We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sankhara Luxury Beach Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sankhara Luxury Beach Villa
Hyderabad, India
1 review
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

The service standards at the Villa Sankhara easily exceded any of the other luxury holiday destinations that we have visited. There was never a No for any of the requests that we made,even considering the fact that some of our members of our group had very typical requests. Jabir and Anna provided us non stop service with an everlasting smile.The innovative housekeeping staff kept surprising us every evening with their creations. Chefs Arlando and Cooney pampered our palette with the fusion cuisine. Sameer the Operations Manager was very responsive to our requirements.
The villa is beautifully furnished.The pool and sauna were thoroughly enjoyed by all of us. The only disappointment was the beach which had several stones and seaweed.
We would definitely go back to Villa Sankhara with our family next time. A truly memorable holiday

Room Tip: The Beach facing rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumajairaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Sankhar Villas under the suave direction of Jean-Francois the unflappable butler is a fantastic blend of tropical idyl and chic boutique residence.

Set in the peaceful and unspoiled East of Mauritius, close to famous hotels such as Le Tousserouk, the location is peaceful, quiet and authentically Mauritian. Directly on the beach and tucked away from any intrusions.

The service is remarkable, understated but always accessible; friendly but respectful and in keeping with finer European hotels. We had expected a nice location but the quality and professionalism of the service really took things to the next level.

Even better than the service was the food; wow it was good. The chef was previously a competition winner within the island's culinary scene and it shows. Whether it is nouveau dishes such as crab tartare, BBQ Lobster or traditional Indian food, the dining excels and serves as the highlight of any day. Seriously good cuisine and plenty of it.

Finally it would be remiss not to mention the quality of the property as a whole. Beautifully appointed with quality materials and furnishings and elegantly designed including integrated pool, outside areas, terraces and sauna/ steam rooms. The finish, reminiscent of Bali is equally distinctly Mauritian and undeniably classy.

So all in all, two thumbs up.... the service, dining, location, fittings and of course the beautiful island with its ideal climate and charming people.... create an unmissable treat if you are looking for true luxury for yoru family or group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Waking up to the sound of the waves crashing at the beach, what better start on your day. We had an amazing time with great friends at this stunning villa. A perfect location in Mauritius and I would recommend the place to everyone that wants to combine high end accomodation and service with the privacy a private villa gives you.
Friendly and highly skilled staff, would definetly go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilde p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in Sankhara’s impressive five bedrooms villa for almost a week in June. This is a true paradise on earth! Both villas (5 bedrooms and 3 bedrooms) are ocean front, located in a very secluded area in the North East of Mauritius. Personally this is my favourite part of the island as it is picturesque and not overcrowded by tourists and traffic as is the West coast. Sankhara is an ideal place for those who are looking for ultimate privacy. The white sandy beach is great and the sea is very peaceful because it is situated in a beautiful, serene bay protected by reefs. The villa came with personal staff including butler, chef and house keepers. In a few words: total privacy, excellent service, fantastic food (fine dining fusion cuisine), spectacular views and beautiful beach. Thanks to Sankhara’s team including Armelle and Chloe for making our stay unforgettable! We are already planning our next visit!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oss, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

What a beautiful villa's and what a great hospitality! The interior is spectacularly beautiful!
The meals that the Chef made for us were Michelin star worthy. A perfect place to have a great relaxed family-holiday! Or just go with a bunch of friends to have a great full-catered holiday! Kyte-surfing is possible at sea in front of the villas! The concierge/butler can arrange all kind of excursions or activities for those who want so. For me the most intimate villa holiday I've ever had! Sankhara; I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VXTravelTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Sankhara Villas are quite simply heaven on earth. The accommodation is six star ! The beach with its Crystal clear sea and white sand is as near to private as you can get. But the staff are what make the experience so very special. The chef should have a Michelin star and all of the butlers and maids provide the kind of service that even Her Majesty the Queen would be impressed by.
The Island itself is paradise and the people are so very jolly.
As a frequent traveller this holiday was one of the best I have ever had !!
It should be on your top ten list of things to do before you die !!

Room Tip: Go direct to the Villas
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank BenDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I arrived extremely stressed after busy months of moving house, working hard and going out. I was in dire need of a holiday! Sankhara I was soon to discover is the perfect place where stresses of life fall away. The villas are extremely comfortable, the beach is wild and beautiful, like a desert island beach - but with room service! Whcih brings me on to the staff at Sankhara, who are truly delightful. The food is incredible and everything is done for you, with the most lovely happy smiles. My only regret is that time has a tendancy to fly and I was all too soon on the plane back to London.

Room Tip: Looking out the garden and sea beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vistavox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
1.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
4.5 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
2.3 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Poste Lafayette Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankhara Luxury Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankhara Luxury Beach Villa

Property: Sankhara Luxury Beach Villa
Address: Route Cotiere, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankhara Luxury Beach Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in privacy on a white sandy beach, this sublime villa with pool, steam room and jacuzzi offers exceptional services. Of 550 sqm, with a Balinese and Mauritian architecture, this villa offers a spacious lounge and dining room, 5 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, 2 kitchens, 4 terraces, large tropical garden and 3 km of secluded beach along a protected lagoon by reefs. A gym, kayaks, pedal boats and bicycles are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sankhara Luxury Beach Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankhara Luxury Beach Villa Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing