We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What can I say?”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from almost six weeks at this lovely hotel. This is our fifth visit and we have already booked for next year.
Previous review I have written have decribed our room, the gardens,the beach and of course the great staff. What more can I say except that this hotel meets all our needs for a perfect winter getaway. From the moment we arrive to our really sad departure we enjoy every minute of our stay.
Thank you to all the wonderful staff, the friendly local people and all our fellow guest that are so good to meet every year. We look forward to seeing you all next year Derdii

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is very pleased to have observations from one of our regular guests and looks forward to your return again next year. Your appreciation of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been noted and passed on to them. Many thanks again for your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    292
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
272
708
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We usually do not go back to the same hotel for perhaps a few years even if we enjoyed it, however this is our fourth year in a row we have returned and am al ready looking forward to going back in ten months time. It litterally ticks all the boxes, We stay for a month and having an apartment it gives you more space and confort for a longer period.The apartment includes full facilities including a washing machine.The weather is great the beach is lovely and you are not stuck in rows of beach chairs, there are lots of space and it,s great putting your chairs under the palm trees.The hotels restuarants have a variety of food and the local restuarants serve graet food. The best part are the fantastic staff they are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. When you arive in your room there is a questionaire to nominate a member of staffwho gave exceptional service.The only problem is it is too small as they all deserve a mention.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better to see the sunset over the bay and islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
The Kantary Bay Phuket is very pleased to have feedback from one of our regular guests and looks forward to your soonest return for another great holiday with us. Thank you very much for your positive endorsement of all of our helpful staff which has been shared with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Third time at this hotel and still loving it. If you want a quiet relaxing holiday in a beautiful quiet area then this place is perfect. All the positive reviews are pretty accurate .
The only downside is the lack of a decent bar now that the clock house has been closed. I know if the management reply to this they will talk about all the bars in the cape panwa but after a very day you don't always want to go out for a sun downer or pre dinner drinks. The only real option at the Kantary bay is the dolphin bar which is a little run down and only room for a few people..
I know there are options outside the hotel but it would be nice to have a decent bar in the hotel. On our first stay in 2012 the clock house was open and we used it most days for a light lunch and evening drinks every night.
A minor gripe I know but it's better to say what you think, still love this place though and will return later this year..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stayrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
The Kantary Bay Phuket thanks you for your taking the time to write a review and for your observations, which have been discussed with our team, regarding more areas for pre-dinner drinks and socializing. Many thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to your soonest return later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was our fourth stay at Kantary Bay. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the lovely staff Uria, Boonsong, Diana and Penparpa, to name but a few; all the staff are very charming and friendly and do their utmost to look after you so well during your stay. We were upgraded into a lovely one bedroomed suite with a fantastic sea view overlooking the pool. We were able to watch the beautiful sunsets sitting in the swing seat on our balcony and could not have wished for more in terms of our accommodation, it was cleaned every day, there was always plenty of hot water (not that you needed it!). We stayed for three weeks, it was totally stress free, relaxing, quiet and a little piece of paradise. Most of the time we ate locally, the breakfasts are great, you can have your eggs cooked just as you want them and the restaurants in the area serve very fresh and authentic thai food, including beautiful fish and seafood. We enjoyed getting the local bus (60 bhat round trip) into Puket town where there are also some lovely places to eat. We loved the pool at Kantary Bay and getting the shuttle bus up the hill to the beautiful beach where we swam in the sea. If you want a stressfree, relaxing and quiet time then Kantary Bay is for you, we loved it and will return next year. Sally and Jane

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn that your 4th stay with us on Cape Panwa met your expectations for a stress free, relaxing and quiet time while your thanks to our staff, many by name, has been noted for passing on to them. Your return next year is looked forward to. Thank you for your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Myself and my partner spent two weeks at the Kantary Bay, last week of February- first week of March.
I wont draw this review out and keep it as simple as Possible.

On arrival, after a very long 23 HR journey we were greeted with the most amazing welcome, A very cold drink and an ice cold cold cloth to freshen you up during the check in process (20 mins max).

It was late evening when we arrived and after the short check in process we were taken to our room. The bell boy was outstanding, quickly attending to our luggage and guiding us to our room. Small tip handed over for his work, 300 TB.

The room it self was more than we expected. Quite large with a huge king size bed. Small sofa, chair and coffee table. There is also a small two ring hob, microwave, fridge and all the cutlery and utensils needed for a basic snack. The bathroom was more than adequate with a shower and bath combo,basin, large mirror complete with power point for a razor or toothbrush. However, being 6'1 i did laugh at the height of the shower, at maximum height, it came to my chest, about 5'5. I guess not all amenities are meant for the taller traveller. You will struggle to see a Thai national above 5'5!!

We were on b&b basis and i have to say the restaurant more than met our expectations. There was such a good variety of food to choose from. Cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon (crispy of soft), eggs (boiled,poached or fried), sausage, beans, tomato, salad, traditional Thai food, a wide selection of bread complete with Lurpack butter. However, my favourite for sure were the Omelet's,cooked fresh in front of you with a choice of fillings, beautiful!

The hotel grounds it self are quite simply beautiful. The gardens are maintained to a very high standard, the cleanliness of the hotel is absolutely amazing with the staff all working to very high level to ensure it is spotless. All the staff hotel greet you morning, noon or night with traditional Thai greeting "Sawadee Ka", with the hands clasped together and a small nod of acknowledgement. It really adds to the experience.

As mentioned in many other reviews, resident at the Kantary Bay also have use of all the facilities of there sister hotel, The Cape Panwa. The Cape is located at the back of the hotel up what i can only describe as cardiac hill!! We did walk it one day yet after that used the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel. Now, in my opinion, this was the real jewel in the crown. If you are looking for a white sand beach with palm trees swaying over you with a gentle breeze blowing, water that feels like you are getting into a warm bath, sun-loungers with built in pillows,beautiful singing birds eating out of your hand, waiter service all day long and no hassle? Then this really is for you. There are complimentary towels available from the small hut located just at the back of the beach. Just be advised that the sea is tidal and swimming is only recommend at certain times and this is well advertised within the hotel. Finally, during our stay there where a lot of Jellyfish on the beach as the tide was going out and i believe they can give a nasty sting, be careful!

The local area is a relatively small place. We did go for a few early morning walks (before the heat made it impossible), we walked past the naval base and found a lovely Thai restaurant on the right hand side as you just pass the base. This is a real Thai restaurant and they do not speak English. We just watched what all the locals where eating and by way of pointing (quite rude i know), we got to experience some of the finest food i have ever eaten. Also along the same road up the small hill is a supermarket and a pharmacy with the occasional road side fruit vendor (you must try the Lychees and Mango). Additionally, there is a night market offering all your souvenir shopping. This comprises of local hand made crafts,jewellery, fake designer clothing, watches, sunglasses and more importantly, the street food vendors. I had a favourite, the pancake man (see the attached video). After a leisurely stroll along the market you must go and try the Sunset Bar, It is located at the bottom of cardiac hill on the right hand side. The Host (Russell) an English man, offers a fantastic welcome to all who visit. It is nothing special, but clean, tidy and the hospitality from Russell (Southend boy) is exceptional.

The local restaurants offer exceptional value. We did have our favourite, Sawadee. The food in there is nothing more than first class. We would have three small starters, 2 mains,( Pad Thai, and the hot pan) would be my recommendation. Our meal, 2 large chang beers, 1 Tia Maria and coke and one water would cost approx £16.00 (excluding tip).We did use Sea Breeze and sabi sabi but our preferred restaurant was most defiantly Sawadee. After dinner we would walk along the promenade so i could visit the pancake man - legend in his own right.

Finally, we travelled the island using the taxi service just outside the hotel on the left. We visited, Pa tong ( a must), Kamala Beach,(Beautiful), Kata Beach, (Beautiful), Big Budda( Awsome), The High light of the holiday was Phuket night market (Taxi return about £9) Real experience and the street food is amazing!!

To Conclude:

This hotel and its sister hotel are real hidden gems away far away from the hustle and bustle of the west coast of phuket and if it is a relaxing holiday you want then this is it. We have already booked for next year and we can not wait to return. My only fear that this area will soon be discovered by the commercial tourism and ruin the true paradise that it is. My advice, get it booked and experience it at its absolute best before its too late.

Go, enjoy and review!!

Room Tip: A room is for sleeping, a resort is for exploring!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stokeylee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your descriptive and informative review with us and our readers which should be very useful to others thinking of a stay with us on Cape Panwa. As you have noted there are numerous outlets for eating, local shopping, sight-seeing, casual drinking, and pancake eating for those willing to explore our neighborhood. Your appreciative mention of our long serving and hospitable staff has been shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year for another enjoyable and pleasant stay at our gem of a property on Cape Panwa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed two weeks at Kantary Bay with two friends we upgraded to a one bedroom bungalow which was huge it was 116, the staff were brilliant very friendly allways smiling, friends loved there apartment also, good variety for breakfast, nice area surrounding hotel with small night market would recommend this hotel hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blitblots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, hopes you return next year for another enjoyable and pleasant stay with us on Cape Panwa. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is the third time we have strayed at The Bay the last time being 2008. I guess how you rate a hotel is based on what you want from your holiday and for us The Bay is perfect. We wanted nice food, no hassle and total relaxation and that is what the Bay gives you. At night you can sit in the Lighthouse bar and listen to the crickets in the trees, watch the fire flies and have a few beers. There is a mini market where you can get all you want. An excellent beach is at the sister hotel the Cape Panwa literally a couple of minutes away on the shuttle bus which runs all day. The main jewel of The Bay is the staff they are excellent and really care about the guests. Many of the staff have been there for years and actually remember you. There are plenty of restaurants around and all give excellent value for many. Try Sea Breezes just at the side if the hotel, its spot on. Also there are street food stalls which are good with a meal costing about £2 (100Bt) again an experience in itself. The whole package is perfect for us but if its excitement you want you can take the trip to Patong for the night which is a must do or Phuket Town. There are many attractions close by including fishing and boat trips to Coral Island. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well maintained. Many of the guests return year on year so that is in itself speaks volumes. Great value, lovely place to stay but if you’re after a riotous holiday it’s not for you.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandaharG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive approval of a perfect place for peace and relaxation while your informative review should be very useful to people who are planning to stay at Cape Panwa Hotel. Your appreciative mention of our long serving attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been passed on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,556 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing