We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappear here !”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile


We loved this place.  if there is one part of Phuket that can still be deemed as "unchartered territory"; well, that  is  cape Panwa. Definitively  the  place to be! 
We drove around Phuket on  the first day : patong , surin , kata beach , karon and so on. 
I Can't begin to describe how horrified I was!  everything seemed appallingly busy, tacky, unattractive, commercial-tourist-trap... We got stuck in a traffic jam for 2hours, an endless stream of motorbikes, everlasting traffic lights at every corner. I live in London , that is not exactly a small village , but ( believe me) i have never seen something like this. 

We got back that night to the hotel and locked the car key away.  (we rented a car as we thought that cape Panwa could be a  little bit "remote" ,from the centre  but that was utterly unnecessary.
Tip: save  the 4000 Thai baht for 4-day car rental  and buy yourself cocktails to drink on the beach instead. 

We spent the rest of the holiday in the resort and in the immediate surroundings ; small family-run  restaurants with authentic thai food , nice cafes with yummy ice creams and home made cakes , promenade along the beach   and that's when it felt like proper tropical island holiday.  

Cape Panwa hotel is a well hidden pearl :friendly staff , spacious rooms nice pool   ,amazing tropical private beach,  straight out of some postcard, good restaurant and bar choice for every liking and not too expensive. 
We got complimentary upgraded to a junior suite with private Jacuzzi on our terrace overlooking the beach, that was obviously the icing on the cake. 

If you  want a break from your life and from the world ....DISAPPEAR HERE! 

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giocri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement of the pearl of our self-contained property and location as a place to disappear and just enjoy one’s stay. The mention of our attentive and friendly staff has been passed on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another opportunity to disappear here. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,159 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel, found a lot of improvements to the rooms which have been updated since our last visit, we stayed in a cape suite which was large and comfortable, not sure the jacuzzi is a good idea though. The room was kept clean with some nice touches (the elephant made from towels and orchids )our one niggle was that the balcony was not cleaned throughout the two weeks we were there. The beach was kept nice and although the hotel was full sun beds were always available , we found all the staff were pleasant and friendly maybe reception staff should be more fluent in English but we got by with just a few misunderstandings and after all we were in Thailand. We ate mostly in the village as we found the hotel a bit pricey but visited the lighthouse bar for happy hour at night, overall we had a great time, do think the hotel should drop the Coral Island trip though, that was very poor with the included buffet inedible ( flies all over it ) but we were in a party of seven and overall a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2093SandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your observations with us and our readers after your fourth visit. Your mention of the balcony has been shared with our team while the observation on staff has been noted. We look forward to your soonest return. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We arrived in Phuket after 10 days of sightseeing near Bangkok. We were looking forward to the 3 day stay at this hotel to end our 2 year Anniversary trip in Thailand. Our time at this hotel was very relaxing and a much needed getaway from the bustling city life. The room felt very romantic with the jacuzzi and private beach view on the balcony. I loved every second of it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is very pleased to hear you loved our secluded beach and that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another romantic stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Cape Panwa Hotel at the end of October after purchasing a Scoopon deal, and absolutely loved our time there. We stayed in a Cape Suite overlooking the pool, the room was spacious, comfortable, had a big balcony with a jacuzzi and was always cleaned well by staff.
Having read some poor reviews before we went I was slightly worried, but I have to say we really couldnt fault much at all during our time there. Learning a Thai "hello" and "thank you" go a long way - surprised at the number of people who didnt take the time to learn such a simple courtesy and expect the staff to speak their own language....hmmm why not just stay at home if you want a holiday where everyone speaks your language. Having said that, we never had any communication problems with staff, and found them friendly and helpful at all times. We did witness several times other guests speaking very rudely to staff but still staff remained polite.
Some of the highlights of our Cape Panwa stay were the Coral Island trip one day, relaxing on the beautiful private beach of the hotel drinking coconuts, a couple of visits to the gorgeous Cape Spa, a few night time trips to Patong (which made us realise how happy we were to be staying out of the madness at beautiful Cape Panwa!) and cheap massages in the nearby village and along the hill on the way out of the hotel. The food at the hotel was lovely we ate at Cafe Andaman every morning and found it to be a great variety, had dinner one night at Panwa House which was beautiful and we also really enjoyed the meals at Sawasdee restaurant in the village - well worth a visit.
We left very relaxed and happy, with lots of great memories and would definitely return to visit Cape Panwa again!

Room Tip: Definitely spoil yourself go for a Cape Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to learn that we met your expectations and that your stay with us was enjoyable, pleasant, and relaxing.
Your appreciation of our staff has been on passed to them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another peaceful holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel located on a hill and has a private beach in cape Panwa, a place very far away from noisy patong area. It is traditionally decorated but very cozy, in which I can enjoy the peaceful moment. Hotel staff are very nice as usual and the food was good.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RueiLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your positive feedback and looks forward to seeing and serving you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

While we were on our trip to Thailand in September 2013, my wife and I decided to cash some of our "Bonus Mileages" with Thai Airways by taking a mini vacation to Phuket. So this trip was totally free for us.

Our stay in Phuket was for four days and three nights. We stayed at the Cape Panwa Hotel. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was above average but good. We had our dinners at nearby restaurants in the area. We also enjoyed the private beach as well as Panwa's swimming pool.

On the day of our departure, we had all the luggage down awaiting the arrival of our transport. From nowhere a butler shows up and accused us of leaving without paying. My wife pulled out the receipts that showed that we already prepaid. He took our receipts to the front desk person who made a phone call to Thai Airways confirming that all was paid for. This incident delayed us for over half an hour to get to the airport causing us to miss our flight and catch the next one. As a result we missed an important meeting in Bangkok.

Based on the above experience, we will not be repeat customers at Cape Panwa Hotel.

Room Tip: Hot and humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, shares your disappointment on your departure after your recent stay with us and apologises for the incident which has been shared with our team. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not sure why I didn’t review this place sooner, had a great time at the Cape Panwa hotel. Receptionist were so hopefully as were all of the staff, food was great (there is also an amazing local restaurant just down the hill, but I can remember the name, but jump on the shuttle bus!).
Location is perfect for a quiet get-away although you are some way from Phuket town and the main tourist attractions, but there are shuttles there also.
Fantastic place, lovely people, would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your positive feedback on your stay with us and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon. Your mention of our helpful staff, some by department, has been shared with them. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,303 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: £86 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing