We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

All the staff were lovely - with no exceptions. They made you feel they genuinely cared and wanted you to have the best possible time. The Kantary Bay has lovely views over the sea (not all rooms have sea views though) but there is no beach, however, guests can use the private beach of the sister hotel which is beautiful. There is a regular vehicle to take you between the 2 hotels. It's only a few minutes but saves you walking up and down the hill. The resort is very quiet with just a few bars and restaurants so not the place to go if you are looking for nightlife but perfect to relax for a few days on arrival in Thailand after a long haul flight.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to have met your expectations and to have received your endorsement. Your appreciative mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been shared with them. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

The holiday was great in every way. The Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful with smiles all the time from management to gardener. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice, Rooms were a good size and had every thing you need. Everywhere was very clean. Nothing was to much trouble. The Italian Restaurant was very good and had the same lovely staff from breakfast. The roof top pool was quite clean and had a great view over the bay, always lots of clean towels. Great little bus service over to sister hotel with a happy fun driver. Did a lot of trips that were very good we saw so much, and prices with the man in the hotel were as good as any, and he did look after you. Bus service from outside the Aquarium was cheep and fun. Aquarium worth a look as only £2. The lighthouse bar has happy hour at 9.30 and there is a guy waiter who makes the place, also live band. The only bad thing you get mosquito bits so ask for burner and they will put under the table we only found out on our last visit. Our favourite Restaurant was the Sea Breeze just out the back of the hotel, great food and staff. So many people said they had been coming to the hotel for many years and I and not surprised as it was worth every penny. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. A BIG THANK YOU TO THE STAFF

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to share with our staff, your “big thank you” to our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff, thanks you for your informative review, and hopes to welcome you back again soon for another stay with us on Cape Panwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had a wonderful stay over the Easter Holidays and Songkran. Hotel staff are as ever simply the best, it wouldn't be fair to single any one out in particular, they all make you feel right at home.
Weather hotter than we are used to in August, so we burnt a bit, but it was definitely sunnier. Also had a fantastic trip on the Panwa Princess.
As mentioned the Cape P needs to add a few sun beds around the main pool. Sawasdee is incredibly busy, queues every night for a table so go early or try one of the other local restaurants. Worth buying the meal tickets which can be used at either the Cape or the Bay, buy 5 get one free or buy 10 get three free if you are a family.
Thanks everyone for another wonderful family break. See you next year.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn that your recent family break with us during the Easter and Songkran holidays fulfilled your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to your ‘Home away from Home.” Thank you for your commentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a long review, but felt because it was our first time, it might just help other first timers. Bare with it. Just returned from 2 weeks, it was our first time in Thailand and certainly won't be our last.
On arrival, greeted, bags taken up the stairs, had a cold drink and cold towel, just perfect after the long flights. Was given a voucher for 1 free drink each and a 10% voucher to spend at the shops.
We were upgraded from a studio room to an apartment, (203) we had a kitchen area, only used the fridge and the washing machine, living area and separate bedroom, air con in both rooms, balcony looking over the main pool.
Room cleaned everyday, apart from 2 days where we put do no disturb, and reception asked us if we wanted the room cleaning later, or wanted towels and water.
Breakfast is fine plenty to choose from, had omelettes (sometimes with added shell) but can choose eggs anyway you want. Nice cup of tea and they have lurpack butter and brown sauce ha ha.
All staff lovely and will acknowledge you at all times.
Pools lovely and clean and water nice and warm, sun beds fine, with a padded bed, get towels from reception. Main pool was quiet most of the times and the roof top pool was the same, sometimes there was a little sewage smell up there, but not a problem to moan about.
We visited the sister hotel on the free shuttle bus or walked the hill, pool is lovely there but there are not enough sun beds round the pool, if I was staying there I wouldn't be too happy if I couldn't have got a sun bed. Plenty of beds down on the beach though, which we visited once,sea lovely and warm, crystal clear water and powdery sand, not really sand people, but worth the visit. I went to do the fruit carving activity, I asked if it was on and they said yes at 1600, but no one ever appeared on the 2 separate occasions I went to do it.
Got a few bites off the mosquitoes, even though we sprayed and had bands on, damn nuisance.
You can get wifi password from reception for both hotels,and it reached the breakfast room and the pool side, my husband also got it in the room. We used the gym a couple of times, which was adequate for what we needed to do.
We ate once in the Italian at kantary, it was ok, dearer than the local restaurants and service charge is included on all food and drink from the hotels. Happy hour is BOGOF, but with service charge, it's no cheaper.
We ate at the Sawasdee, seabreaze, sabai sabai the one at the end of the road and up the hill. Basically the menus are the same as the sawasdee apparently everybody works there then moves on taking their menu ideas with them ha ha. We ate at live India, that was the BEST INDIAN I've ever tasted. We ate and had a couple of drinks at all restaurants for less than 1000 bahts. No pressure to leave tips, but we did. All restaurants are busy and sometimes have to queue. I have reviewed these seperate. We had lovely coffee and cakes and ice creams at the kantary cafe next to the supermarket, I could also reach the wifi from there and sawasdee.
We had drinks at Russell's sunset bar, nice friendly welcome. We had Thai massage and pedicure at sabai which is half way up the hill on the left, they are lovely, and also aloe Vera massage and foot massage at lotus which is next to the Indian. Again lovely people and both really cheap.
We went to the aquarium, I have reviewed this separate also.
We went to banana beach via the longboats down by the aquarium, this was from 8.30 to 3.00 for 2000 bahts, great for seeing the fish, great for snorkelling, but it was really shallow and you could see them, ask at breakfast and they will give you a bag of stale bread to feed them.
We booked a tour through the man at kantary for James Bond island, basically you tell him what you want to pay and then you barter, was a great trip and well worth what we paid, but very busy. We paid a local taxi driver to take us elephant trekking and to see the big Buddha, and another night went in taxi to the beach bar, get there before sunset so you can watch the sun going down, had a lovely meal too, check out the pancake lady next door and the on the beach restaurant next door.
We got the hotel bus to central festival (shopping mall) for a small return price, and we got the taxi bus to patong on a couple of nights again for a return price. We also went to phuket, not much there, we got a tuc tuc and he showed us round. We also went to watch Thai boxing which was in phuket, was good. We got taxi to the weekend phuket night market, taxi waits for you.
There are street vendors every night outside hotel, just great to go down and people watch, we had the chicken on sticks and was ok.
On our last day, we had to vacate our room by 12 but we used the pool and they allowed us a room to shower before getting picked up that night.
Overall a relaxing holiday, lovely staff, great hotel. Yes I would return to Thailand but I want to see other places. There we got there, think I've covered everything, have a great time and relax.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank mturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, welcomes your extensive descriptive and informative review after your 1st time stay with us, as it should be very helpful to other readers planning a stay on Cape Panwa. As you have noted there is a lot to do and see during a stay with us. We look forward to seeing you and welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your positive endorsement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was my second visit and based on last year I had a long term stay of 4weeks. I was greeted by the staff and manager like part of the family with a fresh orange juice and cold towel. The whole visit was like this with every member of staff from manager to receptionists cleaners and gardeners greeting you with a smile and their Thai welcome. The hotel room is more like an apartment and I was fortunate enough to not only have kitchen facilities lounge and balcony with amazing view but also a washing machine which was a bonus as I had been travelling for a while. Other facilities at the hotel include two swimming pools, the rooftop pool having spectacular views over the bay. The added bonus is to have use of the facilities at the partner hotel, cape panwa, which includes its own private beach. There is a free shuttle bus running frequently to take you up the steep hill but it is only a 10 minute walk.( not advised to do in the heat too often!) the breakfasts are varied and cater for everyone , the freshly made omelettes being a favourite of mine. There are many restaurants around the area serving very good Thai food at reasonable prices and there is also Indian Italian and more western dishes available. It is a lovely relaxing quiet area and for those in need of a nightlife taxis are available to take you to patong.
There are many repeat long stay guests and I will be becoming one of them......the staff make his such a warm and welcoming place and do everything they can to meet your needs. Thank you for making my holiday such a good one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your descriptive and informative review after your 4 week stay with us and looks forward to your regular returns for stays with us on Cape Panwa. As you note, our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff, from top to bottom, treats our guests as family, which makes stays with us good stays. Your appreciation has been shared with them and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rarely do you get service like this. All staff are incredibly helpful and gracious. We did have problems with noise from air con unit and pool filter outside (along with building work near side bay wing - note hotel has three wings) However this was sorted out by the manager - thank you again Ning. The rooms are comfortable and need a little updating, bathrooms especially. I am fussy about white grout and no mouldy marks - just being realistic when a hotel is referred to as a luxury hotel. That said all public areas and gardens are immaculate. But I think the location is what you value here along with the use of sister hotel facilities already referred to by many other reviewers ( a great private beach) . The coast and scenic location are great and appreciated from the rooftop pool which never got crowded. A real plus is the range of eating options in and around the hotel. The hotel has two restaurants, Thai and Italian, both good and a coffee shop - toasted sandwiches a steal at just over a pound. Out and about you can get a main dish and rice for 2 to 3 pounds. Don't miss the Beach Bar just around the bay - great beach vibe, cheap good local food and wow sunsets. Ok you have to mix it up a little - the blue elephant in Phuket Town a gourmet treat but half the price you pay at the London Branch. Baba Soul food at Sri Panwa hotel up a hill next to the aquarium was a real find. Again more expensive but think contemporary jungle decking overlooking the bay.
Just a little caution with the excursions guy in the hotel - we had a mixed experience, some trips were pitched as 4 star but had shocking poor food and local thai boxing had children of eight, yes eight fighting full contact. I have a kick boxing background and contemplated walking as this was truly full contact, fortunately the next fight did not feature children - a reminder that there are cultural differences.
So back to the Kantary, ideal if you are looking for a relaxed holiday within easy reach of Phuket Town, (note Taxis are not cheap better if you are a group and share costs) It is the 5 star service that defines this place and yes I would go back and hope for a quiet room. Did I mention we eventually got the honeymoon suite - now that was a lot to live up to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheFinalWord631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your descriptive, informative, and suggestive review with us and our readers, after your recent stay with us on Cape Panwa, as it should be useful to other readers planning a stay with us. Your appreciation for our ‘service with a smile’ staff, some by name, has been noted for sharing with them. We look forward to your soonest return for another enjoyable and pleasant stay with us on Cape Panwa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Can only echo all the positive comments, just had a two week stay and found the staff lovely, the room good, the view beautiful, the breakfasts tasty. This was not our first trip to the area and it won't be the last. See you next year

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement and looks forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,656 reviews
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
7.2 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#4 of 135 in Karon
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: £31 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing