We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rarely do you get service like this. All staff are incredibly helpful and gracious. We did have problems with noise from air con unit and pool filter outside (along with building work near side bay wing - note hotel has three wings) However this was sorted out by the manager - thank you again Ning. The rooms are comfortable and need a little updating, bathrooms especially. I am fussy about white grout and no mouldy marks - just being realistic when a hotel is referred to as a luxury hotel. That said all public areas and gardens are immaculate. But I think the location is what you value here along with the use of sister hotel facilities already referred to by many other reviewers ( a great private beach) . The coast and scenic location are great and appreciated from the rooftop pool which never got crowded. A real plus is the range of eating options in and around the hotel. The hotel has two restaurants, Thai and Italian, both good and a coffee shop - toasted sandwiches a steal at just over a pound. Out and about you can get a main dish and rice for 2 to 3 pounds. Don't miss the Beach Bar just around the bay - great beach vibe, cheap good local food and wow sunsets. Ok you have to mix it up a little - the blue elephant in Phuket Town a gourmet treat but half the price you pay at the London Branch. Baba Soul food at Sri Panwa hotel up a hill next to the aquarium was a real find. Again more expensive but think contemporary jungle decking overlooking the bay.
Just a little caution with the excursions guy in the hotel - we had a mixed experience, some trips were pitched as 4 star but had shocking poor food and local thai boxing had children of eight, yes eight fighting full contact. I have a kick boxing background and contemplated walking as this was truly full contact, fortunately the next fight did not feature children - a reminder that there are cultural differences.
So back to the Kantary, ideal if you are looking for a relaxed holiday within easy reach of Phuket Town, (note Taxis are not cheap better if you are a group and share costs) It is the 5 star service that defines this place and yes I would go back and hope for a quiet room. Did I mention we eventually got the honeymoon suite - now that was a lot to live up to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheFinalWord631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your descriptive, informative, and suggestive review with us and our readers, after your recent stay with us on Cape Panwa, as it should be useful to other readers planning a stay with us. Your appreciation for our ‘service with a smile’ staff, some by name, has been noted for sharing with them. We look forward to your soonest return for another enjoyable and pleasant stay with us on Cape Panwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Can only echo all the positive comments, just had a two week stay and found the staff lovely, the room good, the view beautiful, the breakfasts tasty. This was not our first trip to the area and it won't be the last. See you next year

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement and looks forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at the Kantary Bay from April 16-19. I had a studio suite (one bedroom with living room, kitchen) that was sufficiently large and comfortable. I paid only about 1600 baht per night for a large studio with many nice facilities. Check-in was quick and carried out in a professional manner. Upon check-in, the receptionist explained about the restaurants, pool areas, etc. Coupons were offered for a free drink at one of the hotel’s two bars. The concierge was very helpful in planning excursions. One very nice feature is that the Kantary Bay’s sister hotel (Panwa) is located about five minutes away by shuttle, and all the attractions at the Panwa were available for Kantary Bay guests, including a nice beach (towels were given free of charge), two pools and of course various restaurants. The kitchen area is great for families or couples who like to cook and have dinner at home. The kitchen appliances included a toaster, microwave, hot plate with two burners, a large refrigerator and even a washing machine (no dryer). The refrigerator had two bottles of free water, supplied daily. An LCD TV (32 inch) was located in the living room (no TV in the bedroom). The bathroom comprised a bathtub and separate shower. The water pressure was strong and the water temperature varied from cold to very hot (I like hot showers, so it was perfect for me). In general, the staff members were very friendly and professional (Diana was particularly nice… she’s from the Philippines). The bar staff were extremely friendly and the bar t4ender made nice margaritas, which I took during happy hour (buy one and get one free). A free shuttle service was available to take guests from the Kantary Bay to the Panwa and back, running very often. The hotel also offered transportation to various locations at a very reasonable price (for example, roundtrip to Patong is 400 baht). A regular taxi would be at least double this price. The buffet breakfast was nicer than I expected (recall, I paid only 1600/night). I was surprised to find French toast with maple syrup! I had a buffet steak dinner at the Panwa (800 baht ++, ++ refers to 10% service charge and 7% government tax). I try to avoid buffets for several reasons (I eat more than I should and the food is usually not so good). I think the tenderloin cut was decent enough and the lamp chops were, to my surprise, quite good. The other steak cuts were not very good. The buffet also included meats such as spare ribs, chicken and pork, as well as vegetables, salad, potatoes and of course desserts. If you enjoy lamb and steak (tenderloin), I think you should try the buffet at the Panwa. In general, the Kantary Bay was a pleasant resort that tried hard to make one’s holiday pleasant without draining the guests’ pocket book. My only real complaint was that the room was always cleaned very late (after 3 pm), and one day I even had to request housekeeping service because it seemed they had forgotten my room. One other incident should be noted. The driver who took me to the airport drove extremely fast and thus dangerously. I was surprised because normally hotel drivers are very careful, often driving too slowly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lshapspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, appreciates your descriptive and informative review of our property as well as our sister hotel which should prove useful to other readers planning a visit to Kantary Bay Phuket. Your appreciative mention of our attentive staff, by name or position, has been shared with them while your expressed concerns have been shared with the specific heads of department in the continuing effort to provide enjoyable holidays for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My first trip to Thailand and it is well worth the long flight.
The two rooms were in the main building at the corner of the second floor; one had a great view of the bay. Both had large living areas and seperate bedrooms, with independant air-con.

The staff in the hotel were very polite and helpful; this was very important as our daughter has alergies to both sesemie and peanuts.

We made great use of the partner hotels facilities (Cape Panwa Hotel beach & restaurants) which are accesses using the free shutle bus service.

A quick review of the restaurants & bars we used:
- Dolphin Bar: small and cosy
- Otters Bar: a lot larger with great views of the bay
- Cafe Andaman: good selection of meals for the middle of the day.
- Leam Panwa: good sea food, but the staff were less attentive.
- Top of the Reef: expensive, but very attentive service and fantastic high quality food; a perfect last nights meal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean196411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to have met your expectations and thanks you for sharing your feedback of the hotel and dining experiences after your recent stay with us on Cape Panwa. We thank you look forward to welcoming you again on your second trip to Thailand. Thank you for your commentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great resort, booked as the final destination in our tour of the Andaman coast with Andaman Sky adventures, top marks to them for a wonderful itinerary and competitive prices (we also thought it was impressive the way we stopped off on our transfers to do something interesting along the way, with a range of choices offered to us - we chose to visit the Tiger temple en route back to the airport. The Kantary Bay is a top place, offering excellent food, a good spa, tip-top service levels and very good accommodation, I recommend other holiday-makers to go stay there too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement which should be useful to other readers planning a trip to the Cape Panwa peninsula. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable stay with us on Cape Panwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from almost six weeks at this lovely hotel. This is our fifth visit and we have already booked for next year.
Previous review I have written have decribed our room, the gardens,the beach and of course the great staff. What more can I say except that this hotel meets all our needs for a perfect winter getaway. From the moment we arrive to our really sad departure we enjoy every minute of our stay.
Thank you to all the wonderful staff, the friendly local people and all our fellow guest that are so good to meet every year. We look forward to seeing you all next year Derdii

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is very pleased to have observations from one of our regular guests and looks forward to your return again next year. Your appreciation of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been noted and passed on to them. Many thanks again for your observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We usually do not go back to the same hotel for perhaps a few years even if we enjoyed it, however this is our fourth year in a row we have returned and am al ready looking forward to going back in ten months time. It litterally ticks all the boxes, We stay for a month and having an apartment it gives you more space and confort for a longer period.The apartment includes full facilities including a washing machine.The weather is great the beach is lovely and you are not stuck in rows of beach chairs, there are lots of space and it,s great putting your chairs under the palm trees.The hotels restuarants have a variety of food and the local restuarants serve graet food. The best part are the fantastic staff they are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. When you arive in your room there is a questionaire to nominate a member of staffwho gave exceptional service.The only problem is it is too small as they all deserve a mention.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better to see the sunset over the bay and islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

The Kantary Bay Phuket is very pleased to have feedback from one of our regular guests and looks forward to your soonest return for another great holiday with us. Thank you very much for your positive endorsement of all of our helpful staff which has been shared with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,633 reviews
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: £35 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing