We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baie du Tombeau
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

When i arrived to hotel, they informed me some rooms had problems and they couldn't give me a room, they sent me to a different hotel for 1 day, then i came back to this hotel the following day. The other hotel was much better than this hotel. In this hotel, guests are not good, mostly native people, they are very noise, also neighbour of the hotel is not good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank on_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, Giovanna Blin at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We have taken good note of your comments and are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.

Cocotiers is a good-value for money 2.5 star hotel, however, as you were upgraded to another hotel for the first night, we can understand that your expectations may have been altered by your first night stay.
We regret not to have been able to change your opinion during your stay with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    144
    28
    14
    14
See reviews for
73
122
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

An area in fully covered.
reception of your customers who are hot enough, every moment in the entire complex is full of surprises.
the room, the pool area, the restaurant to the beach and all those working in the bandmembers always willing to be of service.
THANKS
An area in fully covered.
reception of your customers who are hot enough, every moment in the entire complex is full of surprises.
the room, the pool area, the restaurant to the beach and all those working in the bandmembers always willing to be of service.
THANKS

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attitude_Mauritius, Giovanna Blin at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for your warm appreciation of our Hotel and personnel: it was a pleasure welcoming you in our ‘home’ and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your holidays in Mauritius while staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again at Cocotiers,

Kind regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is a lovely place to stay with beach very near. We had been there in May 2011. We reached noon and we were too hungry after 2 hours of travel from Airport. It was a grand welcome for us with Fruit Juice and flowers. The aura was good. We requested for a room in the first floor to view the Ocean. As expected, the converted rupees into dollars were less and the food is costlier (as we were on the Breakfast and Dinner package). The Breakfast and Dinner was very tasty, very much Indian. Blend of North and South Indian food.

We had Moon Light Dinner specially arranged for the couple on the beach. It was awesome and can never forget that. The staff is supportive and really thank Mr Jean Francois for the arrangements at the beach.

The room was clean. But it was raining from the second day, so had to call the sweepers quite often to clean the dampness.

On weekends, an African group was dancing and singing and really cool to watch

Overall experience was very good and I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room on the extreme left side of the hotel. This room is little bit far from the pool, but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attitude_Mauritius, Giovanna Blin at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Dear guest,

Jean-François and all the team members of Cocotiers join me in thanking you for your positive feedback on your stay and warm recommendation to other travellers.

It was a pleasure to welcoming you once again in our Hotel and we felt privileged that you chose Cocotiers for your Honeymoon in Mauritius.

We are happy to know the special attentions of our personnel helped make this moment one to remember.

We wish you a lot of Happiness ahead,

Warm regards,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

My mother and I stayed at this hotel in October 2012 it was our 1st time to mauritus and everyone was very welcoming and friendly, the rooms were clean although we had a problem with our A/C they were happy to help to sort it out, the resturant was super, looking out onto the beach it was a delight and all the staff especially Rai who looked after us very well,
I would definatly go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmcd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, Giovanna Blin at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear guest,

All the team members of Les Cocotiers would like to thank you for taking the time to recommend our Hotel to other travelers on TripAdvisor.

We are happy you enjoyed your time in Mauritius while staying with us and would be pleased to welcome you again for your next trip to our Island,

All the best,

Giovanna Blin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ermelo, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at Les Cocotier September 2012. It was our 3rd time in Mauritius, but 1st at Les Cocotier - what a pleasant suprise!! The breakfast and dinner super.......overall great! It was my birthday while we were there, and I received a lovely chocolate cake with compliments from the hotel (Thanks Jean Francois) I agree with "beniboo's" comment about the staff and coffee in the mornings - waited really long for coffee to be served and some staff were really not friendly at all....... but that's about the only negative comment about the whole stay!
You most definitely get your money's worth at Les Cocotier! See you next year again!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, Giovanna Blin at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Isca,

We thank you for your warm feedback on your stay in our Hotel : your kind words have been passed on to our team members, including Jean-Francois who was very pleased to hear you enjoyed his birthday chocolate cake.

We have well noted your comment regarding service at breakfast time.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Warm regards,

Giovanna Blin
Resident Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stopped at les cocotier September 2012s, we flew with Mercury Direct.
On arrival we were greeted and showed our room.
We were on B&B deal and the breakfast was adequate for us. Slight remark or the hotel they ought to improve the way food such as cheese, yogurt, fruits are covered! Inevitably there are flies around as the restaurant is open which is a very nice feature indeed.
We did not had lunch nor dinner at the hotel as every single night we ate outside.
We were not impressed as every morning we had to wait 3-6minutes for coffee! Or sometimes we had to request from the staff.
I must express my deepest gratitude to the security guards (all of them). Polite, helpful, friendly and they go out their way to help. The area used to(or still) have a bad reputation but each time wen we returned to the hotel irrespective of the time (quite often pass 2230hrs) the security guards always came out and greeted us. They were exceptional.
The front desk staff are friendly and helpful.

The catering staff could do with some help to be friendly. There were at times we felt they were rude but it did not need for us to complain. May be they were having a bad day!!!

Swimming pool and the communal areas were all clean, in fact every morning we witnessed staff cleaning the pool, tidying the garden etc.

The room was old (furniture & fittings) and but clean & comfortable. The cleaning staff do an exceptional job. The air conditioner was very slow and it was annoying. It isn't powerful. A bit of a weird one when the light is switched on then your electric razor or toothbrush will then charge!!! ...
The beach isn't one for swimmers as it is quite stoney! But this why I suppose the hotel us a 2star? But transport to go to nearest beaches such as taxi and buses are available outside the hotel.

Will I recommend this hotel, sure I will. We will return in fact next year we are planning to return for a further 2weeks there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beniboo27379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, GIovanna Blin at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Les Cocotiers. Your warm appreciations of our Security guards and Reception staffs have been passed.

We have positively taken note of your remarks.

Mauritius being a tropical environment, flies remain a recurrent problem: this is why most items on the buffet are always covered. However, new actions are being taken to prevent them from entering the Restaurant itself.

We deeply regret the delays in the service at Breakfast time due to sudden unforeseen circumstances as hotel was fully booked leading to delays in service since we do not provide self service for Tea and Coffee.

We are absolutely concerned that you felt our staffs were sometimes rude since Mauritians are generally known for being polite and humble. We do take this very seriously as this is not our way of doing things and will see that Higher standard of service is provided to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Les Cocotiers Hotel,

Giovanna Blin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Surprise, surprise

We stayed at Les Cocotiers from 1 to 8 September 2012. We were apprehensive about staying at Les Cocotiers as some of the reports on trip advisor warned about food, rooms, dirty pool etc. What a load of nonsense! On arrival we were greeted by Jean Francois who welcomed us and invited us to have a seat in the lobby. He advised that Warren will attend to us shortly. Warren brought us a lovely floral scented cloth which instantly refreshed us. We were also presented with a nice fruit juice. Warren explained meal times etc to us and helped us with our luggage to our room. In April when we booked, we requested a sea facing room. Well that is exactly what we got. The room was very clean, spacious enough for comfort, equipped with a small fridge and hair dryer. The best was when we opened the curtains and saw the view. Room 212 is great. Although on the 1st floor, the steps are easy to climb, even for my husband who has knee problems. We enjoyed being so close to the water and dining room. The barbeque and show on the Saturday evening was a good introduction to the days that followed. There was always more than enough food and very tasty. Breakfast included cereals, yogurts, cheese, cold meat, different kinds of bread, croissants, cake!, potato/meat dish and eggs/omelettes as well as a pancake station. The pancake (crepe) station was my favourite as I had a selection of banana jam! (It was like a mousse), pineapple preserve and honey to enjoy with my pancakes. We also enjoyed the Dinners. A selection of about 6 salads, freshly daily baked rolls (to die for) pickles, pasta or rice, lentils, a veg, fish, chicken and sometimes mutton. Although we never had beef or pork, we did not mind as the fish, chicken and mutton was cooked differently and had the most awesome flavours!!. Deserts were also on offer.
My husband had a very good sport massage at the Spa!
The royal blue mosaic tiled pool was always clean. Reclining chairs were available at the pool and on the beach. Although there is no swimming beach, I could not stay out of the sea as I am keen on snorkelling. I saw so many different kids of coloured little fish and beautiful coral! All the staff made us feel very welcome and we soon became friends. Chef Rajiv and Gerald presented us with a tub of “banana jam” to take home with us. Last Saturday I made a banana toffee (banoffee) desert with it and my guests could not stop raving.
Ms Blinn and staff, keep up the good work.. For a small hotel you are doing a wonderful job. Perhaps you should just google and check which booking agents still have you as a sister hotel to La Plantation etc Travellers, if you want to stay in a five star resort hotel, where your day is planned for you, then go there. If you want to meet the locals, and explore the Island and have a peaceful, comfortable and friendly stay then book at Les Cocotiers. We hope to be back someday. Hetesh keep the beers cold!, or tell the barman if you are promoted in the meantime.
Lorraine and Kevin Garner

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotels_attitude, Directeur général at Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Lorraine and Kevin,

All the team members of Les Cocotiers join me in thanking you for your kind words on your recent stay in our Hotel: it is always a pleasure to read that our facilities and the attentive service of our personnel met your expectations.

Rajiv and Gerald were delighted to hear that you gave another life to their homemade banana jam and said they would have to try to make a ‘banoffee’ too!

We hope to welcome you again at Les Cocotiers Hotel,

Kind regards,

Giovanna Blin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie du Tombeau
8.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#2 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 3 in Riviere Noire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
15.5 mi away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#9 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
10.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel

Property: Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel
Address: Royal Road, Baie du Tombeau, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Baie du Tombeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baie du Tombeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach, along the north west coast of Mauritius, Les Cocotiers is a human size hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Close to the capital Port-Louis and to several popular tourist spots, this 2 star Sup hotel is an excellent starting point for a business trip or a holiday as an individual, a couple or a family. The 48 rooms are simply decorated with 16 sea view and 32 garden view, air-conditioned and well-fitted. From the restaurant and bar overlooking the lagoon, guests can watch the comings and goings of the fishermen's pirogues, the beautiful sunsets as well as Port-Louis slowly lighting up at dusk. The warm, welcoming and thoughtful staff does everything possible to offer a relaxing stay to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cocotiers Hotel
Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel Mauritius/Baie Du Tombeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing