We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet corner of paradise”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at the Cape Panwa for 8 nights and were very happy there. Our interconnecting rooms were in a quiet corner of Block N overlooking a deserted beach and the sea beyond rather than the view through the trees to the hotel's beach which others have criticised.

Whilst our rooms had not been renovated they were still very spaceous and comfortable with DVD players in each room - perfect for keeping the kids quiet in the mornings. We had a peek at one of the renovated rooms and they are very spacious and modern. When the renovation works are complete this will be a very stylish hotel.

The renovation works didn't really affect us. Occasionally you could hear banging if you were at the main pool but other than that it was not a problem. The hotel was generally very quiet except at breakfast which was being served in one of the conference rooms whilst the restaurant was being renovated. Sometimes they struggled for tables and had to seat us in the Andaman Cafe but that wasn't too much of an inconvenience. The breakfast buffet had something for everyone and we never went hungry.

Food in the restaurants was very good, especially the Panwa House where we had our complimentary dinner. There are other much cheaper and equally good restaurants on the hill and along the road near the Kantary Bay Hotel, which are easily accessible on the free shuttle bus.

There were very few shops near the hotel, one supermarket for essentials (beer, crisps, chocolate etc) and a few massage parlours. The options for a stroll after dinner were a bit limited. If you want to shop you can get a taxi to the excellent weekend market in Phuket Town.

The private beach is a bonus. With only guests of the Cape Panwa and Kantary Bay allowed it is pretty quiet. We took a wonderful day trip on the hotel boat to Coral Island.

The staff were all very friendly and courteous, especially with the kids.

All in all this is a great hotel for a getaway. If peace and quiet is what you are looking for then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 98ajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,612)
There are newer reviews for Cape Panwa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,612 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

This hotel was out of the world. It had everything ever wanted by a guest. Stunning beach, large pool with ample sunbeds with free towls for the poolside and the private beach, Luxurious spa as part of the hotel and unspoilt surroundings with gorgeous views. Top class place for scenic people. Friendliest staff happy to help, anything that you want, their reply is 'No Problem'. Excellent food in any of the 4 chosen restaurants they own. Outstanding breakfast with the biggest range ever seen that keeps you going till dinner. This hotel has something for everyone. Games room for children, thai massage down the beach for the parents and for adventures, free canoeing and diving lessons. I would happily return to the same hotel,and wouldn't have second thoughts, I would recoment it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikki_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The hotel is just great. If you want a place with privacy this is definitely the hotel. Quite a distant from Patong Beach but if you have your own rental car it should not be a problem. The hotel also provides all sorts of services, shuttle bus to Patong and island hopping trips. The staff is also very friendly.
The main reason why I chose this hotel is because it has it's own private beach. Not many hotels in phuket have their own private beach. The beach is however, not for a swim lots of corals but good each for a daily beach outing if you have a 4 yr old tagging along.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Booked with Dreamticket (dreamthailand) - trouble free, excellent value for money, no problems. Flew with Malaysian Airlines - again, no problems, good food, as good as economy can be being on a plane for 12 hours. As a side note - we are 26 and 29 - the hotel, as some have said on TA - is not full of really old people!!

Met at the airport - no problems, about an hours drive to the hotel as it is at the far end of Phuket - about as far from the airport as you can be. Swift check in - and even though we arrived at about 10am, we were able to go to our room straight away which was lovely given how long we had been travelling. We had emailed prior to travelling to ask for a room with a sea view (most of the rooms do have a sea view, but mayb e obscured by palms/garden). However, our view - room R311 - was 180 degree sea/landscape view that was amazing - at no extra cost. The room was slightly smaller than the other standard rooms, however this did not affect us - and the view was stunning.

The restaurants in the hotel are excellent - and as someone has said previously - they are cheap compared to UK prices, however they are obviously going to be more expensive than the smaller, local ones located on the hill on the way up to the hotel. We ate in all of the restaurants on the hill - the food was excellent -both for quality and value, and the service was great. Don't be put off venturing out of the hotel to eat, as we did not have any problems with any of the food. One member of our party only ate seafood for the entire stay, and never had any problems whatsoever. An average meal for 4 people in the local restaurants, starter and main, with a drink or 2 each - coke, or local beer - was about 1200 THB - which is about 24 GBP. The Hilltop, James' Seafood and Seabreeze are all similar and well worth trying. All also gave complimentary fruit after the meal - which was a pleasant surprise as you don't get anything for free in the UK.

Having said all that - we did eat in the hotel restaurants too - when we first arrived and were too tired to venture out, and at several times during the stay around the pool. The Andaman restaurant round the poolside is good for cheaper light lunches - like rice and prawns/chicken - for about 180-200 THB. The Panwa House restuarant on the beach is great for proper thai food - it is a little more formal, and slightly more expensive about 220-280 THB - but don't forget, rice comes with all the meals usually. The Lighthouse, opposite the hotel entrance, is well worth visiting in the evenings - the staff are really friendly and the band that plays there is good. Great cocktails and free popcorn too! The Laem Panwa down at the sister hotel, the Kantery Bay, was also good for a nice meal - not too expensive, and all tax/vat/service charge is included. People on here have commented rather negatively about the service charge and tax that gets added - but their tax of 7% is better than the ever increasing tax in the UK. Also - having service charge already added, takes away the awkwardness of having to work it out yourselves. And, I don't think we ate anywhere where the service charge wasn't deserved anyway!

The shuttle bus down to the Kantary Bay was AMAZING!! Thank the lord for it! It goes about every 7 minutes, has friendly drivers, and drops you down at the bottom of the hill for the restaurants, supermarket, and taxi's or the aquarium. The supermarket is also excellent, which proved invaluable for buying beach snacks if you don't want to buy a meal for lunch - and also beer/coke etc is cheaper than buying it in the bars/restaurants/mini bar. Excellent for having a drink on your balcony in the evenings. It is actually owned by the hotel, so don't feel worried about taking food/drink back to your room -everyone does it and its all ok.

The beach is great when the tide is in - and you can swim - when we went it was very calm and there were no problems. Towels are provided which was excellent, both at the beach and the pool. The tram up from the beach is great if you cannot manage the steps. Bring mozzie spray - would be out only advice, as we did get bitten a bit.

On the last 2 days of our trip, we found we had spent so little of our money on food (we took 700 GBP/33000 THB for 2 of us for 2 weeks) - we had enough money to upgrade to a private pool villa for 2 nights at a cost of 6000 THB per night - about 123 GBP. We weren't expecting to have so much money left over, and as when we asked they said there was one avaliable, we thought, why not. This was well worth it, and a lovely luxury to finish our holiday. The pool was lovely, the rooms spacious - they sleep 4; lovely flat screen TV, bigger fridge, 2 bathrooms etc. Would reccommend for a family or 2 couples if you've got the money left. Not sure we'd want it for the 2 whole weeks as you'd never venture out!

We didn't do many trips, as we have been to Thailand before - but we did do a trip to Patong. The hotel's bus leaves at 7:30 and picks you up at 11:30. Originally, we thought this wouldnt give us enough time in Patong - so we booked a private taxt for the same price and left at 4:30 - getting to Patong about an hour later - and being picked up at 11:30. To be honest - unless you're a backpacker, clubber or like noise/people/business/neon signs and the other tourist crap you get in places like that - you'll be grateful to come back to the Panwa! It completely did not represent true Thailand. If you do go - the hotel's taxt times are probably adequate -you don't need any longer there!!

In conclusion - we got an excellent deal with Dreamticket and this is the only hotel we've been to so far on our travels that we would consider going back to. It is very peaceful, quiet, not too isolated, with some great restaurants nearby - which is exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steveandjane070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

It was pleasure during my stay at Cape Panwa. I reserved superior room, but the manager upgraded us to suite room with jacuzzi in there. :D The room was so clean and luxury. Breakfast was also good and yummy.
Only one disadvantage is the hotel is quite far from the city. It took more than hour to get into Patong/Downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csk_pear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

the hotel is away from everything and there is no great thing around. However, if we want peace and tranquility, this hotel is perfect.
the rooms are nice and clean.
the service is good and the food is fantastic.
you can book excursions to the Phi Phi or James Bond Islands or a visit to Patong

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Tracy and I visited Cape Panwa Hotel two days after our Wedding in May 2010. We chose this location having seen the photographs and listened to the positive stories my parents had shared following their stay at Cape Panwa in February 2010. At the time we listened with envy, not knowing we would end up spending a surprise idyllic honeymoon there.

We arrived with some slight trepidation as there had been political trouble in Bangkok, that soon elapsed with the warm welcome we received from the staff in the beautiful and relaxed reception area.

We were led to our room, L411 I think, 'L for Love' we were told! On entering to room we were blown away! My thoughts were, 'we are not worthy!' The beautiful decor, the cleanliness, the bed that I swear could sleep a family!!

The bathroom with it's 'his and hers' basins, the walk in shower with beautiful natural tiles and recessed lighting was fabulous.

Then there was the balcony with it's jacuzzi, lounger and seating. The view of the gardens, the palm trees and the sea. The garden huts below where people could go and receive relaxation therapy.

There were also some small cottages nestling within the gardens with nicely sized patios leading into their infinity pools.

Breakfast was wonderful, a huge range on the self service buffet. Evening times at the Lighthouse bar were really tranquil, the staff were friendly, the setting was wonderful and we met some lovely people, one guest even performed with the local band, I'm told he is seasonal, so you may get to experience him first hand.

There were numerous options for dining, we often walked out to see different locations, the experience outside the hotel we found to be really friendly, local people would say hello but were not pushy like we have experienced in other locations.

Cape Panwa has a sister hotel on the other side of the peninsula which you can walk to or take a shuttle bus, the Italian restaurant (if you fancy a change) was excellent.

Unfortunately, probably due to too much sun and over indulgence, Tracy was not too well one night and we called upon room service. The service was punctual and Tracy said the food was just what she needed! I can not make any comment as the Lighthouse bar drew me away from my poorly wife and I rolled back at 1am having met some more really nice people.

The room was maintained regularly ever day, staff who look after the rooms are friendly and well presented in their traditional corporate uniforms.

The pools and sunbathing are is clean. The gardens and beach are maintained well, the sea was like walking into a warm bath. If you time it right, you might even see the resident monkey who turns up for his banana at the Bamboo Bar at lunchtime!

The highlight of our trip has to be meeting the Princess of Thailand as we were walking from our room! A really pleasant lady who had time to stop and say hello.

If the Hotel is fit for Royalty, what more can I say?

Those people interested in celebrities will find it really interesting to see all the photographs discreetly displayed around the reception/relaxation area.

This Hotel does not feel like a hotel, it feels more like a warm community. If you are looking for that holiday that is that extra bit special, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crispyduck41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,279 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: £81 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing