We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ABSOULOUTLEY OUTSTANDING!!!”

Review of Villa Orisha

Villa from the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa from the sea
sea view lounge and view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Villa from the sea
sea view
lounge and view
View from the dining room
Main bedroom ground floor
View from the main bedroom
En suite bathroom
Patio and shower
Bedroom upstairs
Sea view from the bedroom upstairs
En suite bathrooms upstairs
Bedroom upstairs
View from the bedroom upstairs
Kitchen
Lounge and pool
Front view of the villa
Beach chairs
Pool area
Ambiance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Poste Lafayette

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Villa NOT as advertised.”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Let me start by saying I don't usually leave reviews but felt the need to after a disappointing quite costly holiday. This was our second trip to the island, the first being way better.
Villa Orishe is now looking dated in areas and needs some attention. Some of the furniture in the separate apartment needs replacing, only two tvs in the house and one side of the villa is a bomb site. Bin in the kitchen is built into the worktop right next to the gas cooker, which in my opinion is very unhygienic.
Biggest disappointment was the adjacent building work that is ongoing until about June this year (2017) based on what local people had to say. By the way all the immediate neighbours were great.
The owner did not mention the building work at the time of booking and upon arrival we were very disappointed. The owner did erect a screen to try and block out the building site after we complained about the onlooking workmen which made my wife and I feel uneasy when in/by the pool. The screen blocked out some of the view of the building works but it did nothing for the construction noise which started at about 07.30 and finished at about 17.00 hrs. This took away privacy of the pool area as the pool was overlooked and bombarded with noise by the workers, constructing a very large house which will be overlooking the rear of the villa when complete.
Beach peaceful but quite a bit of rubbish and seaweed had been washed up so not as user friendly as suggested.
Owner did throw in a free massage which should have been approx 2000 MRP but this was in no way sufficient compensation for the fact we spent two weeks driving in and out of a construction site and putting up with constant noise during the day. The other neighbours were at their wits end with it and were helpless to do anything due to local building regulations.
The other side of the house which is open to the beach is used by local people as access to the beach, which is another infringement on your privacy.
Just to give you an idea of what it was like. One neighbour called the new building a f##king monstrosity and another said we should go into the bedroom and put on the aircon, close all the doors to block out the noise. We just played our music loud after asking the neighbours if it was OK to.
All in all not a happy stay and would not go back.
To be fair to the owners their hands are tied with regard to the construction of the new building but I feel that we should have been informed of the building works as we would not have booked the villa had we known. I feel that the owners acted a bit sly in not letting us know because no one would rent otherwise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected.
Kindly note that at your booking time back in January 2016, we were not aware of the exact dates of the end of the construction two villas away from us. Based on the construction company, they mentioned to us that all works should be finished by September 2016. We therefore did not take any bookings during this period. The privacy of the villa remains a focus and we are truly sorry and acknowledge that the construction site was a hassle. We did everything in our control to reduce the issue in order to make your stay the most comfortable possible. On top of that, a catamaran day out trip or a tea route trip has been offered which was turned down as you mentioned you preferred an in-house massage which was also offered. Also note that another commercial gesture was proposed with the accommodation of six of yours friends free of charge for the week-end in the other two rooms and our personal apartment.

The east coast remains one of the most natural place in Mauritius and even if we have regular cleaning of the beach, we cannot prevent that sometimes there are some seaweeds. We have taken note for the access to the beach. Kindly note that the Mauritian law requires an access to the beach every 200 mts and this access is only used by the people living in the alley, so 4 houses in all.
Again we are truly sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing, we however remain confident that your next stay with us will be stunning as this is the first negative review that we receive on our beautiful Villa Orisha.

Kind regards

Marie- Angele and Alain Armand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
720singh
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“ABSOULOUTLEY OUTSTANDING!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here in April 2015 ,it was our first time to mauritius we were greeted at the airport with flowered garlands wet towels,bottles of water and then efficiently whisked away to our awaiting minibus,we arrived at the villa which is located on the east coast which has a wonderfully breeze,the villa was amazing great facilities,the people on the island are always smiling,long beach is around 10 mins where we did an underwater sea walk,glass bottom boat,etc,hire a car to get around,we walked with lions,one evening when we got back there was no water but within a couple of hours a plumber came out at 12.30 am and fixed our problem,we will be going back definitely!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulD-UK
London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Memorable spot”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a lovely week in Mauritius at Villa Orisha.
The villa is very well appointed and comfortable, as well as being located right on the beach.
Even though for the time of year, the location of the villa was perhaps not ideal for the prevailing wind, I doubt that we would have wanted to stay elsewhere, having spent time at the villa.
We are a family of 5, with 3 daughters of University age, so space and flexibility are really important too for us.
The maid service was very friendly and everybody was extremely helpful.
We explored Mauritius as well as spending some days at the villa. A lovely combination to be able to have.
We would definitely return, if we get the chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is awesome
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you Mr. Dunning for these precious comments.
Alain & myself look forward to welcome you again in your Mauritian home…
Sunny regards from Poste Lafayette, Mauritius

Marie – Angèle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles W
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Brilliant, restful holiday on a perfect beach”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Why be locked into a package tour hotel when you can rent a whole home on the beach for less cost per head? Perfect accomodation, peace and quiet on a secure beach, and no hassle whatsoever. The owners and staff very attentive and welcoming, both in English and in French. Must rent a car, but then you are free to shop like a local, explore the island, and enjoy a number of really good restaurants off the beaten track. This is not the part of Mauritius to visit for clubbing or souvenir shopping but an authentic experience giving you insight into how this place works. Totally recommended , especially for 2-3 couples travelling together.
Thanks Marie-Angele and Alain for renting us your second home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly atmosphere
Liked least: Ocassional water shortage in whole local area.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 14 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the location the quiet the embiance
Liked least: not being able to communicate to the cook
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
V A
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing