We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison D'ete Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Best hotel we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at La Maison D'ete for 5 nights in May 2012. Immediately on arrival, Marie made us feel at home. While she took us on a short tour of the hotel, our luggage miraculously reached our room. The room itself was amazing with wide French windows which opened right to the Indian Ocean. Breakfast was amazing. Everyday the waiter remembered our likes (and dislikes) and we got what we want. Can you get this in a large 5 star resort? We felt as if we were guests in Marie's home (by the way she stays in a flat above the shop, lucky she). We are vegetarians and food is always a challenge when we travel. Not here! Our wish was their command. They even cooked the humble "khichdi" at our request. It was the best food we had during our 11 days in Mauritius. I would recommend La Maison to anyone who wants to do nothing but relax! Choose the sea facing villas over the bungalows.

Room Tip: Choose the sea facing villas over the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejash_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    38
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
59
243
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Being able to come back to the Indian Ocean in one of the most beautiful islands in the world, Ile Maurice, was one of our dreams, which became reality in 2011. When I started doing the "research" I felt inlove with this intimate establishment, so, without any doubt I contacted La Maison d'Ete.... thank you Marie-Michele for the patiance !

The moment we landed the amazing Mauritius everything happend as if we came back home from holiday.... We reached La Maison d'Ete wich is one to two hours drive without any problems or hickups ... The ride was very beautiful because it gave us the possibility to see the real Mauritius not only the touristic part, we passed very pittoresque villages, white sand stretches and sugar cane fields.

The establishment is situated in a peaceful part of the island away form tourist masses, 10-15m away form the ocean. It is rare to meet such kind and helpful people like the ones that make La Maison d'Ete special. Jean Claude was very kind and did with us the grand tour of the place and managed to make us feel part of his family. La Maison d'Ete has a certain "je ne sais quoi", it is the kind of place were your internal rythem wants to take it easy. The rooms look over the beautiful ocean and the pool area were lounges await for you to show them how lazy can you be. When we wanted to be closer to the ocean we just moved to the beach area under the comforting shade provided by the trees or the rattan umbrellas.

Marie-Michele helped us arrange all the trips we planned to make. Patrick was in charge of making special every start of a new day during the breakfast time.

The cherry on top of the cake was the Auberg'Inn restaurant were we ate some amazing dishes. To be honest we weren't curious to try any other restaurant, thats how good it was.... my mouth is already watering..... One have to definitely try the restaurant's rhum, it is TOP !

We miss La Maison d'Ete, we miss Jean-Claude, Mari-Michele, Patrick and the rest of the stuff ... I hope we will come back soon ...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugenMdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Maison D'Ete and enjoyed the luxurious and well presented room, with flower pettles scattered on the bed on arrival. The location is just next to a road that takes you out into the island and the deck is right by the sea. No beach, but beautiful views over the ocean. Breakfast and dinners were both varied and delicious. The Maison has a sense of privacy for those looking for a romantic getaway and Marie-Michele and the team are very helpful for any questions you may have on your stay. One of the best independent hotels we've stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at La Maison for 11 nights in December. We were looking for more of a B&B type accommodation rather than a large resort.

It was just perfect, we could come and go as we pleased. We stayed in a Villa where we had a small fridge, microwave, plates, glasses, etc and it was quite spacious. There is no air-con, only a ceiling fan (although they said they are installing air-con this year) but it didn't seem to bother me much. It was hot but bearable. The rooms all had fee wi-fi access which was a pleasant surprise. From our patio, we had a view of the ocean and we could hear the sound on the waves crashing against the reef from our room. It was always so quiet and peaceful and the staff were always willing to help where they could. We did not have a request that could not be fulfilled.

There was snorkelling equipment and kayaks which you could use when ever you wanted and the snorkelling was fantastic right on the private beach outside the hotel.

The meals at the restaurant were always fantastic and superior quality, even the pizza was great. We often ordered pizza in our room and sat on our patio listening to the waves. The waitor would bring our drinks to us on the patio.

There is not much else outside of the hotel, the area is still very undeveloped which is a good thing! If you do want to go out, you can take a taxi or busses to Grand Bay or where ever else.

But it's pure relaxation to stay at the hotel. I was so comfortable and completely satisfied with my whole experience, the best way to describe this place is a home away from home and Marie-Michele and her family makes you feel like part of the family as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimmyB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This place was just heavenly! We spent 9 wonderful days here and would have loved to have stayed longer!

We stayed in a cottage which was perfectly adequate for us. Lovely comfortable bedroom with kitchenette area, large bathroom and balcony overlooking the pool and sea. Although there was no air conditioning, we didn’t feel it was needed when we were there. We slept with the doors open and a cool breeze coming from the sea, listening to the waves washing over the reef. What could be better?

Breakfast was in a covered area outside served by Patrick who was very friendly and helpful. It consisted of fruit, yoghurt, bread and eggs of your choice. Just perfect! We recommend the fried eggs. Being keen on wild birds, we were delighted by the various birds who came scrounging bread at breakfast, especially the red-whiskered bulbul with its chick.

Marie-Michèle gave us a tour on our first morning and impressed us with her local knowledge and enthusiasm about the island. She gave really excellent advice throughout our stay about everywhere we wanted to go and perfect directions to get there.

The hotel itself had 2 pools and a private beach area which led onto the, not very accessible from the road, public beach. This was never crowded, in fact there was hardly ever anyone on it. When we weren’t out exploring the island, we spent some relaxing days in and around the beach which was a good snorkelling area too, with gear provided for free by the hotel. Our conclusion after seeing most of the island was that the best beaches were those near the hotel.

The hotel is actually situated in Poste Lafayette and is not close to a town so you need to have a car to get out and about and if you want to eat out in the evening. Having said that, the hotel restaurant was really excellent with plenty of choice, so we only ate out a couple of times just for a change.

All in all it was a wonderful holiday and we are really pleased we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhaullady26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We started our honeymoon at La Maison d'Ete before spending the second half of it at the Sands resort. We would have loved to spend longer at La Maison d'Ete but sadly it was fully booked and we missed it very much for the rest of our honeymoon! Next time we will miss out the Sands.

It is very calm, with beautiful views over the ocean. Marie Michele and Jean-Claude were very kind and welcoming throughout our stay (very friendly without imposing on you at all and allowing you complete freedom and privacy while being there for you should you need any advice/information). This lovely couple are also multi-lingual.

Our bungalow was great. Well looked after and extremely clean. It had everything we wanted (no TV but we didn't need one), and the ceiling fan was great for maintaining comfortable temperatures.

We really appreciated that fact that there were two pools. During our stay, only adults ever used the pool by the restaurant (which wasn't very often) and toddlers appeared to use the second pool, which was out of sight. This was a real bonus as the pools are not very large, so children splashing about would have been annoying.

The hotel is remote but easy to use as a base to explore the island via taxis or bikes that are provided. This is not the place if you want evening entertainment/bars etc. Big supermarket quite close by to buy drinks etc..and a good restaurant on site. Breakfast was simple but fresh and of good quality (some pastries/croissants would have been quite nice) and Patrick who looks after guests during breakfast was utterly adorable. The cleaning staff were joyful, efficient and discrete but very friendly too.

All in all this was a beautiful, safe place, where we could thoroughly relax. And excellent value for money compared to the Sands (where you pay a hefty premium for the advantage of spectacular sunsets and which we felt had far less character). Thank you to all at the Maison D'Ete for a fabulous welcome to Mauritius - and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future x.

Room Tip: Bungalow number 3 seemed to be the most private but just ask we were in 2 which was private enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. You need a car to get around because there is no village near by. Because the villa rooms were fully booked we stayed in a bungalow room which we found very small and we missed an AC. The beach is quite small but the 2 great pools are compensating this. The restaurant serves breakfast (very basic), lunch and dinner. The service was great. Overall it is a good place to relax and do nothing for a few days.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa room because bungalow rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
2.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
5.8 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
8.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
6.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison D'ete Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison D'ete Hotel

Property: La Maison D'ete Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison D'ete Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet address along the wild coast, North-East of Mauritius, is a well kept secret only spread by word-of mouth among insiders.1 unspoilt beach, 14 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 1 restaurant, 1 lounge bar, 1 little spa...In praise of simplicity, is not true luxury ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Maison D'ete Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison D'Ete Hotel Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing