests have to retrieve a ticket from the reception which prints out a rather cumbersomely long user name and password -with a 24 hour time limit. I was also somewhat taken aback by the attitude of most of the hotel’s staff. Most Thais that I’ve met in the hospitality industry are extremely gracious and polite. However the staff at Cape Panwa tended to be aloof and some could not speak English well which resulted in some funny miscommunications. Other than those two gripes, our stay at Cape Panwa was near perfect.

Room Tip: No tip for rooms, but if you want to head to Phuket town, do make use of the hotel-subsidized shutt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, after your recent stay with us, thanks you for your positive feedback while the expressed concerns have been shared with our team. We were sorry to hear you experienced some miscommunication with our staff but please note our team continues to undertake regular English training lessons as part of our ongoing guest relations training programme. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cape Panwa recently and it was breathtaking. Anything and everything that you could want is in the immediate environ. No need to go to the busy tourist areas unless you choose to and they have shuttle services to take you if you want.
The rooms, the service, the staff, the restaurants were all perfect. Cannot fault. And when we were checking out we had a side bet with each other as to what the tab would be, as we had eaten at each of their 5 restaurants, had drinks by the pool and put everything on the tab. We were both blown away with the low price. We spent less in 8 days there than we did in one day in Singapore

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiverGalleryInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to learn that your recent stay with us was enjoyable, peaceful, and pleasant while exceeding your expectations in terms of reasonable cost or value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay again soon. Thank you for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent 3 nights in Seaview Room near restaurant. Bedding great and good selection for breakfast. Spa and facilities great especially beachfront with excellent staff at beach cafe. However staff at reception during the day left a lot to be desired, standing around chatting to themselves and ignoring guests, failing to advise that tickets required for shuttle bus and generally unhelpful. Late afternoon, evening staff were excellent though. Great Italian restaurant below near Kantary House.

Room Tip: Seaview room was good but our room close to restaurant and entertainment too loud at night. Would su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is happy to learn that your recent stay of 3 nights with us was enjoyable, peaceful, and pleasant. Your mention of attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them, while your expressed concerns have been shared with our team. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Although I shouldn't complain - I will.

On the whole I am always treated very well at Cape Panwa but I wouldn't expect a 5 star service. Reception need to pull their finger out - I blame management for lack of '5 star' training. Housekeeping are great - if I am lucky they sometimes attempt to clean the whole room but often leave little surprises for me such as dirty cleaning rags and a half made up room with no towels. In comparison to recent years Housekeeping this year have been the biggest disappointment. The cleanliness of the hotel rooms and the beach has deteriorated. The beach as become cluttered with unused loungers and litter that isn't cleared up fast enough. Guests also had to miss out on various activities due to the hotel hosting Phuket Raceweek. Two of the guests had to safe a women who drowned in the pool and wasn't breathing because there was no lifeguard or a first aid trained member of staff on duty. The Restaurant staff are no longer efficient. Complaining to the hotel doesn't make a difference because no one really cares which is why I am writing this review because I genuinely want the Hotel to up their game and do better. I do believe the beach to be one of the most beautiful private beaches in Phuket during high tides and I would really like it to be kept that way especially when I travel a long way and pay good money to be there. I am baffled as to why Cape Panwa has been awarded 5 stars and I hold the management team completely responsible for its failure to deliver.

Yep, Disappointed!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view but if you don't like your room when you arrive then just ask to cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kokoyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to provide feedback.
We were pleased to learn that on the whole you were always treated well however we apologise for not meeting or exceed your expectations during Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek. To clarify, all facilities and guest activities were in full service during the event. In addition, special activities such as the outdoor moonlight cinema were added to the activity schedule.
We agree on the importance of training and we emphasize this to staff through regular skills training programmes. The programme includes compulsory first aid and CPR training for pool and beach attendants, which was most recently carried out on 23 June 2013 by certified trainers. The hotel does not have a specific lifeguard on duty at the pool or at the beach and safety is covered in detail in the in-room compendiums as well as notice boards in concerned areas. The guest who fainted in the swimming pool was professionally attended to by staff members who administered first aid quickly and effectively.
We are pleased to hear you still think our beach is one of the best and we have passed on your feedback to the dedicated beach cleaning team who ensures the beach area is cleaned daily.
We appreciate and value your comments and suggestions and we take all feedback seriously. We have shared and discussed your comments with the specific departments and would like to reassure our guests that we provide the utmost care and attention to our guests at all times. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Although we didn't stay at the Cape Panwa Hotel we were at it's sister hotel (Kanatry Bay) and he access to the hotel facilities which were fantastic. The trip between the two hotels involves a VERY steep hill but there is a shuttle bus between the two (scheduled for every 30 minutes but seemed to run more frequently) The private beach is fantastic and the staff very friendly and attentive. The Phuket race week was held at the hotel while we were there but despite the extra guests and activities this in no way distracted the staff from looking after the guest who were not part of the regatta.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank TheHitman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, and the Kantary Bay, Phuket, are pleased to note that your recent stay during the Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek was enjoyable, peaceful, and pleasant. Your mention of access to and use of our facilities while staying at our sister hotel, the Kantary Bay, Phuket, is appreciated. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we stayed at cape panwa hotel after staying four days in Singapore we were there for sixteen days we had a great time the hotel was clean the food was very good there was something for every one the staff were very nice Tim was always there on hand to help he was great nothing was any bother to him .Varrom was lovely he was looking after the pool from about 6am to8 then he was on breakfast duty and on the pool bar till 3 he looked after every one at the hotel.the staff that worked in the light house bar were great toour rooms were great we were in the junior suites we did not have much off a view we were looking into the trees we got used to it.The beach was great .the only thin the beach bar closed at about 5.30 it would have been nice if it opened till about 9.

Room Tip: If you want a view in the junior suites ask for the 3rd or 4th floor we were u112 good room no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement after your stay of 16 days with us. Your mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff, in general, and also by name, has been shared with them. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,318 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: £86 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing