We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

location is fantastic. its a bit far out of phuket town but that suits us just fine. panwa village has half a dozen restaurants which are all very good especially 'sawadee'.

staff at the hotel are brilliant & cant do enough for you.

the hotel itself has been one of the best on the island with the like of pierce brosnan, leonardo di caprio, oliver stone & catherine zeta jones staying during the 90's. BUT, that kinda sums thinks up for me its best days are behind it & it needs some TLC as some parts look tired. it looks like they've started this process with one wing shut down for renovation. i dont know how long this will take but i'm sure when they complete it will be back on top.

so, in my opinion great location, great staff just a little tired round the edges right know!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlimBoyFat1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,518
    652
    229
    79
    40
See reviews for
509
1,471
50
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh Scotland UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Okay, we have spent some amazing times jumping about the globe, however every 6 months of so we are drawn back to the Panwa. If you have taken the time to read through some of the feedback I am sure you will understand the reason why. However a couple of pointers as to why we return:

1) Management Team amazing : a true culture of wanting to "make your experience the best" Tim well done, I totally understand that to make things run smoothly the swan's legs can be powering through the water, however to the untrained eye you and your team effortlessly and gracefully deal with all situations in a quiet , professional and respectful way....this is a gift, well done again.

2) The range of people you meet from all walks of life and equally all amazing in there outlook , never have I been quite so relaxed with such a diverse group of people, its not just the surroundings , its actually the people you meet when there which makes it also so so special. We have been blessed over the years and have a great time this year with the people we met....you know who you are Mines is a "Yellow Diet Coke"....

3) Staff, well its interesting to see that the majority of staff have been there for years, whats also encouraging is that when they leave they also tend to return? this goes for a lot of customers!

Okay, there are more "high end" hotels in Phuket, My Friend Sam from Phuket frequently reviews them!, having stayed at these I can assure you to read everyones feedback, book the Panwa and you will never look back.

If you wish to book please consider a Villa as its well worth the extra and suggest Villa 3 as you get sun from morning till dusk there.......

Now and again you get some people who have booked this hotel by mistake and unfortunately moan about the distance from the " action" area or that some costs are expensive sometimes at the hotel"....well in my view go to Spain....absoultely no offence to the majority of people who enjoy this hotel its Management and its amazing staff....

Dean & Angela Robertson

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DBR5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at Cape Panwa for our honeymoon in June. We decided on a twin centre break, with 3 nights in Bangkok followed by 11 nights at Cape Panwa. What a beautiful, secluded location. After the hustle and bustle of Bangkok it was a welcome change. It was the beginning of the rainy season therefore there were not that many other guests, although I am informed that during high season this is quite the oppostite!
The rooms were very average, with basic facilities, but the rest of the hotel more that made up for this. We were welcomed by friendly staff, in all areas of the hotel throughout our stay.
We were given a complimentary spa treatment, which was lovely as the spa is very new.
The food was good, with plenty of selection at breakfast. Reasonably priced as well, although I can highly recommend the little privately run restaurant opposite the water front ant the bottom of the hill. Very nice, and very very cheap.
All in all I would describe this place as idillic and perfect if you are wanting a relaxing, quiet brake away. If you are looking for more evening entertainment then this might not be for you as a taxi ride to Patong beach takes approx 40 mins.
I can recommend the elephant trecking and the trip to the beach where they filmed "The Beach". One of the most beautiful places I have seen.
I would absolutely go back to Cape panwa, again out of season, as part of this place's charm for me was its privacy from others.
Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girlie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

I had read about this hotel here at Tripadvisor and especially how firendly the staff is. We were not diasppointed! We chose a jacuzzi suite and loved it, though the interior design feels a bit old.
Being a resort, you can already imagine its amenities: private beach with sunbeds (incl towels, for free), a few restaurants, a bar or two, spa, swimmingpool. As the hotel is located in the quiet part of Phuket, you won't be disturbed by any noisy partying. However, if you feel the need for some "noise" (which we did, after a day or so), then take the shuttle bus (tickets are not expensive) from the hotel (evenings) to Patong. It returns a couple of hours later, so you'll have time to eat and shop.

If you do not wish to eat at any of the hotel's restaurants, there are a couple of good ones close by. Sawasdee is one of them, have forgotten the name of the other one (it's on the hill). Between the two there is a bar run by a Scotsman (?) - great ambiance there!

Avoid Phuket town, it's depressingly ugly.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SchackStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Well where to start ?
We arrived in Cape Panwa on the 24th of April early morning and the staff we very friendly, they managed to have our cleaned straght away so we did'nt have to wait around.
The hotel is set on a hill overlooking the sea we had a gorgeous view from our balcony, the room was spotless and very spacious with a TV, DVD Player, Safe, Tea and Coffee and a huge very comfortable bed.
We found over the two weeks we spent there that the hotel was very well keep the food was brilliant and the staff we so kind and accommodating.
They have an English Guest relations manager there who help us thought a couple of problems (One hospital visit and a problem with one of our bankcards) his name is Tim! Thanks Again Tim for your help!
Everywhere seemed to be very accessible from the hotel and my new wife and i did pretty much all the excursions i would suggest trying these there located in the Round house especially the Phi Phi island and Fantasea trips there fantastic.

Well all in all a great hotel great staff and great guests (Dean,Angela,Gordey ,Kerry and everyone we meet)

Thanks to Cape Panwa and there fantastic staff we had a honeymoon were never forget.
and thanks Tony and Margret for all the advice on where to go and who to speak to.

Jamie and Lara McBride

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmc0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

This Hotel is exceptional. We have now stayed there twice and the level of service and hospitality has not changed. Tim, Ravindee and the staff are just brilliant. The location is excellent as it is away from the madness of Patong but within reach if you need a dose. It is a little bit of luxury and calm, a serious place to chill out.

Try it, you will not be disappointed. If by chance you are, then you are obviously a very hard person to please!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kafpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Overall the resort is very beautiful. The room was a little moldy and the airconditioner stopped working on our last night staying there, so it really wasnt that big of a deal. The staff was very helpful with fixing it and providing us with a fan while it was fixed. They would have provided us with another room but we were leaving the next day. There are plenty of places to eat and drink on the resort. The lighthouse bar has a good happy hour that starts at 9:30pm. The breakfast buffet was one of the best out of the hotels that we stayed at. The Panwa House is delicious but wear bug spray when you go or else you'll get eaten alive. The beach is really nice. If you are flying in I would recommend taking a cab to the hotel rather than booking the hotel pick up, you'll save about 400 BHT. They have an excellent fitness center. We went a the begining of the slow/low season. The resort is on the east side of the island where the water in a lot calmer. On the drive to the resort we went to other beaches on the west side of the island (Patong beach I think) The water looked really rough so I'm glad we found this place.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwellnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing