We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hotel we stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendliest hotel we stayed in”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here twice during our multi centre 10 day trip. Its the smaller of the two in the same group, right next to each other, and although it lacks the facilities of the larger Panwa Bay Hotel we feel it's the better of the two. And you can take a free 2 minute bus ride to use all the Panwa's facilities whenever you want anyway. The staff at Kantary Bay are so friendly and greet you like long lost friends each time you walk through reception. The rooms are superb and most have their own balcony overlooking the sea. Breakfast is fab - we didn't eat any other meals within the hotel (although they do have restaurants) as we prefer to try the local ones, which were great value & delicious. The only bugbear was the amount they tried to fleece us for having wifi in our room - more for a 3 day stay than we would pay per month at home, no excuse for that in this day and age - it was free in every other hotel we stayed in. Although free wifi is available in the hotel lobby. Would definitely recommend it to anyone who prefers to stay away from the impersonal large hotels - a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Jane M,
Kantary Beach Hotel, Phuket thanks you for your enthusiastic review and is pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We take pride in knowing that our staff made you feel quite welcome, and are proud to know that you enjoyed our dining options, facilities, and location; and are elated to hear that you took use of the facilities of our sister hotel Cape Panwa.
We do hope to have the opportunity to see and serve you again, and many thanks for your review.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager,
Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    287
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
268
697
58
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the wonderful Kantary Bay Hotel for 16 nights with my wife and kids (2 boys aged 15 & 4). We arrived after a long and tiring flight with Etihad and Air Berlin, to find that our luggage had unfortunately not made the 2nd flight on Air Berlin and was still in Abu Dhabi. This was not the ideal start to our holiday as we were left with no clothing or toiletries of any kind. We then spent half an hour at the lost luggage desk at Phuket airport and were told we were unlikely to receive our luggage for at least 24 hours, as they had no record of it. We were also told that it was not uncommon for this to happen on the Etihad/Air Berlin connecting flights.
We eventually arrived at Kantary Bay at 8.15pm, feeling tired and miserable and thinking what to do about purchasing toiletries and clothing to get us through the next 24 hours. We were welcomed by the wonderful smiling staff at Kantary Bay with a cooling towel and cold fruit juice. We explained our predicament to the wonderful Boonsong, who told us not to worry and he promptly took our lost luggage receipt from us and told us that they would make all the enquiries on our behalf and that we should not worry.
We had booked 2 studios for our stay but we were then upgraded to a two bedroom suite by the very helpful and caring Boonsong. As returning guests Boonsong also provided us vouchers for a Complimentary dinner at the Hotels Italian restaurant as well as a complimentary boat trip to Coral Island.
I was able to purchase supplies from the supermarket next door to try and see us through the next 24 hours until our luggage arrived. We eventually made it to Dinner at Sawasdee next door, before returning to our apartment for some well needed rest. We were then further amazed when there was a knock on our door and we were met with a porter who presented us with 4 new Kantary logo polo Shirts to see us through the next day. This was a wonderful and caring touch shown by the hotel, in our hour of need, providing us with something clean and fresh to wear the next day.
I feel at this point that Boonsong deserves a special mention and thanks for going that extra mile on our behalf and for his kind, considerate and always smiling nature in providing us with these Polo shirts when he knew we had no fresh clothes. Boonsong you were an Angel in our hour of need and we are very sorry we were not able to thank you personally as it was your day off on the day we departed.
As promised the hotel chased up the airport the next day and we were updated and then bizarrely one of our suitcases arrived via Bangkok at Midday. We told the hotel we still had a further 3 suitcases unaccounted for. They again chased this up and at 8pm our further 3 suitcases were brought to our room, bringing great relief to us all.
Aside from our opening day issues the Holiday itself was wonderful. We had a wonderful 16 nights, enjoying the facilities at Kantary Bay and also the stunning beach at Cape Panwa. Special mention must go to Sandy who looked after us all so kindly on the Beach. The daily breakfasts were great and the staff always smiling, even when we would regularly turn up well after 10 o'clock each morning.
We made full use of all the 2 hotels wonderful restaurants and especially enjoyed the fresh seafood BBQ at Laem Panwa. Other great meals were had at Top of the Reef, Panwa House and Uncle Nans. We also enjoyed the daily Happy hours at the Dolphin bar and The Lighthouse Bar, watching the wonderful resident Band.
Once again a wonderful holiday made even more special by the kind, courteous and happy staff.
I look forward to returning to Kantary Bay in December 2015 with my family, (God willing) when I intend to celebrate my 50th Birthday, as well as Xmas and New Year in style and in the Paradise that is Kantary Bay and Cape Panwa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ManjUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear ManjUTD,

The Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket is proud to know that we could come to you and your family’s aid at a time of difficulty. We share your disappointment in regards to your lost luggage, and cannot imagine the frustration you and your loved ones must have felt in that situation. We are glad to know that the situation did not cast a shadow over your vacation in Thailand, and we appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed and emotive review of our property. I am pleased to hear Mr. Boonsong provided you with the necessary care in a difficult situation and I will definitely pass him your thanks and salutations.
We are elated to hear that even through your initial difficulties with Etihad, you were able to enjoy the many facilities, services and dining experiences here at Kantary Bay, and were able to spend time on the lovely Cape Panwa beach.
Thank you very much for choosing to spend your vacation at Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. If there is ever anything I could help you with, feel free to contact me directly at gm@kantarybay-phuket.com. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon next December.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager,
Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

stayed for a week in a beautiful suite on the 4th floor overlooking the bay for my 60th birthday at the beginning of July.... what a fantastic hotel!! Friendly & helpful staff, even delivering a beautiful birthday cake with my name on it!!... very comfortable large bed, great big balcony with dining table & chairs & a garden swing ( a washing machine too!!) and views to die for, spacious living room with kitchen.... we wanted a relaxing holiday without being in a busy area, & this was definately the place....use of all the facilities at the Cape Panwa, including multiple daily shuttle buses was such a great bonus....had many a relaxing hour lazing by the beach with a good book & cocktails.... Enjoyed a delicious seafood meal, cooked to perfection in front of us for my birthday in the beautiful garden surroundings of the Laem Panwa restaurant onsite..... breakfast each morning was a great selection, with eggs or pancakes cooked to order and friendly staff. Beautiful gardens & the choice of a couple of swimming pools just added to the enjoyment of the whole complex....plus the handy mini mart next door with the atm. Off the beaten track a little, lovely quiet area, but plenty of legal taxis to take you anywhere you want to go right outside....Bill a really interesting & great guy!! and the Sawasdee restaurant & bar on the road out front has beautiful meals !! Made the 'big' birthday more bearable!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziekez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Ozziekez,
Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket wishes you a happy birthday! We are very pleased to know that you chose us as the host for your 60th birthday. We greatly appreciate your review of the hotel and thank you for taking the time to write it. We definitely try to create a pleasant and relaxing environment for all of our guests and we are delighted to know that our facilities and services met your expectations.
Your appreciation of our on and off site dining options brings us great pride, and we are elated to know that you found the location of all of our facilities convenient. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket and we look forward to having the opportunity to see and serve you again soon.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager,
Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of June and the whole stay was fabulous. The staff greeted us always and could not have done more for us. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of thing from cereal to cooked breakfast and fruit. We hired a moped and were able to leave it in the car park for free. There free shuttle to the other hotel was very convenient as the sister hotel has a lovely private beach. We were upgraded on arrival which was a lovely surprise. We would 100% recommend this hotel. The only thing I could suggest is a bar at the rooftop pool. But wonderful stay thankyou!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Lyn1298,

The Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket thanks you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. We are elated to know that you enjoyed our culinary options, the facilities of our sister property, and general accommodation up to your standards, and greatly appreciate your recommendation of our property to your peers.
Thank you again for your positive review. If you have any questions, or would like any assistance upon booking your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@kantarybay-phuket.com. We truly look forward to seeing and serving you again soon!

Sincerely Yours,
General Manager,
Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

one night was not enough to maximize the hotel facilities & services but these things are for sure: very good service (they will try their best to accommodate your needs) & they are in a great location! Though the balcony door was open when we were escorted to our room (so mosquitoes went in) which was a minus point upon checking in, I still had a nice experience. The rooftop swimming pool along with the andaman sea view is very relaxing and all my expectations were met. I would recommend this hotel for those seeking a peaceful & budget-friendly getaway. I will make sure that the next time I go to Panwa area, I will stay only in this place. Would love to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelique0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Gelique0608,

The Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket thanks you for taking time to write such a positive review of our hotel. Even though your stay was short, we are glad to hear that our facilities, location, services and accommodation met your expectations.
We are very proud to hear that you so enjoyed your stay at Kantary Bay Hotel, and we look forward to seeing and serving you again.

Sincerely Yours,
General Manager
Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warragul, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the welcoming drink to the friendly porter at 0400 in the morning on departure we found Kantary Bay most relaxing. The cleanliness of the gardens and complex, the friendly staff all added to a most enjoyable stay. The breakfast buffet was second to none with a large variety to suit all tastes. The free shuttle bus to Cape Panwa and the use of there facilites was a highlight and the private beach and beautiful warm ocean waters, we will never forget. A word of warning; to swim on the high tide as low tide reveals many rocks under foot. We will be back.
Stephen and Karen

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Stephen O,
The Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket thanks you for such an expository and positive review. We are pleased to hear that you and Karen had a memorable experience and enjoyed our facilities, food, service and location from arrival to departure.
Thank you again for your glowing review. We truly to take pride in knowing that we were able to provide you with a relaxing and serene experience, and we look forward to seeing and serving you again.

Sincerely Yours,
General Manager,
Kantary Bay Hotel and Serviced Apartment, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in the lovely place that Kantary Bay Hotel is and had such a wonderful time. The staff was really friendly and everywhere was clean and tidy all the time. The breakfast had a great variety for every taste. The Hotel provides free shuttle to the close hotel Cape Panwa where you can use everything as a guest of the hotel, including access to the private beach. The place is unforgettable and everywhere people welcome you with smile. Many thanks again everyone! We're looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DVM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear DVM88,
The Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket is quite elated to know you enjoyed your recent stay, and we truly appreciate your positive review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you took advantage of the services available at our sister property, the Cape Panwa Hotel, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services and dining options.
Thank you for such a positive review. We take great pride in knowing that you had a positive experience at our hotel, and we truly hope to see and serve you again soon.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager,
Kantary Bay Hotel and Serviced Apartment, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing