We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit but not our last”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First visit but not our last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I travel frequently and are luckily able to take several holidays a year but with all those journeys we very, very rarely go back to the same place more than once.

So it is with some pleasure, and surprise to ourselves, that only a few days after our return we have already decided to rebook Cape Panwa for next year. That probably says enough about the hotel for any casual review reader but let's just to flesh this out a bit.

Staff clearly like and respect each other and this friendliness percolates down to everyone being very helpful and courteous all of the time. For example, I forgot my razor and as I was unable to get to the local supermarket immediately, Marck on reception went out of his way to go and get his personal razor complete with new blade, which he left in our room whilst we were at dinner. He did not take any payment for it.

Tim the assistant manager proudly showed us around for an hour on our arrival and proved helpful throughout our fortnight's stay. Wairoon (the pool guy - not sure how you spell his name) was always humorous and attentive.

As for the hotel itself, many things stick in our minds among which was the beautiful view from our room; the peace of the resort (no 'piped' or loud music either at the beach or by the pool); excellent breakfasts, free shuttle to try various local restaurants or to watch the sunset in the evenings; safe walking to nearby locations such as bars; warm seas and clean pools and above all, discreet, friendly and helpful staff all over the resort.

Can we get away with a small criticism? Perhaps the hotel could ask clients not to smoke in the dining areas at mealtimes. European clients are used to this of course but some Eastern European / Russian guests feel it is normal to chain smoke even when seated close to other diners. To be fair, if the hotel feels it does not want to disallow smoking outright, there is so much space in the dining areas that perhaps a separate area could be set aside for those who really need to smoke after each course. This is a personal view but we believe it is worth a mention as we have to deal with people with oral cancer on a regular basis so perhaps we are biased!

See you next year!

Room Tip: The room we had in R block had a great view and was very remote which suited us perfectly but may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, looks forward to your return next year and is pleased you shared your observations with us and our readers in a descriptive review. Your thoughtful mention of our friendly and helpful staff, and management personnel, several by name and position, has been shared with them. Your comment on designated smoking areas has been shared with our team in the hope of a positive resolution for the enjoyment of our guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    644
    227
    79
    40
See reviews for
499
1,455
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Cape panwa

L413 suite older but perfect sea view
O103 superior room nice quiet nice view newer renovated but at back of hotel near bins and staff residence
C302 suite newer renovated overlooking pool not really sea view

On arrival we were welcomed with a refreshing towel and a speedy check in. The pack with our Room key had 2 vouchers for a free drink each at a choice of 2 bars and 10% off at the shops near the sister hotel. The reception area is beautiful and the staff friendly.

We stayed in both the cape suite and a superior room (due to a 3 day drip we checked back into a basic room as we were flying early next morning) cape suite beautiful,with sitting area, massive bed, kitchenette, nice bathroom and dressings area, of course the jacuzzi on the large decking area with day bed.
The superior room, had a smaller bed (still king size) no sitting area or kitchenette and a small bathroom, and no jacuzzi, however still perfectly adequate.

Had dinner on the beach first day we had a small beer a coffee and both had a cheese sandwich and it came to 1000bht aprox £18 thought this was a little expensive especially when we had room service 2 courses each and it cost about the same!

The day bed looked a little unkept (im not saying they were, they just looked tht way, sun, myna bird and tan cream damage) maybe if there were some cleaning fluid and a cloth in the room you could be sure they were clean by cleaning yourself, I would have felt better if I could have done this.

Had dinner at sabai sabai just a short walk from the hotel up the first hill on the right, had plenty to eat, the staff were very friendly and the bill very reasonable. We spent the rest of our trip eating at the fish restaurant down at the town Leam panwa, this is owned by the hotel, there is an extensive fish menu and also Thai menu, and the food was lovely. The place itself is very relaxing also.

We tackled the hill just 1 time to the sister hotel and the rest of the time we used the shuttle bus unless you a crazy you will do the same. We are both very fit but when it is 32 degrees and cars struggle to get up them it's a no brainer!
We used the supermarket for drinks and stocked up the fridge in the room.

We didn't have any problems at all with staff, all friendly, polite and all with fairly good English, if they couldn't understand they got someone who could. We had a small issue with one of the rooms and that was rectified immediately.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrylouisek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your observant feedback which should be useful to our many readers planning a trip to Phuket. We are happy to have met your expectations for an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us and thank you for your mention of our friendly, polite, and no problem, staff, which has been noted and passed onto them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from our fourth holiday at this beautiful hotel and had the most wonderful holiday. We received the most warm welcome from all the staff and also met other guests who we have seen other years. The hotel just seems to get better and better. We purchased meal vouchers 800 bht each and by buying 10 we got three free( buy five and get one free) which meant that we had many wonderful meals at the hotel. Top of the Reef is our favourite, however the Friday steak night was amazing plus the Panwa House - on the beach serving original Thai meals was very romantic and tasty. We hired a long tail boat and had a tour of the coast from sea which was fab. We also hired a taxi and went to visit the Big Buddah, had an elephant ride and visited an orchid farm - and managed to get back to the hotel for 2.30 to soak up more sun and chill off in the sea. As usual Jennifer and Sandy were there to serve us on the beach and the Andaman cafe, Tim and Damian were very helpful as front of house, and the Panwa Trio Band played for us every evening where we enjoyed the happy hour at the Light House Bar, not forgetting darling Simon. As usual the Curry restaurant in the village was brilliand and Sea Breeze and Swasadee great for a Thai meal. We will deninitely return next year and recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We like to overlook the Bambooo Beach Bar - but all rooms have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trisha096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your very positive recommendation and is pleased to know that your 4th holiday with us met your expectations. Thank you for your appreciative mention of the attentive, friendly, and helpful management and staff, many by name, whom made this holiday another fantastic holiday with us. We look forward to your return next year. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

C - Character building
A - Amazing food
P - Professional staff
E - Excellent service

P - Peaceful location
A - Absolute paradise
N - Notable hotel
W - Wonderful views
A - Awaiting my return!

I could go into more detail but I think this spells it out clear enough!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitty671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to receive your innovative and fun positive endorsement of our property, facilities, staff, management, location, and ambiance. We look forward welcome you back again very soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our 14th year back to cape panwa my husband and i love it .Were not the only ones that keep coming back we see the same faces every year . the new day core looks lovely the staff are just gorgeous especially jennifer & vroom And all the staff at the front desk are very helpfull . and of course tim such a great help this year i recomend this hotel to all my friends cant wait till next year

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wena1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement after your 14th year with us and has extended your appreciation for our staff and management, some mentioned by name or position, to them. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 15th year with us! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Myself and my Danish girlfriend were on our first hliiday together and came to Cape Panwa as her parents were stayng in the sister hotel, Kantary Bay hotel. Upon arrival, we were met with nothing but warm welcomes and brought to our room which turned out to be the most impressive sight to beold. I had contacted Tim via Facebook and asked for the room T301 in the junior suites as i had read a review with this room mentioned. Tim arranged for us to have this room and we cant thank him enough as it was truly special.

THe private beach is beautifully tranquil and a joy to just take it easy strolling up and down finding seashells. You can either go tot the bar for food/drinks or gravb their attentiona nd they will bring it to you. There was a large selection of food/drinks to choose from. Try the chicken skewers with peanut butter sauce with a cold Chang.

Breakfast in the mornings catered for everyones requirements and there was nothing you couldnt have no matter how picky you are.

We ate most evenings in the hotel restraunt and the menus were so vast, there was always something to satisfy your hunger/curiosity. THe BBQ nights in Fridays are special. You choose your meat raw, bring it to the counter and they will cook it for you while you tast the large variations of food available.

The lighthouse bar had happy hour every evening as did the oyster bar. If you prefered a few drinks in your room on the balcony, you could simply go to the supermarket by the Kantary Bay Hotel by walking or taking the shuttle bus. It is quite steep for walking and the route back is much more challenging than the way out. but still a good way to burn off your dinner.

On check out, we feared it would be a disaster as we didnt have to leave the hotel till 8 in the evening and had to check out at 12. But this was not an issue, as our luggage was put in a secure room.When I settled up the bill, I was apprehensive as I had charged eerything to our rom but surprisingly it only came to less than 1000 euro. We spent the day by the pool andhad a shower in the gym and were ready and fresh heading off to the airport.

I cannot compliment the hotel enough and have to say it was the first truly relaxing holidays I have had. We will definately return here as do my partners parents for the last 9 years and I can understand why. I generally dont go tot the same place twice, but we are already planning to return next year again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathalConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to have you share your informative review with us and our readers after your recent enjoyable and pleasant stay with us. Your appreciation of our guest relations manager and staff has been noted and shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another sojourn with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Coming back here is like coming home, even the guests are the same as last year. The staff are fabulous as always and Tim, the customer relations manager could not have been more helpful.
If you fancy an early drink or a nightcap try Uncle John's bar at the top of the road, he's a real sweetheart and brings out nuts or fruits when you go there. Avoid the sunset bar at the bottom of the hill. The guy there is arrogant and will rip you off. If you want to go off site the Ship is is a 300 baht taxi ride away. It's got lovely views over the sea but the food just comes as its ready, forget courses or whether your partner's meal is ready. All part of the charm really.
Now for the moan. As you will know from other reviews, the beach and all facilities are shared with Kantary bay hotel. We got yo know and chat with many of them and came to terms with sunbed saving etc. However one chat who comes every year and hates children grumbled at 3 teenager s who were playing a quiet game of ball in the beach pool. Well here's the thing Mr. Grump THIS IS NOT YOUR HOTEL. These kids parents had paid good money for them to stay at Cape Panwa and there are two perfectly good pools at Kantary bay. So if you are going to share our hotel at least let our guests enjoy their own facilities.
Rant over but it really made me cross.
All in all though a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank angela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your feedback and your concern for other guests, including teenage guests. Your informative commentary regarding the neighborhood facilities and services should be useful to other readers planning a stay with us, while your appreciation for our staff and management, some by name, has been shared with them. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing