We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking views”
Review of By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
By The Sea
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breath taking views”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The place is quite immaculate. Surrounding is just awesome...customer service is great. Away from busy city life. Enjoyed nature, sun, beach and people. Humble and kind staffs, though wish they'd know how to converse in English more. Transportation is a killer in Phuket, so pls hire a bike or a car to commute. Overall this place is what I'd love to be at away from hassle bassle of Patong beach side.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NatureLoverMalaysiaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    136
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
99
121
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

It was our second stay in this hotel. We had a great wedding ceremony on the hotel beach. Beautiful sea view, great service, friendly staff, reasonable price have made our stay very pleasant. All my friends enjoyed their stay here. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: deluxe room is excellent for family of 4. Great room with huge sapce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Han Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Beautiful beach location. Helpful, friendly staff.Pool area and restaurant are very good. Large, clean rooms with excellent views.Airport transfers convenient and reasonable priced.
This was our third stay at this resort, which we thoroughly enjoyed, as always. Shuttle bus to town is welcome because this is a fairly secluded location.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms alittle dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Hey Gang...just stayed here for three weeks and was really happy. It's definitely a great place for a great price. I especially love how the breakfasts are situated right next to the beach so we can hear the waves roll in the morning. Thats something you cant do at home or even most beach hotels.

What I learned is that this building was originally built to be a private beach front community with condos sold. It didn't sell as well as anticipated, so they just transformed it to a hotel instead. When I found this out, it definitely made more sense why the rooms were so spacious and well situated.

The staff was really nice and friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Very high in things to choose and quality. Exotic fruits, strong coffee, cereals, yogurts, sausage, eggs to your choice made fresh, juices, etc...all of it was very good.

The other thing was its location. For me, it was perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle of town. Slightly remote without the Mosquitos and bug bites. It was a great place to relax and escape from the over hyped scene like Patong.

Anyway...I would definitely come back. For half the price, you get more than you'd expect.

Room Tip: Lowest floor...105c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonJon512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week with our 9 month old baby and it was perfect having two separate bedrooms for naptimes and separate rooms for more privacy. The condo comes with a kitchen, however the appliances and cutlery are not in the unit and you have to ask for them individually. Also, no microwave. We ended up eating out or bringing food back to our room the whole time anyway though.
If you are looking for a central location in the middle of the tourist area....then this hotel is not for you. However, if you are looking for a secluded and beautiful location with incredible views of the water and mountains....then this could be it. The hotel sits right on the beach and we had views of the Bid Buddha across the Bay. The pool is shaded most of the day and for me that was a bonus because I have very fair skin and wanted to avoid sunburn. The beach is a tidal beach so 1/2 the day it is all rocks exposed at low tide and then at high tide it is sandy.
It is difficult to rate this hotel because it really is extremely nice but we left feeling that it could be so much more if only they fixed a few small issues. 1st, the staff do not speak English well at all so we had a very difficult time communicating our needs. We have stayed in many hotels and hostels across the globe where they spoke no English at all and we are fine with the fact that not all the world must speak our language....but this hotel is trying to cater to the International crowd and so its staff should really speak English. 2nd, the resturant food is ok, but the portion sizes are meager considering the high prices. We ended up eating there only 2 times and then going to the beach bar resturants down the beach the rest of the week as the food was incredible and the cost was literally 1/4 what it was at our hotel. (For our first week in Phuket we stayed in Karon Beach and so we had prices to compare this place to....although they are not ridiculous by Western standards...they are not in line with normal Thai/Phuket food prices).
The 3rd problem was internet/wi-fi connection. It continually dropped out and they kept changing the code multiple times a day so we kept having to call the front desk to try to get the code again...however because their English was not so good we always had to physically go to the front desk to get them to give it to us.
Overall we also found that the level of hospitality and feeling of welcoming was just not the same here as it was at other places we have experienced in Thailand. We are not sure why that would be....maybe it had to do with the communication difficulties.
Despite all of these issues, we still really enjoyed our stay and the saving grace for us was the fact that we could get great and inexpensive food from the beach bars next door. We would definately stay here again, however, we were also quite glad that for the 1st week of our 2 week holiday we were able to experience the touristy side of Phuket in Karon Beach and enjoyed the nicer beaches for swimming over there.
If you do stay at By the Sea, made sure you don't miss the Phuket Night Market. Many great deals and interesting foods are available. If you want to buy Western style groceries, you can take the free hotel shuttle to the mall and get food at the supermarket.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Sea so all will have a view.... the best views are to be found on the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SofiaLeRed619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I came here after being ill and was very relieved at the escape from disco thump et al of other beach resorts. It was a good healing place, but after a few days of improving health i felt I wanted to be closer to the action. I was upgraded to a wonderful room on the 2nd floor up front, overlooking the pool, from my big balcony. More than enough for me and very accessible to pool and beach. I say it could be improved vastly if there was some atmosphere added to the poolside restaurant. It was boring, the food was good enough, but the beer prices were ridiculous. So what that did was chase customers down the beach. Taking a left from the pool onto the beach you only had to walk two minutes to buy a beer at 1/3 the cost and..you were ON THE BEACH. Besides making the beer prices more fair so people would hang around the resort, and socialize, just a little thai traditional music playing in the background would give some needed atmosphere. One night I walked left down the beach to near the end and was welcomed into a resort with a wonderful thai guitarist playing poolside. That would be great at By The Sea. As mentioned by others, you really have to watch the tide if you wish to swim because it's too low most of the day.But it is interesting watch people with lanterns at dusk picking among the exposed rocks. The sunset is beautiful toward the giant Buddha on the hill. The shuttle drivers usually just go to BIG C and maybe Phuket town centre but will accommodate a reasonable request for a deviation. Remember to book ahead though, as shuttles fill with reservations first and some are left behind if they haven't. The front desk/manager were very helpful to me and helped me out in a packet I was waiting for. It's a really nice place, but mostly suitable for young families that wish to relax with their young ones by the pool or a safe beach without the craziness of places such as Patong. And you'll sleep well.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to the complex immediately above the pool, spacious and convenient with a big balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fisher_eye_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Booked for 3 night 4 days stay. Its on the peaceful side of the Phuket, cape panwa and can easily hire bike/car just outside hotel to go to chalong, patong and phuket town. Also they have a bus service in the morning to take one to town. Talking of the place, its got huge rooms, amazing views, can see Big Buddha from distance, has a service kitchen and so can cook anything anytime. Since its isolated will have to get the stuff in advance. Breakfast has got good variety and has a kind of a deck which makes it breakfast by the sea. Beach doesn't have great waves per say but still its good and very approachable. Overall a nice place to stay and relax. A real value for money

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DM_Born_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
1.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
1.7 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,556 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
5.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea

Property: By The Sea
Address: 7/6 Moo 6 Soi Bor-Rae | Sakdidech Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By The Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Cape Panwa
By The Sea Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing