We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment Style Hotel”
Review of By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
By The Sea
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Apartment Style Hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Stayed here for a week in early October, stayed in a top floor 2 bedroom apt.
Hotel is in a quiet residential area, we were the only couple who stayed for a full week in the hotel. We had the pool and the restuarant to ourselves most of the time
Large Apartment, lots of room for a family with 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen
Large balcony with great views. Aussie travellers will love sitting outside watching the sunset. Hotel has a great restuarant, breakfast buffet had everything you could want.
Ate away from the hotel a few times but ended up just eating here for most of our stay as the food wa so good and the kitchen staff were great fun.
Only a couple of the staff spoke good english which didnt seem to cause too much of a problem as long as you took your time to explain what you needed.
We hired a car which I would recommend if you are going to stay here but still want to see everything in Phuket, its just too far away from the tourist areas to pay taxis etc.
Hotel does have a daily shuttle bus to Phuket Town which I would recomend as the streets in Old Phuket Town are not easy to negotiate unless you are a local.
Stay here if you want a good, quality, clean affordable hotel in a quiet non touristy area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beerwahnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    136
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
101
121
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

i was there in late april this year; i love sea, sand and beaches and the place gave a fantastic view in the morning and totally different view later in the evening...it's like i ve been in totally different place...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inime248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed here on our first trip with our 16 month old daughter. The hotel is in a loverly spot over looking the water on the beach. The room are great size and we were upgraded due to our first room air cond not working. As others have said the rooms with a small kitchen is great if you want to prepare any food. The breakfast was ok with everything you want in a fantastic location next to the beach. We had tea at the hotel one night which was average and preferred the meal next door at the Novotel hotel.
The one comment l have for people travelling with family is that this hotel is isolated and no place to take a stroller out for a walk other then on the road (Not that busy so was ok). The other issue that the pool and restaurant is at the bottom of a really steep hill which you could not take a stroller down. As others have said you can ask to be taken down by the security guard in the golf buggy.
Great place to get away from it all for a couple but would not suggest it for a family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Gorgeous beach, great hotel, huge rooms, friendly service, relaxing. Would recommend this hotel. 5 minutes from Cape Panwa.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joobyloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Right out of the way, up towards the aquarium at Cape Panwa, next to the Novatel. There are 34 one & 2 bedroom apartments which are very big!! Included is a kitchen for those who want to do a bit of cooking! Only a few rooms full most of the time at the Hotel, Pool to ourselves, restaurant virtually to ourselves for brekky most mornings, which was so lovely virtually on the beach! The beach was so quiet, lovely long stretch of sand & even good swimming. The hotel pool was plenty big enough for the two of us!!!! Jacuzzi very relaxing! A very steep hill from the entrance to the pool/restaurant etc but the golf cart was there if you were too lazy or too tired to walk up the 58 steps!! Pity wi fi in the rooms but it was free up at reception, along with a computer if you didn't have your own lap top. Staff were so nice, they were very friendly, helpful & always smiling & happy...........as usual. Shuttle into Phuket town twice daily so really not a problem if you don't have transport but may be expensive getting taxi's etc if you wanted to go to other places. We have a motorbike so are not confined to certain areas. Our 5th trip to Phuket & this place is just as lovely as the others we have stayed in Karon & Chalong Bay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We were supposed to be going to Bangkok for 3 nights on our way to Phuket, however we abandoned that idea in light of the recent problems and instead we found this hotel at the last minute.

We stayed for two nights and on arrival my partner announced he wanted to cancel the rest of our time in Phuket and stay here. The hotel was amazing, the room is more of a suite with a separate living room, huge bathroom and a huge bedroom. The bed was massive with good pillows!

The hotel is right on the beach and they offer free snorkling equipment and sea kayaks, unfortunately we couldn't see anything when we tried to snorkle and it was too hot for us to kayak, although another group did. The pool was lovely, also right at the beach and because it's the low season we pretty much had it to ourselves. The food in the restaurant was really good and the staff so friendly and helpful. We had breakfast included in our price and it was so much food.

I'm not sure what else there is to do around there, as we were only there for two nights we were happy to have breakfast lunch and dinner at the restaurant. There are neighbouring hotels so you can probably go there for a change.

The free shuttle bus was useful for getting into Phuket. Free internet and even though there is only one computer when another guest was on that the receptionist offered me use of theirs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsAbroad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We got a large room (apartment) with a fantastic view over the sea. Very friendly staff and a good restaurant located by the beach. Free shuttle bus to Phuket town twice a day, and free internet but only available in the reception area.

The beach is not very nice (rocky) during low tide, but except from that this is a perfect place to stay for those who are looking for a peaceful place by the sea, but at the same time only a short distance to town.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RasmusXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
1.3 mi away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
1.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,583 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea

Property: By The Sea
Address: 7/6 Moo 6 Soi Bor-Rae | Sakdidech Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By The Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Cape Panwa
By The Sea Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing