We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really that good”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I don't think it's good n also thinking the comments was not real.

Firstly the staff there was unfriendly except few in the restaurant . Spa staff also, if u have tried another hotel in Phuket, Cape Panwa will not in my list anymore.

Breakfest with less choices, hotel signage not enough, swimming pool so small, tower was dirty......many many unreasonable reasons.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is sorry to not have met your expectations and thanks you for your commentary. We have shared your feedback with the relevant departments and we would welcome the opportunity to receive more specific details about your stay sop that we can review and rectify issues. Please email me at gm@capepanwa.com and thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just got back from a weeks stay here - the hotel is fantastic! the staff are friendly and helpful. Perfect if you want the quiet private island getaway. only 1/2 an hour to all major attractions....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KcFountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to learn that our property, location, facilities, and service met your expectations and we look forward to seeing and serving you again in the near future. Thank you for your endorsement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

First, let me say that our Junior Suite was wonderful. I highly recommend a room in the upper levels of building T, which affords spectacular views. The service here was excellent, professional, and very friendly. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed.

The strongest asset of the hotel has to be the shuttle to/from Cape Panwa village, which runs every ten minutes. Lots to eat over there; we especially recommend Sawasdee and the Indian restaurant over the hotel dining. In addition, the massage parlors on the hill between the hotel and the village are affordable and excellent.

Now the negatives. The food at the hotel, while okay, frequently gave us tummy aches. This could be our weak North American stomachs, but I'm thinking not.

The other complaint has to do with the clientele, which is primary made up of Russians and Australians. These are some of the rudest people you'll meet in your journeys. They tend to be rude both to other travelers and to locals, and smoke excessively, at the beach, pool, and local venues, which may make Cape Panwa generally undesirable for families and the health-conscious.

The beaches here are also dirtier that observed elsewhere, which is both a reflection of the sad reality of the environment in this part of the world, as well as of littering by beachgoers.

So, I leave Cape Panwa with mixed feelings. Many have given better reviews, so clearly your mileage will vary.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank JoshuaandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your feedback with us and our readers, after your recent stay. To clarify, the hotel attracts many guests from Europe including the UK and Scandinavia, but a very low number of Russians. There is also a very low number of Australians who stay with us during this time of year. Your observations have been shared with our team and we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed at Cape Panwa as part of a wedding group that was held at a nearby resort. On arrival it was a beautiful place with truly amazing views of the beach and surrounding tropics.

The resort is quite large so I loved that you dont feel a crowd when you are there, but the rooms are rather far away from the lobby, pool and restaurants which is good because it's quiet but a little tiresome as well. Staff are friendly and nice but sometimes a little non-existent (e.g. the spa was completely empty when we wanted to inquire and when someone finally came they didnt have any good slots so my BF and I just ended up at another spa nearby).

The rooms are nice - the superior double room was quite spacious but the bathroom was a little small to my liking. I had a beautiful seaview which was very pleasant. Some others in the group had the junior suite which was nice but it had an awfully secluded location which involved a lot of walking and stair climbing from the lobby so personally wouldn't recommend it for the price difference. I saw some of the villas there as well - they dont seem very private because I could look right into their private pools when i was standing at the main hotel swimming pool area.

They have a shuttle bus every 20min that brings you down to the main road (down because it is up a miraculously steep slope but that goes for most of the resorts in that area) which was very convenient. Between them and their sister resort Kantary Bay which is just next door they have plenty of restaurants - the menu seems about the same for the couple of restaurants we tried but that said, the food was pretty good.

The hotel states that wifi is free in public areas but what they dont tell you is that you have to get a unique password and login from the front office every day because it only lasts for 24hours which is a little bit of a pain - then again if you're here on holiday then it shouldn't matter too much unless you want to social media your way through the trip (which was what alot of us were doing).

All in all, a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. I think its quite reasonable in terms of price. The whole area is not particularly near any bustling city so its a great place to just relax and unwind with the beach right at your doorstep (yes I almost forgot to mention, there is a private beach which is gorgeous and you can do water sports and activities there too).

Probably would return.

Room Tip: Dont go for the junior suites they are very very far and you have to walk alot to reach them. The su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your review with us and our readers after your recent stay. Your informative observations should be helpful to other readers planning a trip to Phuket and we hope to welcome you back again for another stay with us again soon. Many thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We recently stayed here as it was a ideal central location to meet our son who is living in oz . It was our first time to Thailand and didnt really know where to stay so we went on the advice of our travel agent and it was superb .the rooms, The pool , the location, the beach, All beautiful. the food in the restraunts was good but we decided Thai food was not top of our list for favourites. All the staff were superb as is all the Thai people we met , where ever we went be it to patong or any of the busy places did not feel uncomfortable about safety. dont hire a car taxis are very reasonable our driver took us to patong (1 hour drive) waited for us while we shopped & saw the night life at Banglar rd drove us back late that night was less than £30 inc tip . A couple of things about the hotel We were very unhappy about & I let them know too was the WiFi its free in the lobby you have to open a stupid piece of paper for the password every day , if you want wi fi in your room you have to pay ... a lot . out of principle we would not pay it because by no means is this not a cheap hotel . we met a couple of back packers staying in a 200 bht (£4) per night room and they had free wifi !? Come on cape panwa hotel small things to you make your guests happier . another niggle the sunbeds on the balconys are lovely but you cant use them cos the 4 inch thich foam is constantly sodden from the rain & you cant move them to drain cos they weigh a ton. Tim an english expat has a desk in the lobby have to say he is very helpfull & on our side. theres a shuttle bus that goes to all the local shops / resteraunts 2 mins to get you up the hill and down try the sunset bar they good as gold in there but some of the resteraunts are hit n miss on more than one occasion one of our group of 5 was being served mains when another was getting desert . but all said cant wait to go back .....When WiFi is free throughout the hotel . we will be watching & waiting cape panwa hotel

Room Tip: we had 3 rooms ours was r219 other than the sodden sunbed was great view out to sea port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to have met your expectations, while expressed concerns with complimentary WiFi in room and the balcony sun beds have been shared with our team. The positive mention of our staff and hotel guest relations manager have been shared with them. Thank you for your informative feedback and we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile


We loved this place.  if there is one part of Phuket that can still be deemed as "unchartered territory"; well, that  is  cape Panwa. Definitively  the  place to be! 
We drove around Phuket on  the first day : patong , surin , kata beach , karon and so on. 
I Can't begin to describe how horrified I was!  everything seemed appallingly busy, tacky, unattractive, commercial-tourist-trap... We got stuck in a traffic jam for 2hours, an endless stream of motorbikes, everlasting traffic lights at every corner. I live in London , that is not exactly a small village , but ( believe me) i have never seen something like this. 

We got back that night to the hotel and locked the car key away.  (we rented a car as we thought that cape Panwa could be a  little bit "remote" ,from the centre  but that was utterly unnecessary.
Tip: save  the 4000 Thai baht for 4-day car rental  and buy yourself cocktails to drink on the beach instead. 

We spent the rest of the holiday in the resort and in the immediate surroundings ; small family-run  restaurants with authentic thai food , nice cafes with yummy ice creams and home made cakes , promenade along the beach   and that's when it felt like proper tropical island holiday.  

Cape Panwa hotel is a well hidden pearl :friendly staff , spacious rooms nice pool   ,amazing tropical private beach,  straight out of some postcard, good restaurant and bar choice for every liking and not too expensive. 
We got complimentary upgraded to a junior suite with private Jacuzzi on our terrace overlooking the beach, that was obviously the icing on the cake. 

If you  want a break from your life and from the world ....DISAPPEAR HERE! 

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giocri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement of the pearl of our self-contained property and location as a place to disappear and just enjoy one’s stay. The mention of our attentive and friendly staff has been passed on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another opportunity to disappear here. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel, found a lot of improvements to the rooms which have been updated since our last visit, we stayed in a cape suite which was large and comfortable, not sure the jacuzzi is a good idea though. The room was kept clean with some nice touches (the elephant made from towels and orchids )our one niggle was that the balcony was not cleaned throughout the two weeks we were there. The beach was kept nice and although the hotel was full sun beds were always available , we found all the staff were pleasant and friendly maybe reception staff should be more fluent in English but we got by with just a few misunderstandings and after all we were in Thailand. We ate mostly in the village as we found the hotel a bit pricey but visited the lighthouse bar for happy hour at night, overall we had a great time, do think the hotel should drop the Coral Island trip though, that was very poor with the included buffet inedible ( flies all over it ) but we were in a party of seven and overall a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2093SandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your observations with us and our readers after your fourth visit. Your mention of the balcony has been shared with our team while the observation on staff has been noted. We look forward to your soonest return. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#2 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,296 reviews
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: £98 - £1,230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing