We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, perfect!”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once again, perfect!”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Our second stay at the Cape Panwa. A wonderful hotel, staff really helpful always pleasant and nothing to much trouble (even taught our five year old a few words of Thai), rooms great huge TV , jacuzzi on the balcony and plenty of room (shower to take a layer of skin off, heaven!) Both pools very good and not too noisy. Great areas for the kids to play in and the baboon that came down to the beach for his bananas most afternnons was always very polite. Staff on the beach lovely and remembered us from a couple of years back even got our names right at first sight.
The location beautiful, slightly out of the thick of things but since it was only around fifteen pounds a day to get one of the drivers at the bottom of the hill to run you right round the island not a problem.
Enjoyed the flintstone theamed crazy golf immensely and our trip to the waterpark was the highlight of our trip would go earlier when we return as didn't have time tp go back before the end of our trip. Was also cheaper than advertised on web site. The big bhudda was well worth a trip and the veiws are stunning. Take the time to wander up the side baths but do remember it is a giant building site. Aquarium at the bottom of the hill worth a visit if you've got kids. Good if you get a wet day. Avoid the zoo, awful experience poor babies.
My husband had an ear infection, the pharmacist who is at the hotel most days examined him, double checked with her boss over the phone asked us to come back in half an hour, hopped on her scooter and back she came with anti biotics, ear drops and pain killers. The whole lot cost less than two prescriptions back home. An excellent service.
The lighthouse happy hour is not to be missed and the all the resturants in the hotel where very good with a specail mention for Uncle Nans Italian.
The little village at the bottom of the hill has THE best indian resturant we have ever been to. Everything cooked fresh and such a lovely family running it. By the end of this stay they were choosing the food for us. They even made chicken nuggets for our little boy one night when over tired he didn't want anything else! Usaully will eat anything but that night it was nuggets or nothing!
Tim at guest relations was also very helpful and a mine of information in the lead up to our stay. Can't thank him enough.
We are starting a new business venture this year so I think it's going to be 2012 before we make it back but we are not even thinking of another hotel.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Snitchsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    651
    229
    79
    40
See reviews for
508
1,471
49
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I am presently staying at the Cape Panwa and whilst I agree that it is a good hotel there are a few issues with it that I do not enjoy. The worst one being the way some NON guests think because they come every year they have some almighty right to be the number one dogs. the management and I include guest relations seem to go out their way to pick them out at the expense of lesser mortals who are only here for the first time but in my opinion are the ones who need guidance more than someone who has come for the last seven years.
This morning I had one elderly person indignantly accuse me of pinching his sun bed I told him that he would have to get up earlier if he wanted that particular bed as I was an earlier riser. I then found out there was a group of people who have enticed a member of staff to book their beds every day, the killer for me is that they are not even staying in the Cape but are are in the Kantey Bay how cheeky can some people get. I cannot wait until the morning

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianyCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Let me assure you that all staff are trained to treat guests in the same courteous and helpful manner regardless of how many times they have stayed with us. I regret that this has not been your experience. Your comments have been noted and action will be taken where necessary. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again soon.

The Management
Cape Panwa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Friendly staff, awesome location, nice food, good choice of restaurants, clean rooms. Can't really fault it but nor you should for the money.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Hotel is of a good 4 star standard. Staff were polite and helpful. If you can afford to pay the extra, opt to stay in a suite. Hotel clean. Restaurants were very nice, Panwa house on the beach was by far the best. Do try Seabreeze at the bottom of the hill, very friendly and very nice food. The Hilltop eatery on the hill was ok, didn't find them one bit friendly and once we were served by the young lad who then sat at the front of the eatery in full view of everyone squeezing his spots in a mirror..........not my type of place!

The dearest we paid for meals were about £11 per head for a meal in Panwa house and that covered two starters, two main and two soft drinks. The restaurant attached to Otters bar (i think it's called Top of the Hill), was more expensive and seemed more Al la Carte and lots of fish so didn't eat there. Otters bar is very nice and you must take advantage of the two for one (happy hour), it works out at £2 each for a cocktail opposed to £4 each plus you get nice variety of complimentary nuts. We tried the lighthouse bar once and once only, as it's more of a sports bar, it wasn't for us. The eateries around the hotel are cheaper and we paid around £6-£7 per head for two starters, two mains and two soft drinks.

When you are eating and drinking in the hotel it all just goes on your room number so you need to keep a check on your bill and if you are having the two for one drinks, you also need to keep a close eye on your tab.

The free shuttle bus that takes you up and down the hill is great. Every 10 mins. Buy all your goods from the mimi mart at the bottom of the hill and store them in your room. Much cheaper than the mini bar prices.

Treat yourself and get all of your laundry done the day before your due to go home. There is a guy at the bottom of the hill (just ask who does laundry). He will collect if all from your hotel and deliver it the next day all washed and pressed. We got 15 t-shirts, 10 shorts, 5 jeans, 6 shirts all done for just over £10. Fabulous to get home and just put them away, worth every penny.

Do all of your excursions with the guy who has a stall at bottom of hill. Much cheaper than your tour operator and very reliable. You can get anything you want from the guys at the bottom of the hill, they are very helpful.

We rented a long tail boat with a guide who took us all around the surrounding islands. We were out for around 3.5 hours and it cost about £36 which i thought was more than reasonable. This is something that's not advertised, again, we asked the guys at the bottom of the hill who arranged it for us. We were driven to the boat which really is a short walk away and then dropped off on the beach at Panwa house on our return. Amazing trip as it was just the two of us.

We went quad biking, again just the two of us and booked with the guy at bottom of hill. This was good but not for the faint hearted. They take pics of you and try to sell them at end of excursion, we opted not to buy them and they gave us them anyway.

You must visit the massage shops along the hill, amazing service and great for false nails etc. An hours massage costs around £6. Also, the experience with the fish pecking your dead skin away off your feet is a must do, again, really cheap.

There is transport from the hotel into Phuket town centre that you pay for. Again, you may find the guys at bottom of hill cheaper.

The hotel band are painful to watch........but aren't they always. Better than silence i guess.

Hotel beach is fab and no-one bothers you. The pool is small but ok.

Don't hesitate in deciding to stay here, you will not be disappointed but if you're looking to party then it's not here.

All in all, this is a lovely hotel thats quiet and peaceful and i would stay here again. Hope this review has been helpful.

If you have any problems, Tim is the hotel guest relation guy and he is so very nice and will do his best to resolve any issues you have. He is very friendly and approachable. Well done Tim, you're doing an amazing job out there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerseysidePinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We (me, my wife, wife's twin and wife's twin's husband travelled together) stayed at the Cape Panwa Hotel in June 2008 and, to sum, up, the hotel was extra-ordinary. Stroke of luck that it's where I chose to propose to my fiance! Why go anywhere else on your stay when the hotel is so good!? The beach is the best i've ever seen anywhere; in person or on TV. The staff were friendly and helpful (even organised a huge bunch of flowers for me to give to my wife when I proposed...orchids, roses, lilys...probably pay near £100 in england for what we got!). The pool was quiet, warm, big. The rooms were comfortable and air conditioned (there was ofcourse the occasional lizard visitor but YOU'RE IN THAILAND what do you expect!) I had lost nearly £1000 between the airport and the hotel; we think because of paying for a hotdog: An englishman who works at the hotel and who lives on Phuket with his Thai wife was soooo helpful in arranging for me to report the incident to the police so insurance was valid and he took such a massive weight off my shoulders.



Amazing food in hotel and also amazing in the hilltop restaurant at the top of the hill (just outside the hotel). We made really good friends with the family that run the restaurant (they also run the massage parlour next door) 1hr for £10 when we went...bargain! So relaxing. The hotel also has an amazing spa...more pricey but very atmospheric and relaxing.

We paid £749pp incl. flights, transfer, B&B basis and it was more than worth every penny. Once we've seen a bit more of the world there is absolutely no doubt we will be going back to the Cape Panwa.

You will not regret it! Go go go!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyMacPherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We recently visited Cape Panwa over the New Year period and had a lovely stay. We asked to upgrade which was no extra charge and had a lovely room but it was in the new block and we felt we were quite far away from the main part of the hotel and the view wasnt great so we paid to upgrade again and had a beautiful room overlooking the swimming pool. The people were very friendly and couldnt do enough for you. The food and restaurants in the hotel were excellent but more expensive than if you ate out of the hotel. If you are looking for relaxation and want to be away from the hussle and bustle then this is for you. It is a very quiet part of Thailand, probably a bit too quiet for my Partner and I although we did go into Patong a few of the nights, getting the hotel shuttle bus there and taking a taxi back, although it is a good 30/40 minutes drive.
We would defintely return again but would maybe stay in a lively part of Thailand to begin with and end our holiday at Cape Panwa for relaxation and to be spoilt .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egypt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Look at any holiday brochure and you will see that Cape Panwa is very much at the 'lead in' price range and this has to be taken into account. Having said that it attracts a very high level of repeat business and that is always a good advertisement. Sadly the boorish Russians are now in the majority with Scandinavians and Brits making up the bulk of the rest of the guests but there will be Japanese, Koreans and other Asian visitors to ensure a cosmopolitan atmosphere.

On arrival we were upgraded to a junior site with great views away from the Cape over the village. Thios block had only be open for a few months and it showed as a fair bit of snagging work was going on. The room itself was huge and well equipped with a vast balcony from which to enjoy the sunsets. The reason, I suspect for the upgrade was because they are closing down blocks of rooms oneat a time to double the size of the rooms - the owners are moving the hotel upmarket and making one room out of two. But moving a place into another star bracket is more than just increasing the size of the rooms, staff and attention to detail are just as important. At the moment it functions well as a holiday resort type hotel but is somewhat lacking in style and class - room maintenance was a bit hit and miss and some of the staff seem a bit pressurised.

The beach is pretty good (although not of the standard of other Thai islands or the Maldives, for example) although the daily invasion from the sister hotel, the Kantaray, means getting a decent spot on the beach is a bit of a scrum. As other reviewers have mentioned it is very tidal here but the hotel provides a monthly resume of when the best times for swimming are. At very low tides it just isn't possible to swim.

If the Kantaray connection is a disadvantage from a beach persepctive, the shuttle bus that links thr two hotels makes up for it. This is a lifeline to the other side of the hill and Panwa village. Over here are a couple of restaurants and bars along with money changers, tourist offices, and a small supermarket etc. It is also very pleasant to stroll along the promenade in the evening.

Breakfast is good with a wide selection but in the evenings we generally ate out although we did treat oiurselves to dinner at the wonderful colonial house on the beach - worth doing for the great location (and the food is good). Walking up the hill you will find thee restaurants. The first one going up is possibly the least worse of the three - my advice is, if you like Thai food, don't bother with any of them, even if two have great views.. Everything seems to come in a MSG type gravy with none of the typical Thai tastes. Perhaps we were unlucky. On the other side of the hill there is a better choice including the Indian (which made a real change) and our clear favourite, Keang Lay - the furhest away form the shuttle bus stop and therefore not always packed out - it is oppostite the entrance to the navy base and attracts visitors from other hotels in this part of Phuket. Try the fresh fish counter for some wonderful seafood cooked just as you like it.

It will be interesting to see how the hotel develops with its move upmarket. There is a huge amount of building work is going on with new hotels springing up all arond the Cape to create more competition. What Cape Panwa has is a beach and even if it isn't the best this gives the hotel a clear advantage. Overall, the hotel has almost got everthing just about right (in its price range) but it needs to try that bit harder if it is going to go to the next level.

One final thought. What happens to the aforementioned Russians at night?. They pack the breakfast room out and take ove the beach but you hardly ever see hen in the evenings, not even to take advantage of happy hour at the Lighthouse. My guess is they buy their vodka at the supermarket and stay in their rooms/on the balcony. .

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing