We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what we paid for we got”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baie du Tombeau
Certificate of Excellence
Gauteng
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“what we paid for we got”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Went to the hotel as part of a package, were dissappointed at the beginning, as the original website we visited were missed informed, and no transport to other hotels with beaches were cater for, neither a trip to Port Louis. But must state that the personnel went out of their way to accommodate our needs. For a 2 1/2 star hotel, did we receive good service. A pitty they charge Rs500 to make use of the fridge for the week, but help a lot to store all the water we purhase over the street from the local shop. Breakfast and dinner all fine, not something you will write about. Beach we knew were not a swimming beach, but with all the excursions available, we could enjoyed a real beach day not far from the hotel. The local transport system (busses) available in front of hotel, and everyone very helpful to assist you were ever you need to go. Big department store not far from hotel (Jumbo) from were you could purchase water, and same snack, etc, bus in front of hotel go there. Do not exchange money at hotel, try to change money at the airport as you arrive, or at Thomas Cook (they all over Mauritius), good rate.

Room Tip: Corner rooms overlook the sea, other rooms overlook the swimming area, all depends with you travel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniaGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Ania,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Les Cocotiers. Your warm words towards our Hotel and personnel have been shared with our team.

Please note that we can organize shuttle bus to nearby beaches and Port Louis, as part of our range of excursions. We have already contacted your travel agency to ask them to update their information sheets in order to avoid disappointment to future clients.

We would be happy to welcome you again at Les Cocotiers Hotel,

Warm regards,

Giovanna Blin,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    151
    30
    14
    14
See reviews for
76
129
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent,england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Rooms sparce but clean. Maid in daily with clean towels. Pool towels provided and you can exchange for clean at reception.
Breakfast is samey.. But it's what you make it. Half board guests eat breakfast and then fill bags so they don't need to pay for lunch!! As all inclusive we are entitled to lunch. There is no choice.. You sit and someone brings you what they have decided you will eat!! No bread or salad provided just a dish of rice or pasta which isn't even hot( complaint number 1).
Dinner is buffet style, but not self service. You get a dessert spoon of the contents of the salver but we now stay and raise our plates and say 'encore'!
Only had one night where dinner wasn't to our liking but the salad and fresh bread saved the day!
The package we purchased stated a shuttle bus service to the sister hotel, port Louis and beaches to the north. These stopped a year ago when the hotel changed hands ( complaint number 2). We chose Les Cocotiers as a quiet base that we could use facilities elsewhere...it's not happened.....
But the service buses run from outside the hotel and it is a very inexpensive way to see the island.
We have taken an excursion to Black River to swim with wild dolphins...incredible! Then on to a local island for a BBQ lunch and impromptu sing song!! Brilliant day out!
Lastly the dogs . They cannot help their lifestyle. They often make a bid to enter the dining area but the staff chase them out to the us enemy of the diners. Didn't hear them once at night but the birds roost in a tree to the side of the property and they keep the singing up all night!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonytoycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago. Our rooms's pretty small and old-looking. Pretty clean though, and the ambience of the hotel is warm and cozy. The pool's small and does not look very inviting. The beach is also pretty disappointing. You can't even swim there. But the breeze especially at night is marvelous! The breakfast is alright with enough varieties. I love the friendliness of the hotel staff.
Location is pretty far out of anything. You'd need a taxi or a bus to get to Port Louis. Walking there, apparently, is dangerous & not advisable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Angie,

Thanks for your post on your stay at Les Cocotiers. As it’s been a few years you haven’t visited us, we would be happy to share with you some of the improvements made in the Hotel.

The Hotel has been under a new Management since September 2011 and has benefited from an overall soft refurbishment: our 48 rooms have been freshen up, the beach was cleaned up and the swimming pool has been completely renovated in June 2012. We note your advice to other travelers regarding walking around the hotel: we would like to point out that the area is relatively safe, and as with any city/village, we discourage people walking alone at night time.

Your warm appreciations of our personnel have been passed on to our hotel staff.

We would be happy to welcome you again to Les Cocotiers,

Kind regards,

Giovanna Blin,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladimir, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Before i came to Mauritius, i had naively supposed that all hotels which are situated on the beaches must have a good beach where that is at least possible to swim, but here it is not possible at all. In oder to come into the water you have to put on your shoes, because the bottom is very dirty and there are many strange creatures and things. Moreover, it is not deep enough. As a result, no one swims there. The nearest not the best but quite appropriate beach Le Goullet is situated in about 20 minutes from here, but it is not the kind of beach with blue water which you can see in different videos about Mauritius. So as i saw all this i tried to move fast to one of the good beaches of Mauritius, Pereybere beach, and it was really perfect one, sometimes i have even seen the huge turtles there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nick726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Reviews on here greatly influenced our decision to book this hotel for 10 days. We were not disappointed and the hotel met with our expectations.
One of the reviews correctly pointed out is was a three star hotel and if you bear this in mind when staying, if your experience is like ours you will be well pleased.
We studied the locations in Mauritius to stay having not visited the island before and this hotel seemed perfect for what we were looking for. Baie du Tombeau is not the prettiest bay in Mauritius, although if you haven't been to Gand Baie you would be forgiven for thinking it really is a nice little bay. The colour of the water around Grand Baie is exceptional and in all our travels we have never experienced anything like it. It really is like an airbrushed picture postcard....if you haven't seen it for real you would be forgiven for thinking that it was not possible to have water the azure aqua blue in the Grand Baie!
In other words, Grand Baie will spoil you. Baie du Tombeau is really a lovely little bay made more interesting by the comings and goings of big commercial shipping visible miles out to sea.
You need to wear flip flops or similar to traverse the sand and sea on the hotel beach because it is full of broken coral. There is a nice reef to snorkel over about 250m out. The sea state is very calm and sheltered.
Apparently this area used to have a bit of a reputation as a result of a local fishing village further down the road. We saw no sign of this and didn't feel threatened in any way walking out from the hotel. We hired a scooter and got around to everywhere we wanted to go on that with no trouble.
The hotel itself is very well priced by Mauritius standards where frankly ludicrous prices seem to apply to many hotels. It is clean, the rooms are of a reasonable size and well maintained. We initially got put in a room boards the rear of the hotel and whilst there was nothing wrong with the room, because of its location, it was a bit dark and dingy. We asked to be relocated and were put on a room looking out on the bay and it could not have been more appealing waking up and having sundowners in privacy over looking the Indian ocean.
There seem to be only a few of the rooms in the rear of the hotel and it would pay any visitor to request a sea view or pool view at the time of booking to avoid them.
The staff are magnificent, they cannot do enough to help you. Whatever you want.....taxi, packed lunch...scooter.....early breakfast.....laundry etc.etc. is no problem for them...their willingness to help is a joy.
The restaurant serves a great breakfast where they always had fresh pineapple, eggs done whatever way you liked them etc etc on tap. Lunch seems to be curry fish or curry chicken every day. Nice enough but we chose to go out. Dinner was buffet and was good albeit we found it a little bland sometimes.
Security is good with a full time security guard at the entrance and a regular patrol at night.
A little supermarket operates across the road which sells various ranges of spirits which is handy. The drinks prices in the hotel are not cheap. They didn't object to us keeping our own supply in the room In fact the minibar arrangement is useful, they charge you a flat rate of 500 Rps for the duration of your stay, and you stock it yourself!!!! I have to say with the mini supermarket just across the road this was a perfect arrangement for us and kept costs down dramatically!
Other than that the gardens are well manicured. There is wildlife everywhere, bright green Gecko's abound as do Minah birds, sparrows, swallows and lots of crabs and snails on the beach. One or two local dogs live on the beach and are no cause for concern.
There is a games area with table football, table tennis and pool near reception.
Wifi and internet is free in reception but is woefully inadequate. It'll get you by but that is all. I don't know if this is typical of the island in general or not. It'll just about load a small picture to Facebook after a few tries but that is all. Its OK for browsing research for finding things on the island though.
The hotel has an 'affiliated' fishing company called 'Small Fish Finder' who operate a twin 30HP outboard engined little open boat moored off the beach. We tried it. It is expensive, the guy operating won't leave you alone when touting for a booking and is then condescending and rude once he has you aboard. Real chip on his shoulder stuff. He is very inexperienced in fish finding and catching. The tackle is sparse and quite honestly he lets the hotel down badly in comparison to everyone else to do with it. Basically we spent 5 hours racing around the bay and about 30 minutes actually fishing in it. Real let down.
You don't have to look far for some decent fishing though and some of the best we found was in Black River further down the coast with some proper operators.
All in all we had a lovely stay and would say the hotel is more 4 star that 3, and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or pool view for best results
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtanddt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kormangla,Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Affordable & Nice option for those planning Honeymoon.When I first read of this hotel I thought It was fr French because of the les in the title. But it was one of the hotels in Mauritius.We went here frm 12-18th Nov

Honestly , this hotel was booked as we did not have many bucks in our pocket & wanted to visit Mauritius.After much research & negotiations with tour companies , we came across Antilog Vacations which is a bulk dealer for Mauritius honeymoon packages in India.Their rates were good & services absolutely delightful.

Les cocotiers is located around 40 mins from the airport is a small & cute hotel at one of the beaches. The hotel entrance will look exactly like a hut in Stone Age; it reminded me lot of Flintstones cartoon. It was different …... The staffs were extremely friendly & greeted us well.

The rooms were pretty neat & clean with tantalizing smell of flower bouquets in all rooms, small in size and compact in nature with a night lamp next to it. This was one of the hotels where I saw the bed colors were pretty vibrant in dark blue & green… Be careful in selection of rooms as the garden rooms are little smaller than the sea facing rooms.

The lobby is like an open air area where you can hang around & have a coffee in the same time have the freshness of the sea. The swimming pool is also nice. The lobby is decorated in red & black. Hence giving a fiery feeling of the entire place…

Entertainment is a great advantage here with live bands performing 1 day in 5-6 days or a week. The place rocks for partying. I guess all those party freaks who want to have fun this is the right place to be.

The beach is another mind blowing beauty the resort has. I got to experience loads of water sports e.g. Para sailing is one major activity here. You need to be careful and the person must know how to swim as you can get hurt in the process.

Honeymooners would find it a good property to be in

Room Tip: The lowest cost room..haha..honestly ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shailendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

For a small hotel. The new year`s eve celebration was good value for money. Good food and good sega show for entertainment.
Unfortunately, the set up for the dinner has to be modified because of the rain, as some tables were set around the pool.
The room was clean but the furniture needs to be renewed or refreshed.
The staff, mainly at the reception was helpful and pleasant. Special congrats for Robert and his team for the wonderful organisation

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie du Tombeau
9.1 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
6.5 mi away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
14.7 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#10 of 18 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
21.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel

Property: Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel
Address: Royal Road, Baie du Tombeau, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Baie du Tombeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baie du Tombeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach, along the north west coast of Mauritius, Les Cocotiers is a human size hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Close to the capital Port-Louis and to several popular tourist spots, this 2 star Sup hotel is an excellent starting point for a business trip or a holiday as an individual, a couple or a family. The 48 rooms are simply decorated with 16 sea view and 32 garden view, air-conditioned and well-fitted. From the restaurant and bar overlooking the lagoon, guests can watch the comings and goings of the fishermen's pirogues, the beautiful sunsets as well as Port-Louis slowly lighting up at dusk. The warm, welcoming and thoughtful staff does everything possible to offer a relaxing stay to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cocotiers Hotel
Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel Mauritius/Baie Du Tombeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing